Sign In

In Memoriam

As a unique service for CMA members and their families, the CMA regularly publishes notices of deceased members.

Please send notices to inmemoriam@cma.ca.

April, 2018

Adey, Christopher K., Windsor, Ont.; Memorial University, 1977; diagnostic radiology. Died March 11, 2018, aged 65. Survived by 2 sons. “Chris was born in St. John’s, and after medical school specialized in diagnostic radiology at the University of Ottawa. During his time there, he served as an assistant professor. He also studied cardiovascular diagnostic imaging at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and spent the majority of his career practising in southwestern Ontario.”

Aikenhead, Donald H., Milton, Ont.; University of British Columbia, 1955; family medicine. Died May 4, 2017, aged 90. Survived by his wife Barbara, 6 children, 13 grandchildren and 14 great-grandchildren. “In 1957 Don answered a newspaper ad for the Stevenson Clinic in Milton, and moved there to begin his medical career. He fast became a well-respected family physician who would serve the community for over 40 years before retiring in 1996. In retirement, Don travelled to St. Vincent and Haiti to participate in vaccination clinics and provide medical care.”

Bailes, Michelle A., Portage la Prairie, Man.; University of Manitoba, 2010; family medicine. Died due to complications from a pulmonary embolism March 17, 2018, aged 38. Survived by her father and a brother. “Michelle completed rural family medicine training in Dauphin, Man., in 2012, and trained as an anesthetist in 2013. She worked at the Portage District Hospital and became a partner at the Portage Medical Clinic in 2014. Michelle was highly respected by staff and was a strong advocate for her patients. Her death is not only a great loss to her family and friends, but also to her cherished and beloved ‘medical family’ in Portage la Prairie, who fought so valiantly to save her, and who miss her profoundly.”

Bia, F. Hussain, Saskatoon; University College of Cork (Ireland), 1969. Died March 18, 2018, aged 79. Survived by his wife Maud, 3 children and 6 grandchildren. A former patient wrote: “He was a good doctor and a super asset to Foam Lake, Sask., and the surrounding area.”

Bose, Bireswar, Edmonton; University of Calcutta (India), 1956; general surgery. Died March 3, 2018, aged 87. “After immigrating to Canada in 1969, he settled in Barrhead, Alta., to carry on his surgical practice. After he became a Royal College (Canada) fellow in 1974 he was appointed as a consultant surgeon to the breast unit at the Cross Cancer Institute, where he was involved in both clinical and research work. His significant contributions to medicine include developing a technique for excision of nail-fold for in-growing toe nails (1971), and his use of amniotic membrane to treat burn wounds (1979). Both processes are still relevant today. In 2002, he retired from active practice to take care of his wife, Dr. Anita Bose, who had become ill. She passed away in April of 2017.”

Brown, Frederic N. (Norman), Kanata, Ont.; Queen’s University, 1947; general surgery. Died March 18, 2018, aged 94. Survived by 4 children, 7 grandchildren and 2 great-grandchildren. “Norman practised as a general surgeon at the Ottawa Civic Hospital until 1972, when he assumed the leadership role of secretary treasurer of the Canadian Medical Protective Association, which he led until his retirement in 1988.”

Caldwell, Forrest H., Ariss, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1981; family medicine. Died “after a long dance with cancer” Jan. 27, 2018, aged 62. Survived by 2 sons. “It was Forrest’s wish to donate the gift of learning to students, emergency professionals and health care professionals studying human anatomy at the University of Guelph.” The university commented: “Our community is mourning the death of Dr. Forrest Caldwell, a longstanding doctor at the university’s health services centre. To mark the contributions Forrest made, campus flags will be lowered to half-mast Feb. 7.”

Cerrolaza, Miguel, Montréal; University of Madrid (Spain), 1955; psychiatry. Died March 2, 2018, aged 86.

Delios, Evangelos G. (George), Winnipeg; Alexandria University (Egypt), 1960. Died March 12, 2018, aged 88. Survived by his wife Sylvia, 3 children and 8 grandchildren. “George arrived in Winnipeg in 1966 and took a position in anesthesiology at the Deer Lodge Hospital and the Grace Hospital. As an anesthesiologist, his patients were usually in a deep sleep and he missed interacting with them. For this reason, he left anesthesiology in 1969 and established a family practice at the Westwood Clinic, where he practised for 20 years. George became a much-loved member of the community, and made numerous friends among his patients. He loved delivering babies, and was a constant presence on the labour and delivery unit. Family practice was his passion, and he spoke fondly of being part of his patients’ lives. George could not go anywhere in town without running into his patients, colleagues and friends. This meant that a 20-minute visit to the grocery store often took 2 or 3 hours, because he would always stop to chat.”

