Sign In

In Memoriam

As a unique service for CMA members and their families, the CMA regularly publishes notices of deceased members.

Please send notices to inmemoriam@cma.ca.

August, 2017

Adolph, Jack, Saskatoon; University of Alberta, 1955; general pathology. Died June 29, 2017, aged 87. Survived by his wife Rena, 3 children and 4 grandchildren. “Jack started his medical career in Milden, Sask., and went on to work as a pathologist in Swift Current, Sask., and then in Saskatoon.”

Ahuja, Prakash S., Waterloo, Ont.; University of Bombay (India), 1961; general surgery. Died June 6, 2017, aged 81. Survived by his wife Harpreet, 3 children and 3 grandchildren. “After post-graduate training in the US he moved to Montréal, and for the next several years he and his expanding family [lived from] one end of the country to the other. They eventually settled in Kitchener-Waterloo, where he dedicated himself to a 40-year general surgery practice. During that time Dr. Ahuja wielded his scalpel with skill, built a large network of friends and colleagues, volunteered many hours with various boards, committees and tribunals, and contributed to the development of the local Sikh community.”

Allen, Raymond B., Fernie, BC; Eastern Virginia Medical School (US), 1988; family medicine. Died Jan. 22, 2017, aged 59.

Bezeredi, Tibor, West Vancouver; University of British Columbia (UBC), 1960; psychiatry; former director, Psychiatric Emergency Services and Psychiatric Assessment Unit, Vancouver General Hospital (VGH); clinical professor emeritus, UBC; past president, BC Psychiatric Association; past executive member, Canadian Psychiatric Association. Died June 21, 2017, aged 87. Survived by his partner Meg, his first wife Judith, a daughter and a stepson. “Tibor was born and raised in Hungary, and after the 1956 uprising there he came to Canada as a refugee. He settled in Vancouver and enrolled in UBC medical school, and after finishing his training joined UBC’s Department of Psychiatry. He applied his knowledge of mental health in the Emergency Department of the VGH, and practised adult and forensic psychiatry for 40 years. He retired as a clinical professor. He extends his deepest gratitude to all the unnamed blood donors whose contributions prolonged his life.”

Bowman, Dennis J., Orillia, Ont.; Queen’s University, 2005; anesthesiology. Died following a paddleboarding accident July 8, 2017, aged 39. Survived by his partner, Alison Brown. “Dennis practised anesthesiology at the Orillia Soldiers’ Memorial Hospital and at Northwest Health Centre in High Level, Alta. He had great respect for the profession and all his co-workers.”

Busser, James R., Vancouver; University of Western Ontario, 1984; internal medicine. Died of multiple myeloma June 23, 2017, aged 56. Survived by his wife Joanne and 2 children. “He was a physician, teacher and health system advocate.”

Clay, M. Graham, Vancouver; University of British Columbia (UBC), 1956; general surgery; RCAF, 2 Wing Hospital, France; former medical director, Clinical Practice Subunit of General Surgery, Vancouver General Hospital; clinical professor emeritus, UBC. Died March 18, 2017, aged 85. Survived by 3 children and 2 grandchildren. “Graham, who had a fulfilling career specializing in breast cancer treatment, helped to develop British Columbia’s Screening Mammography Program. He was also involved in the development of the Laurel Medical Building, where he had his office until his retirement in 2003.”

Davis, Victoria J. (Vicki), Scarborough, Ont.; University of Western Ontario, 1985; obstetrics and gynecology. Died June 25, 2017, aged 62. Survived by her husband Javad and 3 children. “Vicki was a gifted medical professional, an obstetrician and gynecologist who worked diligently for her patients in the fields of adolescent gynecology, complex gynecologic surgery, infertility treatment and women’s integrated health medicine. She worked tirelessly to expand her professional knowledge and skills to help many women, adolescents and children in their time of need.”

d’Entremont, Philippe, Moncton, NB; Université Laval, 1944; medical officer, RCAF, WW II; general surgery; past president, Federation of the Medical Licensing Authorities of Canada and the Medical Council of Canada. Died June 15, 2017, aged 97. Survived by 4 children and a granddaughter. “Dr. d’Entremont was involved in the New Brunswick Medical Society’s activities for over 40 years, and he was a member of the provincial consulting committee of the Canadian Medical Protective Association.”

