Sign In

Alberta Health Services Customer Experience

“I love the flexibility, cost effectiveness and all-round quality and practicality of the CMA’s in-house Physician Leadership Institute (PLI) courses. Hosting the courses in-house also gives us invaluable opportunities for collaboration and team building that we wouldn’t get with external courses.”
Dr. Vanessa Maclean
South Zone Medical Director, Alberta Health Services

About Alberta Health Services

Alberta Health Services (AHS) is the largest single health authority in Canada, delivering medical care across the province through 400 facilities, including hospitals, clinics, continuing-care facilities, mental-health facilities and community health sites. AHS understands the beneficial effect continual learning and professional development have on the quality of patient care. AHS’s South Zone has hosted six in-house PLI courses. The most-recent was Conflict Management and Negotiation.

Delivered face-to-face or online, in-house PLI courses are RCPSC and CFPC accredited

“I love the flexibility, cost effectiveness and all-round quality and practicality of the CMA’s in-house PLI courses,” says Dr. Vanessa Maclean, Medical Director of AHS’s South Zone. “Bringing the courses into our organization is not only economically much more viable, but it also enables us to provide leadership training to our physician leaders and our operational leaders at the same time. This unique offering gives us invaluable opportunities for collaboration and team building that we wouldn’t get with external courses.”

By minimizing travel and hotel costs, and maximizing attendees’ time, the accredited in-house PLI courses are an extremely cost-effective way for the AHS to build organizational leadership capacity. Hosting courses in-house makes it easy for Maclean to include staff members across different functions.

“When operations staff first started to attend our PLI courses, they reported dealing with our doctors somewhat challenging,” notes Maclean. “The courses gave them unique insight into the challenges our doctors face, and vice versa. The increased level of understanding has improved collaboration and built stronger teams. The value is such that we now only want to run courses that have a mix of people.”

Enhancing healthcare by raising the bar on leadership

Chinook Regional Hospital

The in-house PLI courses enable Maclean to improve the effectiveness of her teams by helping her colleagues develop a common language and leadership skillset, collaborate to address common issues, solve problems and share new insights. Also, because the courses are focussed on only one organization and one group of people who share the same challenges, instructors can easily customize in-house courses to address specific learning needs.

“Every time we’ve hosted an in-house PLI course here, the instructors have connected with us ahead of time to find out if there are any specific outcomes we want to achieve,” says Maclean. “Then, if necessary, they tailor the course material to meet unique requirements, which further enhances an already valuable learning experience. The instructors themselves are top notch and bring huge value to our organization. They’re always totally focussed and committed, and more than willing to provide ongoing support and collaboration.”

At end of every course and at different times during the year, Maclean and her team look at the courses they’ve offered, their priorities and challenges, and which future courses might meet the greatest need across the organizations. They also seek input and feedback from physicians about their priorities.

“I believe our healthcare system works better when everyone — doctors, medical staff, operations people — understands one another’s challenges. The PLI in-house courses help our people see things from each other’s perspectives,” finishes Maclean. “That has a beneficial ripple effect on staff, patients and our healthcare system. By raising the bar on leadership, we can enhance the quality of the healthcare we deliver.”

About the CMA’s PLI Courses

The CMA has been delivering Physician Leadership Institute (PLI) courses developed specifically for physicians for more 30 years. PLI courses are accredited by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and the College of Family Physicians of Canada. The industry-leading; highly interactive courses are available face-to-face (in a classroom setting, in-house (at your location) or online. The courses also count toward the Canadian Certified Physician Executive (CCPE) designation.

For more information about how your organization can benefit from the in-house PLI  courses, please visit our website or contact us at 800 663-7336 ext. 2932 or pli@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’expérience client des Services de santé de l’Alberta

« J’aime beaucoup les cours de l’Institut de leadership des médecins (ILM) donnés en milieu de travail; ils sont flexibles, économiques, pratiques et de grande qualité. Le fait d’accueillir ces formations dans nos établissements nous donne aussi des occasions précieuses de collaborer et de renforcer l’esprit d’équipe, ce qui serait impossible dans un cours externe. »

Dre Vanessa Maclean
Directrice médicale, zone sud, Services de santé de l’Alberta

À propos des Services de santé de l’Alberta

Les Services de santé de l’Alberta, la plus importante autorité sanitaire au Canada, fournissent des soins de santé dans 400 établissements (hôpitaux, cliniques, établissements de soins continus, établissements psychiatriques, centres de santé communautaire) de la province. L’organisation est consciente des effets positifs de la formation continue et du développement professionnel sur la qualité des soins aux patients. Jusqu’à maintenant, la zone sud des Services de santé de l’Alberta a accueilli six formations en milieu de travail de l'ILM, dont dernièrement le cours « Gestion des différends et négociation ».