Densmore, Lis, Whitehorse, Yukon; University of Alberta, 1974. Died following a motor vehicle accident Jan. 6, 2018, aged 69. Survived by 2 daughters and her ex-husband, Peter Densmore, who told the Yukon News: “Lis contributed a lot here. At one point, she could probably rightfully say she delivered half the kids who were here in Whitehorse.” Dr. Alex Poole, president of the Yukon Medical Association, told the Whitehorse Daily Star: “Lis was a very good doctor, with a great compassion for women’s health in particular. Her all-round skills were a significant asset to the community for decades. I always appreciated her succinct and to-the-point correspondence, and her willingness to assist in the care of patients at all times.”

Desnoyers, Normand, La Prairie, Que.; Université de Montréal, 1979. Died March 24, 2017, aged 66.

Drolet, Marcel, Sherbrooke, Que.; Université Laval, 1949; nuclear medicine. Died March 19, 2018, aged 95.

Dworschak, Francis, London, Ont.; University of Vienna (Austria), 1948. Died Feb. 14, 2018, aged 95. Survived by 3 children and 5 grandchildren. “In addition to being a well-respected physician in Ottawa for over 40 years, he was a certified gemologist, author, farmer, hunter, winter camper and music enthusiast. His motto: ‘Why not?’ ”

Feldman, Edward D. (Ted), North York, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1943; family medicine. Died March 15, 2017, aged 97. Survived by 3 children, 7 grandchildren and 4 great-grandchildren.

Flanagan, Wayne H., Edmonton; University of Alberta, 1974. Died Feb. 9, 2018, aged 72. Survived by his wife Shirley, 3 children and 5 grandchildren. A former patient wrote: “Following his death I took a few moments to reflect on my younger days, and the many positive interactions [I had] with Dr. Flanagan.”

Furlong, Dennis J., Dalhousie, NB; Memorial University, 1976; past president, New Brunswick Medical Society (NBMS) and Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada; former minister of health and community services, minister of health and wellness, and minister of education, New Brunswick; recipient, Canadian Medical Association’s Sir Charles Tupper Award for Political Action; senior member, Canadian Medical Association; honorary doctor of laws, University of New Brunswick; recipient, NBMS Order of Merit. Died March 9, 2018, aged 72. Survived by his spouse, Pierrette Arseneault, 3 children, a stepdaughter and 8 grandchildren. In describing his career, Dr. Furlong wrote: “I have been blessed with a wonderful profession. I have been privileged to care for others who hold the medical profession in high esteem.” Former New Brunswick Premier Bernard Lord told the CBC: “From the first time I met Dennis, I was impressed by his intelligence, his sense of community, and his desire to do things for others. You could see that throughout his life, not just his political life, all his life.”

Hipwell, Alexander E., Dartmouth, NS; Trinity College Dublin (Ireland), 1974; psychiatry. Died Feb. 15, 2018, aged 67.

Hiscock, Robert J. (Jim), St. Marys, Ont.; University of Western Ontario, 1961; family medicine. Died Feb. 18, 2018, aged 83. Survived by his wife Norma and 4 children. “Jim was a family physician for over 45 years, primarily practising in St. Marys. He delivered over 1500 babies during his career, and was very proud to see his daughter, Dr. Susan Hiscock, also carry forward a medical practice in St. Marys.”

Jochem, Klaus, Montréal; McGill University, 1985. Died Nov. 1, 2017, aged 65.

Johnston, Dennis W. (Denny), Halifax; Dalhousie University, 1958; obstetrics and gynecology; associate professor, Dalhousie University. Died Feb. 11, 2018, aged 83. Survived by his wife Lalia, 3 children, 5 grandchildren and a step-granddaughter. “After training, he came home in 1964 to open his practice in Dartmouth, NS, where he spent his career between his office and local hospitals, including 25 years as chief of obstetrics and gynecology at the Dartmouth General Hospital. It is estimated that Denny delivered over 7000 babies throughout his career. He was passionate about teaching sexual education, both at Dalhousie medical school and to the public on his cable TV program, Let’s Talk About Sex. Denny had his own signature kindness and generosity that everyone loved. He went to the funeral of every nurse and doctor he had worked with, and no matter what the conditions were, he always had a joke to tell.”