Dodd, W. Alan, Langley, BC; University of British Columbia, 1960; dermatology. Died June 17, 2017, aged 81. Survived by his wife Suellen, 2 children and 2 grandchildren. “Alan spent the last 50 years practising dermatology in Vancouver’s Lower Mainland and touched countless lives through his practice.” A resident he trained commented: “He had an amazing bedside manner with patients — always made them feel better.”

Echlin, Thomas H., Windsor, Ont.; Queen’s University, 1956; family medicine; life member and past president, Essex County Medical Society; life member, Ontario Medical Association. Died July 2, 2017, aged 84. Survived by his wife Beverly, a son, 3 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren. “Thanks to my many patients for your kindness and confidence in my medical practice for 61 years.” A patient wrote: “I will miss him terribly.”

Ferguson, Ian A., Calgary; University of Alberta, 1955; obstetrics and gynecology. Died June 15, 2017, aged 87. Survived by 3 children, 6 grandchildren and 4 great-grandchildren. A patient wrote: “If it wasn’t for him I wouldn’t be here today.”

Greenhill, Brian J., Edmonton; English Conjoint Board, 1957; orthopedic surgery. Died Jan. 19, 2017, aged 87. Survived by his wife Iris, 5 children and 8 grandchildren. “Brian immigrated to Edmonton, where his time was divided between the Glenrose Rehabilitation and the Royal Alexandra hospitals. His career as an orthopedic surgeon was completed in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, where his specialty was pediatric orthopedics.” A former nursing colleague wrote: “An icon is gone.”

Hancke, Petrus J. (Piet), Brooks, Alta.; University of the Orange Free State (South Africa), 1976. Died June 14, 2017, aged 64. Survived by his wife Erina, 5 children and 3 grandchildren. “Piet grew up in Johannesburg and was in the first medical graduating class at the University of the Orange Free State. He moved from South Africa to Meadow Lake, Sask., in 2008, and in 2010 moved to Brooks.”

Heckadon, Robert, Windsor, Ont.; University of Western Ontario, 1960; plastic surgery; former reserve pilot, RCAF; former chief of medical staff, Hotel Dieu Hospital, Windsor; recipient, Glenn Sawyer Service Award, Ontario Medical Association. Died June 22, 2017, aged 84. Survived by his wife Camilla, 5 children and 4 grandchildren. “Bob practised plastic surgery in Windsor from 1966 to 1996. After closing his practice he joined the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board as a medical adviser. He became a medical coordinator in 1997 and acted as associate director for clinical services (Southern Ontario) from 1998 to 2010. He worked until age 82, and spent 4 years assisting in surgery.”

Horner, George S., Clarenville, NL; Royal College of Surgeons (Ireland), 1957; general pathology. Died April 21, 2017, aged 83. Survived by his wife Alison, a daughter and a grandson.

Irwin, D. June, Hudson, Que.; McGill University, 1961; dermatology. Died June 22, 2017, aged 83. “Her zest to excel and an innate stubbornness spilled into her dedication to ridding the world of toxic pesticides. Research, lab tests and all related costs were borne from her own pocket. She would rather not eat than allow the cause to fail. Her pioneering diligence caught the eye of many reporters, TV hosts, magazines and politicians, especially in Hudson. Five decades of intense fighting for toxic-free communities were victorious in June 2003 when Hudson became the first city in Canada to ban pesticides.” In 2001, Susan Pinker wrote in CMAJ: “Dr. June Irwin has whittled her routine down to the basics of life. The basics mean being the sole physician in a busy dermatology practice, while tending to the daily needs of over 100 chickens, 29 sheep and 25 geese on her farm. When she’s not examining rashes or keeping coyotes out of the henhouse, Dr. Irwin focuses on her other preoccupation — documenting the effects of pesticide exposure on health. ‘That’s what’s good about living on a farm,’ she says while leaning on her shepherd’s crook. ‘You learn to follow the rules of nature.’ ”

Kafato, Krino, Burlington, Ont.; Istanbul University (Turkey), 1950; psychiatry. Died May 9, 2017, aged 93. Survived by his wife June, 4 children, 5 grandchildren and a great-grandson. “Born in Trabzon, Turkey, he moved to Canada in 1956. Krino will be remembered for his positivity, his love of his family and friends, genuine concern for his patients, dedication to the medical profession, and his many contributions to the community.”

