Sign In

Supporting Winnipeg’s Indigenous communities and promoting a holistic approach to women’s health; the CMA Foundation gives back to Winnipeg

​Winnipeg, Manitoba, August 21, 2018 – To show its appreciation for hosting the Canadian Medical Association's (CMA) inaugural Health Summit, the CMA Foundation is donating $12,500 to two local charities that play a vital role in the lives of many Winnipeg residents, Ka Ni Kanichihk and Women's Health Clinic.

Ka Ni Kanichihk is an Indigenous centre that identifies programs and services that focus on wholeness and wellness, helping people to help themselves. Their goal is to build a sustainable future for their community. Empowering better care for Indigenous Peoples was just one discussions that took place at the Health Summit, and a community of interest has been established to examine indigenous health inequities and ways of resolving these inequities on a personal, organizational and institutional level.

Women's Health Clinic is a feminist, community health clinic that offers a range of services with a holistic approach that emphasizes prevention, education and action. They encourage people to learn all they can about what contributes to their health and well-being so that they can make informed decisions.

"We are grateful to the City of Winnipeg for hosting the CMA's Health Summit and are thrilled to support two organizations that provide critical support to Indigenous communities and women across the city," says Dr. Laurent Marcoux, CMA President.

To find out more about these organizations, please visit http://www.kanikanichihk.ca/ or http://womenshealthclinic.org/

Connexion

La Fondation AMC redonne à Winnipeg : soutien aux communautés autochtones de Winnipeg et promotion d’une approche holistique de la santé des femmes ​

​Winnipeg (Manitoba) 21 août 2018 – Dans le but de manifester son appréciation pour l'accueil du premier Sommet de l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) sur la santé, la Fondation AMC verse 12 500 $ à deux organismes de bienfaisance locaux qui jouent un rôle essentiel dans la vie de nombreux résidants de Winnipeg : le centre autochtone Ka Ni Kanichihk et la Clinique de santé des femmes.

Le centre autochtone Ka Ni Kanichihk offre des programmes et des services holistiques et de mieux-être, aidant les gens à s'aider eux-mêmes. Son but est d'assurer un avenir durable à sa communauté. Se donner les moyens d'offrir de meilleurs soins aux Autochtones n'a été que l'une des discussions du Sommet sur la santé, et une communauté d'intérêts a été établie afin d'examiner les inégalités en santé des Autochtones et les façons d'y remédier aux paliers personnel, organisationnel et institutionnel.

La Clinique de santé des femmes est un centre de santé communautaire féministe qui offre divers services dans une approche holistique en mettant l'accent sur la prévention, l'éducation et la promotion de la santé. Elle encourage les personnes à apprendre tout ce qu'elles peuvent sur ce qui contribue à leur santé et à leur bien-être, afin de pouvoir prendre des décisions éclairées.

« Nous sommes reconnaissants à la Ville de Winnipeg d'accueillir le Sommet de l'AMC sur la santé et heureux d'appuyer deux organismes qui offrent un soutien essentiel aux femmes et aux communautés autochtones dans toute la ville », a déclaré le Dr Laurent Marcoux, président de l'AMC.

Pour en savoir plus sur ces organismes, veuillez visiter le http://www.kanikanichihk.ca/ ou le http://womenshealthclinic.org/.