Johnston, Donald W. (Bill), Edmonton; University of Alberta, 1975; orthopedic surgery; former chief of surgery, University of Alberta Hospital and Grey Nuns Community Hospital; former site medical director, University Hospital. Died Feb. 19, 2018, aged 67. Survived by his wife, Mary Ritchie, 4 children, 2 stepchildren and 5 grandchildren. “Bill was predeceased by his first wife, Mary Johnston, who left him too early from melanoma in 2004. In 2006, Bill helped establish the Mary Johnston Chair in Melanoma Research at the Cross Cancer Institute, Canada’s first melanoma research professorship, made possible by a $1 million donation in honour of Mary from her family and friends. Mary and Bill Johnston’s dedication to melanoma research will live on through the important work made possible by this professorship and research chair.”

Key, Fiona M., Montréal; University of Glasgow (Scotland), 1970; psychiatry. Died March 4, 2018, aged 71. Survived by a daughter. “After working as a pediatrician serving remote communities, first in northern Scotland and then in Newfoundland and Labrador, Fiona worked as a child psychiatrist for 40 years with the Montréal Children’s Hospital. She was a wonderful healer and teacher who loved her work deeply and changed the lives of so many.” A colleague wrote: “She was a role model for generations of child psychiatrists and family therapists.”

Lafontaine, Guy, Trois-Rivières, Que.; Université Laval, 1963; diagnostic radiology. Died Feb. 1, 2018, aged 79. Survived by 2 daughters.

Loo, Laine, Vancouver; University of Tartu (Estonia), 1944. Died March 4, 2018, aged 97. Survived by 2 children. “Laine was born in Sindi, Estonia, and graduated from medical school in 1944. She escaped with her husband and young daughter to Sweden in 1944, and after rewriting her exams practised medicine there. Laine immigrated to Canada with her husband and their 2 children in 1951, and they settled in Vancouver. She once more wrote and passed her medical exams in BC, and worked as a physician from 1954 until retiring in 1979.”

Moran, Edward J., Millbrook, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1957; former chief, Department of General Practice, Scarborough General Hospital; former chief executive officer, Ontario Medical Association (OMA); former member, Canadian Medical Association Board of Directors. Died Jan. 1, 2018, aged 84. Survived by his wife Jeanne, 4 children and 11 grandchildren. “Ed’s passion for the politics of health care led him to leave clinical practice in 1976 to take a full-time staff position at the OMA, first as director of medical services and, 4 years later, as CEO. As CEO, Ed transformed the OMA into a responsive, effective political organization. He earned the respect of all 3 political parties and governments at the provincial and federal level in what was often a turbulent climate for the profession.”

Philbrook, Frank A., Oakville, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1958. Died Oct. 30, 2017, aged 85. Survived by his wife Midge, 3 children and 5 grandchildren. “Frank attended the University of Toronto for both pharmacy (1954) and medicine, then ventured to Kashmir, India and Pakistan. His career as a medical director for the pharmaceutical industry surrounded his 5 years as a Member of Parliament for the country he loved so deeply.”

Purdon, Derek H. (Jimmy), Comox, BC; McGill University, 1964. Died Oct. 13, 2017, aged 84. Survived by 4 children and 9 grandchildren. “Derek was born in Liverpool, England, and during the war he was sent to Wales under evacuation decree to live with an unknown family. He stayed there for the next 4 years, and returned home to Liverpool unable to speak English. After his mandatory army service he and his wife, Ann (deceased 2009), made a spontaneous decision to move to Canada, where he was accepted at McGill University. Derek was a committed physician who worked into his 80th year. In his practice, he was dedicated to both his patients and to life-long learning. His professional legacy lives on in both his son Michael, a GP, and his granddaughter Molly, a medical student.”

Rubin, Jack A., Winnipeg; University of Manitoba, 1950; otolaryngology. Died Oct. 14, 2017, aged 92. Survived by his wife Clarice, 3 children, 2 grandchildren and a great-granddaughter. “For many years Jack was head of the Department of Otolaryngology at the Health Sciences Centre, and he served as president of the Canadian Society of Otolaryngology. He continued to practise until his retirement at age 75. He was also an all-star athlete at both the high school and university levels, and he picked up a tennis racquet in his teens and didn’t put it down until age 87, at which time he was still playing doubles with his daughter and grandchildren. He also loved to swim — at age 90 he was swimming half a mile several times a week.”