Kerr Macdonald, D’Arcy, North York, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1941; RCAF, WW II; ophthalmology; former chief of ophthalmology, Toronto Western Hospital; professor, U of T. Died June 24, 2016, aged 103. Survived by 3 children, 10 grandchildren and 9 great-grandchildren. “D’Arcy, who died at the grand age of 103, remembered his mother ironing dollar bills to sterilize them during the Spanish flu epidemic and feeding homeless men at their house during the Depression. Serving others was a calling and a constant in his life. Kindness, empathy and humour were as natural as the air he breathed and, in turn, he brought out the best in others. These qualities allowed him to connect with his patients in extraordinary ways. With dedication, he made house calls and visited lonely hospitalized patients on Christmas Day, lifting their spirits with his caring and warmth.”

Lesser, Arthur L., Hamilton; Dalhousie University, 1956; psychiatry; professor emeritus, McMaster University; past president, Ontario Psychiatric Association. Died June 27, 2017, aged 85. Survived by his wife Liz, 2 children and 2 grandchildren. “He was a member of the Faculty of Psychiatry at McMaster University from 1969 to 1988, and was president of the Ontario Psychiatric Association in 1983-84. He returned to private practice in 1988 and retired in 1996.”

Lister, John G., Owen Sound, Ont.; RCNR, Korean War; University of Toronto, 1955; psychiatry. Died June 23, 2017, aged 87. Survived by his wife Kimiko, 5 children, 9 grandchildren and 8 great-grandchildren. “Most of his medical career was devoted to the treatment of children and adolescents, and he founded the C.M. Hincks Rural Treatment Centre.”

Logan, Robert I., New Westminster, BC; University of Manitoba, 1945; anesthesiology. Died July 1, 2017, aged 102.

Malkin, Aaron, Toronto; University of Manitoba, 1949; internal medicine. Died Nov. 6, 2016, aged 90. Survived by 2 children and 3 grandchildren. “Dr. Malkin died while travelling in Israel. He was a lifelong learner and supporter of the arts.”

McIntyre, Hugh M., Thunder Bay, Ont.; RCAF, WW II; University of Manitoba, 1952; diagnostic radiology. Died May 9, 2017, aged 92. Survived by his wife Margaret (Peggy), 3 children, 8 grandchildren and 6 great-grandchildren. “He practised in Brandon, Man., until 1957, and then returned to Winnipeg to study radiology. The family moved to Thunder Bay in 1965, where Hugh practised at McKellar Hospital. . . . As a woodworker, he created artistic and distinctive furniture in abundance, and finished his last bench just over a month ago.”

Spencer, Brian P., Victoria; University of Alberta, 1975; family medicine. Died June 23, 2017, aged 68. Survived by his wife Fran and 2 children. “He loved the practice of medicine and had hoped to continue for many years. Medicine allowed him to get to know and spend time with his patients while providing opportunities for many adventures and endeavours: he was a founding physician and great supporter of the Shelbourne Medical Clinic, one of the originators of and early participants in ViVa (Victoria Vanuatu Physicians Project) and he was one of the creators of Osler software.” A patient wrote: “Every visit I had with him the nurse would knock on the door to remind him that he had other patients waiting.”

Stewart, Irwin F., New Westminster, BC; University of British Columbia (UBC), 1956; otolaryngology; Order of Canada. Died June 5, 2017, aged 86. Survived by his wife Lois, 3 children and 8 grandchildren. “Dr. Stewart was recognized as a pioneer in the medical profession. He was clinical professor, head of otolaryngology and professor emeritus at UBC, and was awarded the prestigious Mosher Award by the Triological Society. He also served as president or board member for the BC Otolaryngology Society, BC Hearing Aid Board, BC College of Physicians and Surgeons, Canadian Society of Otolaryngology and numerous federal task forces. He was also dedicated to health care in New Westminster, where he served as chief of staff at St. Mary’s Hospital and chair of the St. Mary’s Health Foundation.”

Sweeney, Denis B., Long Beach, Calif.; University of Toronto, 1956; ophthalmology. Died May 23, 2017, aged 85. Survived by his wife Betty, 3 children and 10 grandchildren. “After completing ophthalmology training at Harvard and McGill, he began 6 years of research in Boston in 1960. In 1966 he moved to Toronto, where he developed a thriving private practice in Scarborough and performed innovative retina, glaucoma and cataract surgical procedures at Scarborough General and Scarborough Centenary hospitals.”

Tenenbaum, Jerry, Victoria; University of Toronto, 1973; rheumatology. Died July 6, 2017, aged 69. Survived by his wife, Lucretia van den Berg, 2 sons and 2 grandchildren.