Les cours de l’ILM, en personne ou en ligne, sont reconnus par le CRMCC et le CMFC

« J’aime beaucoup les cours de l’ILM donnés en milieu de travail; ils sont flexibles, économiques, pratiques et de grande qualité », explique la Dre Vanessa Maclean, directrice médicale, zone sud, Services de santé de l’Alberta. « Non seulement la formule de ces cours est très avantageuse sur le plan économique pour notre organisation, mais elle permet également à nos médecins leaders et à nos gestionnaires des opérations de suivre ensemble une formation en leadership. Cette formule unique offre des occasions précieuses de collaborer et de renforcer l’esprit d’équipe, ce qui serait impossible dans un cours externe. »

Parce qu’ils réduisent au minimum les frais de voyage et d’hébergement et maximisent le temps investi par les participants, les cours agréés de l’ILM donnés en milieu de travail sont une façon très économique pour les Services de santé de l’Alberta de renforcer les capacités organisationnelles en leadership. La formule en milieu de travail permet à la Dre Maclean d’intégrer facilement à la formation des employés de différents groupes fonctionnels.

« Lorsque les employés du service des opérations ont commencé à suivre les cours de l’ILM, ils trouvaient que la relation avec les médecins pouvait être un peu difficile, fait remarquer la Dre Maclean. La formation leur a permis d’apprendre à reconnaître les défis auxquels font face les médecins, et vice-versa. Une meilleure compréhension a permis d’améliorer la collaboration et de renforcer les équipes. L’expérience a été tellement profitable que, dorénavant, nous voulons que tous les cours réunissent des gens de plusieurs secteurs. »

Rehausser la qualité des soins de santé en améliorant le leadership

Chinook Regional Hospital

Les cours de l’ILM donnés en milieu de travail améliorent l’efficacité des équipes de la Dre Maclean en amenant les employés à utiliser un même langage et des compétences de leadership communes, à s’attaquer ensemble aux enjeux communs, à résoudre des problèmes et à échanger de nouveaux points de vue. De plus, puisque les cours s’adressent à des personnes affrontant des défis communs au sein d’une même organisation, les formateurs peuvent facilement adapter le contenu en fonction des besoins.

« Chaque fois que nous avons accueilli un cours de l’ILM, les formateurs ont communiqué avec nous au préalable afin de connaître nos objectifs, poursuit la Dre Maclean. Ils ont ensuite taillé la formation sur mesure, ce qui a amélioré l’expérience d’apprentissage, déjà très enrichissante en soi. Les formateurs sont extrêmement compétents et apportent beaucoup à notre organisation. Ils s’investissent totalement et sont toujours disponibles pour assurer un suivi et poursuivre la collaboration. »

Après chaque formation et à divers moments de l’année, la Dre Maclean et son équipe passent en revue les cours donnés, les défis et les priorités de l’organisation, et décident des formations à mettre au programme pour répondre aux besoins les plus importants. Les médecins sont également appelés à faire part de leurs commentaires et de leurs priorités.

« Je pense que notre système de santé fonctionne le mieux quand chacun – médecins, personnel médical, intervenants opérationnels – comprend les défis des autres. Les cours de l’ILM aident justement à connaître la perspective de l’autre, conclut la Dre Maclean, ce qui entraîne un effet positif sur notre personnel, nos patients et le système de santé. Avec un meilleur leadership, nous améliorons la qualité des soins que nous offrons. »

À propos des cours de l’Institut de leadership des médecins (ILM)

Depuis plus de 30 ans, l’AMC propose les cours de l’ILM conçus spécialement pour les médecins. Les cours de l’ILM sont agréés par le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada et le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada. Ces formations de premier plan et très interactives sont offertes en personne (en salle de cours ou en milieu de travail) ou en ligne. Elles sont également prises en compte pour l’obtention du titre de médecin gestionnaire certifié du Canada (CCPE).

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les avantages du programme de formation en milieu de travail de l’ILM, consultez notre site Web, communiquez avec nous au 1 800 663 -7336, poste 2932, ou écrivez à l’adresse ilm@amc.ca.