Sahai, Sankar, Newmarket, Ont.; University of London (England), 1960. Died Feb. 25, 2018, aged 90. Survived by his wife Calouti, 3 sons and 4 grandchildren.

Skain, Francis J., Toronto; University of Toronto, 1954; obstetrics and gynecology. Died March 18, 2018, aged 89. Survived by his wife Marilyn, 8 children, 8 grandchildren, and his stepchildren and step-grandchildren. “Frank was a well-respected obstetrician/gynecologist in Toronto. He began his medical career at Northwestern General Hospital in 1961, also practising at Branson Hospital and later at Humber River Regional Hospital. Throughout his long career he worked passionately to ensure the healthy birth of many of Toronto’s children.”

Sluzar, Roman L., Mississauga, Ont.; University of Ottawa, 1953; anesthesiology. Died Feb. 14, 2018, aged 91.

Thibault, Jean-Paul, St-Jérôme, Que.; Université Laval, 1948; general surgery. Died March 20, 2018, aged 95. Survived by his wife, Raymonde Leblanc, 2 children, 4 grandchildren and 2 great-grandchildren. “Dr. Thibault was one of the founding physicians of Hôtel-Dieu in St-Jérôme, where he worked as a surgeon from 1952 to 1998.”

Van Heerden, Hendrik G., Winnipeg; University of Cape Town (South Africa), 1971. Died March 13, 2018, aged 71.

Woods, Lorna Jane, North York, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1951. Died Feb. 17, 2018, aged 91. Survived by 3 children. “Lorna Jane was in the first medical class at the University of Toronto in which 30% of the class were women. She worked at the Toronto Western Hospital in radiology until 1953, when she married and started a family. Later, she completed her residency in psychiatry at the Clarke Institute. Until her retirement in 1996, she practised as a general practitioner specializing in psychiatry.”

Connexion

Avis de décès

L'AMC offre un service de publication d'avis de décès de ses membres. Prière d'envoyer les avis à l'adresse necrologie@cma.ca.

Avril, 2018

Adey, Christopher K., Windsor (Ont.); Université Memorial, 1977; radiologie diagnostique. Décédé le 11 mars 2018 à l’âge de 65 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 2 fils. « Chris est né à St John’s, et après la faculté de médecine, il s’est spécialisé en radiologie diagnostique à l’Université d’Ottawa où il a été professeur adjoint à la même époque. Il a aussi étudié l’imagerie diagnostique cardiovasculaire à l’Université de l’Alabama à Birmingham et a passé la plus grande partie de sa carrière à pratiquer la médecine dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario. »
 
Aikenhead, Donald H., Milton (Ont.); Université de la Colombie-Britannique, 1955; médecine familiale. Décédé le 4 mai 2017 à l’âge de 90 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Barbara, 6 enfants, 13 petits-enfants et 14 arrière-petits-enfants. « En 1957, Don a répondu à une annonce de la Clinique Stevenson à Milton, ville où il s’est ensuite installé pour y commencer une carrière médicale. Il est rapidement devenu un médecin de famille respecté qui servira la communauté pendant plus de 40 ans avant de prendre sa retraite en 1996. Alors à la retraite, Don s’est rendu à l’île de Saint-Vincent et en Haïti afin de participer à des campagnes de vaccinations et d’offrir des soins médicaux. »

Bailes, Michelle A., Portage la Prairie (Man.); Université du Manitoba, 2010; médecine familiale. Décédée en raison de complications d’une embolie pulmonaire le 17 mars 2018 à l’âge de 38 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil son père ainsi que son frère. « Michelle a complété sa formation en médecine familiale rurale à Dauphin (Man.), en 2012, et s’est ensuite spécialisée en anesthésie en 2013. Elle a travaillé à l’Hôpital du district Portage et est devenue associée de la Clinique Portage en 2014. Michelle était très respectée par le personnel et était une fière défenseure du bien-être de ses patients. Son décès n’est pas qu’une grande perte pour sa famille et ses amis, mais aussi pour sa précieuse et bien-aimée “famille médicale” de Portage la Prairie, qui s’est battu vaillamment pour lui sauver la vie et à qui elle manque profondément. »