Tsai, Ching-Hui, Gatineau (Qc); Université Claude-Bernard (France), 1968; medical oncology. Died June 23, 2017, aged 85. Survived by his wife Michele and 2 children. “He retired in 2002 after a long and rewarding career as a hematologist-oncologist.”

Violago, Francisco C. (Fran), Winnipeg; University of Santo Tomas (Philippines), 1955; vascular surgery. Died June 17, 2017, aged 84. Survived by 3 children. “Fran practised medicine for 6 decades, and his late wife, Estela, often administered the anesthetic when he was operating. Fran was renowned for his skills as a physician and surgeon. Over the years so many of Dad’s patients and colleagues spoke about how much they admired both his skill and his kindness. Fran only retired a couple of months before he died, when his final illness forced him to stop.”

Watson, Cecil M., Edmonton; Royal College of Surgeons (Ireland), 1950; anesthesiology. Died May 29, 2017, aged 91. Survived by 3 children and 4 granddaughters. “Like many of his peers, he immigrated to Western Canada. Later, he specialized in anesthesiology at McGill University before returning to Edmonton. He made lifelong friends during his 30-years-plus career at the Royal Alexandra Hospital and Kingsway Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Suite, and was fondly known to his patients for his compassion and bedside manner. He continued to be clever, curious and engaged right up to the end of his life, and often wished he was much younger to be able to still work in an environment of rapid medical advances.”

Whittier, Donald P., Dundas, Ont.; RCAF, army, WW II; Queen’s University, 1951; family medicine. Died June 22, 2017, aged 91. Survived by his wife Patricia, 4 children, 6 grandchildren and 2 great-grandchildren. “Don and Pat (RN Class 51B, Hamilton General Hospital) carried on a busy medical practice from their home in Dundas for over 50 years. He worked tirelessly, providing dedicated and compassionate care for all his patients.”

Connexion

Avis de décès

L'AMC offre un service de publication d'avis de décès de ses membres. Prière d'envoyer les avis à l'adresse necrologie@cma.ca.

Août, 2017

Adolph, Jack, Saskatoon (Sask.); Université de l’Alberta, 1955; pathologie générale. Décédé le 29 juin 2017 à l’âge de 87 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Rena, 3 enfants et 4 petits-enfants. « Jack a commencé sa carrière médicale à Milden, en Saskatchewan. Il a par la suite travaillé comme pathologiste à Swift Current (Sask.), puis à Saskatoon. »

Ahuja, Prakash S., Waterloo (Ont.); Université de Bombay (Inde), 1961; chirurgie générale. Décédé le 6 juin 2017 à l’âge de 81 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Harpreet, 3 enfants et 3 petits-enfants. « Après des études postdoctorales aux États-Unis, il a déménagé à Montréal, puis a vécu un peu partout au pays avec sa famille grandissante au cours des années suivantes. La famille s’est enfin établie à Kitchener-Waterloo, où il a exercé la chirurgie générale pendant 40 ans. Pendant cette période, le Dr Ahuja a manié le scalpel avec adresse, s’est bâti un vaste réseau d’amis et de collègues, a effectué de nombreuses heures de travail bénévole auprès de conseils d’administration, de comités et de tribunaux variés et a contribué au développement de la communauté sikhe locale. »

Allen, Raymond B., Fernie (C.-B.); Eastern Virginia Medical School (États-Unis), 1988; médecine familiale. Décédé le 22 janvier 2017 à l’âge de 59 ans.

Bezeredi, Tibor, West Vancouver (C.-B.); Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC), 1960; psychiatrie; ancien directeur, services d’urgence en psychiatrie et unité d’évaluation psychiatrique, Hôpital général de Vancouver; professeur clinicien émérite, UBC; ancien président, BC Psychiatric Association; ancien membre du comité exécutif, Association des psychiatres du Canada. Décédé le 21 juin 2017 à l’âge de 87 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil sa conjointe Meg, sa première épouse Judith, une fille et un beau-fils. « Tibor est né et a grandi en Hongrie; il est arrivé au Canada comme réfugié après la révolution de 1956. Il s’est établi à Vancouver et s’est inscrit à la Faculté de médecine de la UBC. Après ses études, il s’est joint au Département de psychiatrie de l’université. Il a mis à contribution ses connaissances en santé mentale au sein du service d’urgence de l’Hôpital général de Vancouver et a exercé la psychiatrie adulte et la psychiatrie médicolégale pendant 40 ans. Au moment de prendre sa retraite, il était professeur clinique. Il exprime sa profonde reconnaissance envers les nombreux donneurs de sang anonymes qui lui ont permis de vivre plus longtemps. »

