Sign In

Two Ontario MDs seeking CMA presidency

Two specialists are in the running as Ontario physicians prepare to nominate the CMA's next president-elect. Only the 30,000-plus members of the Ontario Medical Association (OMA) who also belong to the CMA are eligible to vote in the election, which involves a two-step process.

The OMA provided information about the two candidates and voting procedures to its members belonging to the CMA in mid-January. For those voting electronically, the voting site will close at 5:00 pm EST on Wednesday, Feb. 27. For those voting by mail, ballots must be received at the OMA's Toronto headquarters by 5:00 pm EST on the same date.

The second step is the submission of the winning candidate's name to General Council (GC) for confirmation during the CMA's August 2013 annual meeting in Calgary. (Under the CMA bylaws additional candidates can also be nominated by other means, including from the floor of GC, but this rarely happens.)

After the 250 GC delegates have either elected or acclaimed the new president-elect, that physician will hold the post until August 2014, when he or she will assume the presidency during the CMA's annual meeting in Ottawa.

The 2013 nominees are:

  • Dr. Gail Beck, a child psychiatrist from Ottawa, is past president of the Federation of Medical Women of Canada and the Ottawa Academy of Medicine, and has served as the CMA's acting associate secretary general. She has been a member of the CMA Board for five years, and was elected by the Board to the Executive Committee as member-at-large in 2011 and 2012. She is currently the director of youth outpatient psychiatry at the Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre.

  • Dr. Chris Simpson, a cardiologist based in Kingston, Ont., is chair of the Canadian Wait Time Alliance. He is executive member-at-large with the Canadian Cardiovascular Society and founding president of the Canadian Heart Rhythm Society. He is currently professor and head of the division of cardiology at Queen's University, and medical director of the cardiac program at the Kingston General Hospital/Hotel Dieu Hospital.

Each year, the CMA president-elect is nominated by physicians in a different region of the country according to a pre-determined rotation cycle involving the 12 provincial and territorial medical associations that form the CMA.

The current president-elect is Dr. Louis Francescutti of Edmonton. The president is Dr. Anna Reid of Yellowknife, and Dr. John Haggie of Gander, Nfld., is past president.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Deux médecins de l'Ontario briguent la présidence de l'AMC

Deux spécialistes sont en lice pour la nomination du prochain président désigné de l'AMC par les médecins de l'Ontario. Seuls les quelque 30 000 membres de l'Association médicale de l'Ontario (AMO) qui sont également membres de l'AMC ont le droit de vote à l'élection qui s'effectuera en deux étapes.

À la mi-janvier, l'AMO a communiqué à ses membres qui sont également membres de l'AMC des renseignements au sujet des deux candidats et du mode de scrutin. Ceux qui exerceront leur droit de vote par voie électronique pourront le faire sur le site web de vote en ligne jusqu'au mercredi 27 février à 17 h, heure de l'Est. Ceux qui voteront par la poste devront faire parvenir leur bulletin de vote au siège social de l'AMO à Toronto avant 17 h, heure de l'Est, à la même date.

La deuxième étape de l'élection consiste à présenter le nom du candidat choisi au Conseil général (CG) pour confirmation au cours de l'Assemblée annuelle de l'AMC qui aura lieu en août 2013 à Calgary. (Les Règlements de l'AMC stipulent que des candidats additionnels peuvent aussi être présentés par d'autres moyens, y compris du parquet du Conseil général, mais cela se produit rarement.)

Après que les 250 délégués du Conseil général auront élu ou confirmé par acclamation le nouveau président désigné, ce médecin occupera le poste jusqu'en août 2014 pour entrer en fonction à la présidence au cours de l'Assemblée annuelle de l'AMC à Ottawa.

Les candidats présentés en 2013 sont les suivants :

  • La Dre Gail Beck, pédopsychiatre d'Ottawa, qui a présidé la Fédération des femmes médecins du Canada et l'Académie de médecine d'Ottawa et a occupé le poste de secrétaire générale associée par intérim de l'AMC. Elle a été membre du Conseil d'administration de l'AMC pendant cinq ans et a été élue en 2011 et 2012 au Comité exécutif par le Conseil, en qualité de membre à titre personnel. La Dre Beck dirige actuellement le programme ambulatoire de psychiatrie juvénile du Centre de santé mentale Royal Ottawa.

  • Le Dr Chris Simpson, cardiologue de Kingston (Ont.), qui préside l'Alliance sur les temps d'attente. Il est membre à titre personnel du comité exécutif de la Société canadienne de cardiologie et président fondateur de la Société canadienne de rythmologie. Il est actuellement professeur et chef de la Division de cardiologie de l'Université Queen's et directeur médical des programmes de cardiologie des hôpitaux Kingston General et Hôtel Dieu.

Chaque année, le président désigné de l'AMC est nommé par les médecins d'une région différente du pays, selon un cycle de rotation préétabli entre les associations médicales qui constituent l'AMC dans les 12 provinces et territoires.

Le président désigné actuel est le Dr Louis Francescutti d'Edmonton et la présidente est la Dre Anna Reid de Yellowknife. Le Dr John Haggie de Gander (T.-N.-L.) est le président sortant.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.