Bia, F. Hussain, Saskatoon (Sask.); Collège universitaire de Cork (Irlande), 1969. Décédé le 18 mars 2018 à l’âge de 79 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Maud, 3 enfants et 6 petits-enfants. Un ancien patient a écrit : « Il était un bon docteur et un grand atout pour Foam Lake (Sask.) et ses environs. »

Bose, Bireswar, Edmonton (Alb.); Université de Calcutta (Inde), 1956; chirurgie générale. Décédé le 3 mars 2018 à l’âge de 87 ans. « Après avoir immigré au Canada en 1969, il s’est installé à Barrhead (Alb.) afin de poursuivre sa carrière chirurgicale. Après être devenu Associé du Collège Royale du Canada en 1974, il a été nommé chirurgien consultant pour l’unité de mastologie du Cross Cancer Institute, où il a effectué des travaux cliniques et de recherches. Parmi ses importantes contributions à la médecine se trouvent le développement d’une technique d’excision de la racine des ongles d’orteils incarnés (1971) et l’utilisation d’une membrane amniotique dans le traitement des brûlures (1979); deux techniques encore très pertinentes aujourd’hui. En 2002, il s’est retiré de la pratique active de la médecine pour prendre soin de sa femme, la Dre Anita Bose, gravement malade. Elle est décédée en avril 2017. »

Brown, Frederic N. (Norman), Kanata (Ont.); Université Queen’s, 1947; chirurgie générale. Décédé le 18 mars 2018 à l’âge de 94 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 4 enfants, 7 petits-enfants et 2 arrière-petits-enfants. « Norman a été chirurgien général à l’Hôpital Civic d’Ottawa jusqu’en 1972, année durant laquelle il a accepté le poste de leadership de secrétaire-trésorier de l’Association canadienne de protection médicale qu’il a occupé jusqu’à sa retraite en 1988. »

Caldwell, Forrest H., Ariss (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1981; médecine familiale. Décédé « après une longue danse avec le cancer » le 27 janvier 2018 à l’âge de 62 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 2 fils. « C’était le souhait de Forrest de faire cadeau de l’apprentissage aux étudiants, aux professionnels des services d’urgence et aux professionnels des soins de la santé qui étudient l’anatomie humaine à l’Université de Guelph. » L’Université a annoncé : « Notre communauté est en deuil. Elle pleure la perte du Dr Forrest Caldwell, un médecin de longue date au Centre des services de santé de l’Université. Afin d’honorer sa contribution, le drapeau du campus sera mis en berne le 7 février. »

Cerrolaza, Miguel, Montréal (Qc); Université de Madrid (Espagne), 1955; psychiatrie. Décédé le 2 mars 2018 à l’âge de 86 ans.

Delios, Evangelos G. (George), Winnipeg (Man.); Université d’Alexandrie (Égypte), 1960. Décédé le 12 mars 2018 à l’âge de 88 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Sylvia, 3 enfants et 8 petits-enfants. « George est arrivé à Winnipeg en 1966 et a pris un poste d’anesthésiste aux hôpitaux Deer Lodge et Grace. En tant qu’anesthésiste, il regrettait de ne pouvoir interagir avec ses patients, qui étaient généralement plongés dans un profond sommeil. C’est pour cette raison qu’en 1969, il a abandonné l’anesthésie pour devenir médecin de famille à la Clinique Westwood, où il a exercé sa profession pendant 20 ans. George est devenu un membre aimé de la communauté et s’est fait plusieurs amis parmi ses patients. Il adorait aider des bébés à venir au monde et était constamment présent à l’unité du travail et des accouchements. La médecine familiale était sa passion et il parlait affectueusement de la place qu’il occupait dans la vie de ses patients. George ne pouvait aller nulle part en ville sans rencontrer des patients, des collègues ou des amis. C’est ainsi qu’une simple visite à l’épicerie qui ne devait durer que 20 minutes prenait plutôt 2 ou 3 heures, parce qu’il s’arrêtait toujours pour une conversation. »

Densmore, Lis, Whitehorse (Yn); Université de l’Alberta, 1974. Décédée des suites d’un accident de la route le 6 janvier 2018 à l’âge de 69 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil 2 filles et son ex-époux, Peter Densmore, qui a déclaré au Yukon News : « Lis a beaucoup apporté à la communauté. À un certain point, elle aurait bien pu affirmer avec raison qu’elle avait aidé à mettre au monde la moitié des enfants vivants ici à Whitehorse. » Le Dr Alex Poole, président de l’Association médicale du Yukon a relaté au Whitehorse Daily Star : « Lis était une excellente médecin, avec une grande compassion pour la santé des femmes en particulier. Ses compétences de toutes sortes ont été un atout considérable pour la communauté pendant des décennies. J’ai toujours apprécié ses messages succincts qui allaient droit au but ainsi que sa volonté d’aider aux soins des patients en tout temps. »

Desnoyers, Normand, La Prairie (Qc); Université de Montréal, 1979. Décédé le 24 mars 2017 à l’âge de 66 ans.