Bowman, Dennis J., Orillia (Ont.); Université Queen’s, 2005; anesthésiologie. Décédé le 8 juillet 2017 à l’âge de 39 ans à la suite d’un accident de planche à pagaie. Il laisse dans le deuil sa conjointe Alison Brown. « Dennis exerçait l’anesthésiologie à l’Hôpital Orillia Soldiers’ Memorial et au Northwest Health Centre à High Level, en Alberta. Il avait un grand respect pour la profession et pour tous ses collègues. »

Busser, James R., Vancouver (C.-B.); Université Western Ontario, 1984; médecine interne. Décédé des suites d’un myélome multiple le 23 juin 2017 à l’âge de 56 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Joanne et 2 enfants. « Il était un médecin, un enseignant et un défenseur du système de santé. »

Clay, M. Graham, Vancouver (C.-B.); Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC), 1956; chirurgie générale; Aviation royale canadienne, hôpital de la 2e Escadre, France; ancien directeur médical, sous-unité de pratique clinique en chirurgie générale, Hôpital général de Vancouver; professeur clinique émérite, UBC. Décédé le 18 mars 2017 à l’âge de 85 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants et 2 petits-enfants. « Graham, dont la carrière gratifiante était axée sur le traitement du cancer du sein, a contribué au développement du programme de dépistage par mammographie de la Colombie-Britannique. Il a également participé au développement du Laurel Medical Centre, où il avait son bureau jusqu’à sa retraite en 2003. »

Cloutier, Jean-Marie, Knowlton (Qc); Université d’Ottawa, 1954; chirurgie orthopédique. Décédé le 23 juin 2017 à l’âge de 90 ans.

Davis, Victoria J. (Vicki), Scarborough (Ont.); Université Western Ontario, 1985; obstétrique et gynécologie. Décédée le 25 juin 2017 à l’âge de 62 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil son mari Javad et 3 enfants. « Professionnelle médicale de grand talent, gynécologue et obstétricienne, Vicki a travaillé assidûment pour ses patientes dans les domaines de la gynécologie pour adolescentes, de la chirurgie gynécologique complexe, du traitement de l’infertilité ainsi que des soins de santé intégrés pour les femmes. Elle a travaillé sans relâche pour approfondir ses connaissances et ses compétences professionnelles en vue d’aider le plus grand nombre de femmes, d’adolescentes et d’enfants en difficulté. »

d’Entremont, Philippe, Moncton (N.-B.); Université Laval, 1944; médecin militaire, Aviation royale canadienne, 2e Guerre mondiale; ancien président, Fédération des ordres des médecins du Canada et Conseil médical du Canada. Décédé le 15 juin 2017 à l’âge de 97 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 4 enfants et 1 petite-fille. « Le Dr d’Entremont a participé aux activités de la Société médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick pendant plus de 40 ans; il a en outre été membre du comité consultatif provincial de l’Association canadienne de protection médicale. »

Dodd, W. Alan, Langley (C.-B.); Université de la Colombie-Britannique, 1960; dermatologie. Décédé le 17 juin 2017 à l’âge de 81 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Suellen, 2 enfants et 2 petits-enfants. « Alan a marqué d’innombrables patients au cours des 50 dernières années, alors qu’il exerçait la dermatologie dans la région de Vancouver et du Lower Mainland. Un médecin résident qu’il a formé a dit ceci : “Lorsqu’il était au chevet des patients, il avait le don de leur procurer un énorme réconfort.” »

Echlin, Thomas H., Windsor (Ont.); Université Queen’s, 1956; médecine familiale; membre à vie et ancien président, Essex County Medical Society; membre à vie, Association médicale de l’Ontario. Décédé le 2 juillet 2017 à l’âge de 84 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Beverly, 1 fils, 3 petits-enfants et 3 arrière-petits-enfants. « Merci à mes nombreux patients pour la gentillesse et la confiance qu’ils m’ont témoignées durant les 61 années où j’ai exercé la médecine. » Un patient a écrit ceci : « Il me manquera terriblement. »

Ferguson, Ian A., Calgary (Alb.); Université de l’Alberta, 1955; obstétrique et gynécologie. Décédé le 15 juin 2017 à l’âge de 87 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants, 6 petits-enfants et 4 arrière-petits-enfants. Un patient a écrit ceci : « Sans lui, je ne serais pas là aujourd’hui. »