Drolet, Marcel, Sherbrooke (Qc); Université Laval, 1949; médecine nucléaire. Décédé le 19 mars 2018 à l’âge de 95 ans.

Dworschak, Francis, London (Ont.); Université de Vienne (Autriche), 1948. Décédé le 14 février 2018 à l’âge de 95 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants et 5 petits-enfants. « En plus d’avoir été un médecin très respecté à Ottawa pendant plus de 40 ans, il était un gemmologiste certifié, un auteur, un fermier, un chasseur, un campeur hivernal et un mélomane. Sa devise : “Pourquoi pas?” »

Feldman, Edward D. (Ted), North York (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1943; médecine familiale. Décédé le 15 mars 2017 à l’âge de 97 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants, 7 petits-enfants et 4 arrière-petits-enfants.

Flanagan, Wayne H., Edmonton (Alb.); Université de l’Alberta, 1974. Décédé le 9 février 2018 à l’âge de 72 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Shirley, 3 enfants et 5 petits-enfants. Un ancien patient a écrit : « Après avoir appris la nouvelle de son décès, j’ai pris quelques minutes pour me souvenir de ma jeunesse et aux nombreuses interactions positives [que j’ai eues] avec le Dr Flanagan. »

Furlong, Dennis J., Dalhousie (N.-B.); Université Memorial, 1976; ancien président, Société médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick (SMNB) et Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada; ancien ministre de la Santé et des Services communautaires, ministre de la Santé et du Mieux-être et ministre de l’Éducation, Nouveau-Brunswick; lauréat, Prix Sir-Charles-Tupper d’action politique de l’Association médicale canadienne; membre émérite, Association médicale canadienne; titulaire d’un doctorat honorifique en droit de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick; lauréat, Ordre du mérite de la SMNB. Décédé le 9 mars 2018 à l’âge de 72 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse, Pierrette Arseneault, 3 enfants, une belle-fille et 8 petits-enfants. Décrivant sa carrière, le Dr Furlong a écrit : « J’ai eu l’honneur de faire partie d’une merveilleuse profession. J’ai eu le privilège de prendre soin de gens qui tenaient la profession médicale en haute estime. » L’ancien premier ministre du Nouveau-Brunswick, Bernard Lord, a confié à CBC : « Dès que j’ai rencontré Dennis, j’ai été impressionné par son intelligence, son sens de la communauté et son désir d’aider les autres. Ce désir était bien présent dans sa vie, pas seulement dans sa vie politique, mais bien tout au long de sa vie. »

Hipwell, Alexander E., Dartmouth (N.-É.); Collège Trinity de Dublin (Irlande), 1974; psychiatrie. Décédé le 15 février 2018 à l’âge de 67 ans.

Hiscock, Robert J. (Jim), St. Marys (Ont.); Université Western Ontario, 1961; médecine familiale. Décédé le 18 février 2018 à l’âge de 83 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Norma ainsi que 4 enfants. « Jim a été un médecin de famille pendant plus de 45 ans, exerçant sa profession principalement à St. Marys. Il a aidé à mettre au monde plus de 1500 bébés au cours de sa carrière et était plus que fier de voir sa fille, la Dre Susan Hiscock, poursuivre elle aussi une carrière de médecin à St. Marys. »

Jochem, Klaus, Montréal (Qc); Université McGill, 1985. Décédé le 1er novembre 2017 à l’âge de 65 ans.

Johnston, Dennis W. (Denny), Halifax (N.-É.); Université Dalhousie, 1958; obstétrique et gynécologie; professeur agrégé, Université Dalhousie. Décédé le 11 février 2018 à l’âge de 83 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Lalia, 3 enfants, 5 petits-enfants et une belle-petite-fille. « Après sa formation, il est revenu à la maison en 1964 pour ouvrir une clinique à Dartmouth (N.-É.), où il a passé sa carrière entre son bureau et les hôpitaux locaux. Pendant 25 ans, il a été chef du Service d’obstétrique et de gynécologie de l’Hôpital général de Dartmouth. On estime que Denny aurait aidé à mettre au monde plus de 7000 bébés au cours de sa carrière. Il était passionné par l’enseignement de l’éducation sexuelle, que ce soit à la Faculté de médecine de l’Université Dalhousie ou par l’entremise de son émission de télévision Let’s Talk About Sex (Parlons de sexualité). Denny manifestait une bonté et une générosité qui lui étaient propres et que tout le monde aimait. Il a assisté aux funérailles de toutes les infirmières et de tous les médecins avec lesquels il a travaillé et, peu importe les circonstances, il avait toujours une blague à raconter. »

Johnston, Donald W. (Bill), Edmonton (Alb.); Université de l’Alberta, 1975; chirurgie orthopédique; ancien chirurgien en chef, Hôpital de l’Université de l’Alberta et l’Hôpital communautaire Grey Nuns; ancien directeur médical, Hôpital universitaire. Décédé le 19 février 2018 à l’âge de 67 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse, Mary Ritchie, 4 enfants, 2 beaux-enfants et 5 petits-enfants. « Bill a été précédé dans la mort par sa première épouse, Mary Johnston, qui est partie trop tôt des suites d’un mélanome en 2004. En 2006, Bill a participé à la fondation de la Chaire de recherche Mary Jonhston sur le mélanome au Cross Cancer Institute; première chaire de recherche sur le sujet au Canada, elle a été créée grâce à un don d’un million de dollars remis par la famille et les amis de Mary en son honneur. Le dévouement de Mary et de Bill Johnston à la recherche sur le mélanome se perpétuera grâce à l’important travail de cette chaire de recherche. »

Key, Fiona M., Montréal (Qc); Université de Glasgow (Écosse), 1970; psychiatrie. Décédée le 4 mars 2018 à l’âge de 71 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil une fille. « Après avoir été pédiatre dans plusieurs communautés éloignées, d’abord dans le nord de l’Écosse puis à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Fiona a travaillé en tant que pédopsychiatre pendant 40 ans à l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants. C’était une soignante et une enseignante extraordinaire qui aimait profondément son travail et qui a changé la vie de plusieurs personnes. » Un collègue a écrit : « Elle était un modèle pour des générations de pédopsychiatres et de thérapeutes familiaux. »

Lafontaine, Guy, Trois-Rivières (Qc); Université Laval, 1963; radiologie diagnostique. Décédé le 1er février 2018 à l’âge de 79 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 2 filles.

Loo, Laine, Vancouver (C.-B.); Université de Tartu (Estonie), 1944. Décédée le 4 mars 2018 à l’âge de 97 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil 2 enfants. « Laine est née à Sindi, en Estonie, et a obtenu son diplôme de l’école de médecine en 1944. La même année, elle doit s’enfuir en Suède avec son mari et leur jeune fille et, après avoir repassé ses examens, y a pratiqué la médecine. Laine a ensuite immigré au Canada avec son époux et leurs deux enfants en 1951 et se sont installés à Vancouver. Elle a dû, encore une fois, repasser des examens en médecine en Colombie-Britannique et y a travaillé en tant que médecin de 1954 jusqu’à la retraite en 1979. »

Moran, Edward J., Millbrook (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1957; ancien chef, Service de médecine générale, Hôpital général de Scarborough; ancien chef de la direction, Association médicale de l’Ontario (AMO); ancien membre, Conseil d’administration de l’Association médicale canadienne. Décédé le 1er janvier 2018 à l’âge de 84 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Jeanne, 4 enfants et 11 petits-enfants. « La passion d’Ed pour les politiques des soins de santé l’a poussé à quitter la pratique clinique en 1976 afin de travailler à plein temps au sein de l’AMO, d’abord en tant que directeur des services médicaux, puis, 4 ans plus tard, en tant que chef de la direction. C’est sous son impulsion que l’AMO s’est transformé en une organisation politique adaptable et efficace. Il a gagné le respect des 3 partis politiques et des gouvernements, tant au fédéral qu’au provincial, malgré un climat souvent turbulent pour la profession. »

Philbrook, Frank A., Oakville (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1958. Décédé le 30 octobre 2017 à l’âge de 85 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Midge, 3 enfants et 5 petits-enfants. « Frank a étudié à l’Université de Toronto en pharmacie (1954) et en médecine avant de partir à l’aventure au Cachemire, en Inde et au Pakistan. Pendant 5 ans, il a pris une pause de sa carrière de directeur médical pour l’industrie pharmaceutique pour être parlementaire au Canada, ce pays qu’il aimait profondément. »

Purdon, Derek H. (Jimmy), Comox (C.-B.); Université McGill, 1964. Décédé le 13 octobre 2017 à l’âge de 84 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 4 enfants et 9 petits-enfants. « Derek est né à Liverpool, en Angleterre, et, durant la guerre, il est envoyé par décret d’évacuation au Pays de Galles afin d’y vivre au sein d’une famille qu’il ne connaissait pas. Il y est resté pendant 4 ans, puis est retourné à Liverpool alors qu’il ne savait plus parler anglais. Après avoir complété son service militaire obligatoire, il a pris la décision spontanée, avec son épouse Ann (décédée en 2009), de déménager au Canada, où il est accepté à l’Université McGill. Derek était un médecin dévoué qui a travaillé jusqu’à ses 80 ans. Il se consacrait à ses patients et à un apprentissage continu tout au long de sa vie. Son héritage professionnel lui survivra grâce à son fils Michael, omnipraticien, et sa petite-fille Molly, étudiante en médecine. »

Rubin, Jack A., Winnipeg (Man.); Université du Manitoba, 1950; otorhinolaryngologie. Décédé le 14 octobre 2017 à l’âge de 92 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Clarice, 3 enfants, 2 petits-enfants et une arrière-petite-fille. « Pendant plusieurs années, Jack a été chef du service d’otorhinolaryngologie au Centre des sciences de la santé et a été président de la Société canadienne d’otorhinolaryngologie. Il a pratiqué la médecine jusqu’à sa retraite à l’âge de 75 ans. Il a aussi été un athlète élite tant à l’école secondaire qu’à l’université. Il a commencé à jouer au tennis à l’adolescence et n’a déposé la raquette qu’à 87 ans; il jouait alors encore en double avec sa fille et ses petits-enfants. Il adorait aussi la natation : à 90 ans, il nageait 800 mètres plusieurs fois par semaine. »

Sahai, Sankar, Newmarket (Ont.); Université de Londres (Angleterre), 1960. Décédé le 25 février 2018 à l’âge de 90 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Calouti, 3 fils et 4 petits-enfants.

Skain, Francis J., Toronto (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1954; obstétrique et gynécologie. Décédé le 18 mars 2018 à l’âge de 89 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Marilyn, 8 enfants, 8 petits-enfants et ses beaux-enfants et beaux-petits-enfants. « Frank était un obstétricien-gynécologue très respecté à Toronto. Il a amorcé sa carrière médicale à l’Hôpital général Northwestern en 1961, mais a aussi travaillé à l’Hôpital Branson et plus tard à l’Hôpital régional de Humber River. Tout au long de sa carrière, il a travaillé avec passion et s’est assuré de la naissance en santé de nombreux enfants de Toronto. »

Sluzar, Roman L., Mississauga (Ont.); Université d’Ottawa, 1953; anesthésiologie. Décédé le 14 février 2018 à l’âge de 91 ans.

Thibault, Jean-Paul, Saint-Jérôme (Qc); Université Laval, 1948; chirurgie générale. Décédé le 20 mars 2018 à l’âge de 95 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse, Raymonde Leblanc, 2 enfants, 4 petits-enfants et 2 arrière-petits-enfants. « Le Dr Thibault a été l’un des médecins fondateurs de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Saint-Jérôme où il a travaillé en tant que chirurgien de 1952 à 1998. »

Van Heerden, Hendrik G., Winnipeg (Man.); Université du Cap (Afrique du Sud), 1971. Décédé le 13 mars 2018 à l’âge de 71 ans.

Woods, Lorna Jane, North York (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1951. Décédée le 17 février 2018 à l’âge de 91 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants. « Lorna Jane a fait partie de la première cohorte de médecine de l’Université de Toronto ayant 30 % de femmes. Elle a travaillé à l’Hôpital Toronto Western en radiologie jusqu’en 1953, année où elle s’est mariée et a fondé une famille. Plus tard, elle a complété une résidence en psychiatrie à l’Institut Clarke. Jusqu’à sa retraite en 1996, elle a travaillé en tant qu’omnipraticienne spécialisée en psychiatrie. »