Greenhill, Brian J., Edmonton (Alb.); English Conjoint Board, 1957; chirurgie orthopédique. Décédé le 19 janvier 2017 à l’âge de 87 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Iris, 5 enfants et 8 petits-enfants. « Brian a immigré à Edmonton, où il partageait son temps entre l’hôpital de réadaptation Glenrose et l’Hôpital Royal Alexandra. Sa carrière comme chirurgien orthopédiste s’est terminée à Riyad, en Arabie Saoudite, où il se spécialisait en orthopédie pédiatrique. » Une ancienne collègue infirmière a écrit ceci : « Un géant s’est éteint. »

Hancke, Petrus J. (Piet), Brooks (Alb.); Université de l’État libre d’Orange (Afrique du Sud), 1976. Décédé le 14 juin 2017 à l’âge de 64 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Erina, 5 enfants et 3 petits-enfants. « Piet a grandi à Johannesburg et faisait partie de la première cohorte de diplômés en médecine à l’Université de l’État libre d’Orange. En 2008, il a quitté l’Afrique du Sud pour venir s’installer à Meadow Lake, en Saskatchewan, puis a déménagé à Brooks en 2010. »

Heckadon, Robert, Windsor (Ont.); Université Western Ontario, 1960; chirurgie plastique; ancien pilote de réserve, Aviation royale canadienne; ancien chef du personnel médical, Hôpital Hôtel-Dieu, Windsor; lauréat du prix Glenn-Sawyer, Association médicale de l’Ontario. Décédé le 22 juin 2017 à l’âge de 84 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Camilla, 5 enfants et 4 petits-enfants. « Bob a exercé la chirurgie plastique à Windsor de 1966 à 1996. Après la fermeture de son cabinet, il s’est joint à la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail à titre de conseiller médical. Il est devenu coordonnateur médical en 1997 et a occupé les fonctions de directeur adjoint des services cliniques (sud de l’Ontario) de 1998 à 2010. Il a travaillé jusqu’à l’âge de 82 ans et a assisté des chirurgiens pendant 4 ans. »

Horner, George S., Clarenville (T.-N.-L.); Royal College of Surgeons (Irlande), 1957; pathologie générale. Décédé le 21 avril 2017 à l’âge de 83 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Alison, une fille et un petit-fils.

Irwin, D. June, Hudson (Qc); Université McGill, 1961; dermatologie. Décédée le 22 juin 2017 à l’âge de 83 ans. « Sa recherche de l’excellence et sa détermination innée ont été pour elle deux atouts de taille dans sa lutte contre les pesticides toxiques, dont elle voulait débarrasser le monde. Elle payait les travaux de recherche, les tests en laboratoire et tous les coûts connexes de sa propre poche. Elle aurait préféré s’abstenir de manger plutôt que d’échouer. Son zèle et son avant-gardisme ont capté l’attention de nombreux journalistes, animateurs de télévision, magazines et politiciens, surtout à Hudson. Ses cinquante années de lutte acharnée contre l’utilisation de produits toxiques dans les communautés ont porté leurs fruits en 2003, alors qu’Hudson est devenue la première ville canadienne à bannir les pesticides. » En 2001, Susan Pinker écrivait ceci dans le JAMC : « La Dre June Irwin s’est restreinte aux besoins les plus élémentaires de l’existence. Seule médecin d’un cabinet de dermatologie très achalandé, elle doit aussi subvenir aux besoins quotidiens de plus de 100 poules, de 29 moutons et de 25 oies sur sa ferme. Lorsqu’elle n’est pas occupée à examiner des éruptions cutanées ou à veiller à ce que les coyotes n’entrent pas dans le poulailler, la Dre Irwin se concentre sur son autre cheval de bataille : documenter les effets de l’exposition aux pesticides sur la santé. “C’est ce que j’aime de la vie sur une ferme, dit-elle en s’appuyant sur son bâton de berger. On apprend à suivre les lois de la nature.” »

Kafato, Krino, Burlington (Ont.); Université d’Istanbul (Turquie), 1950; psychiatrie. Décédé le 9 mai 2017 à l’âge de 93 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse June, 4 enfants, 5 petits-enfants et 1 arrière-petit-fils. « Né à Trabzon, en Turquie, il a déménagé au Canada en 1956. On se souviendra de Krino pour son optimisme, son amour pour sa famille et ses amis, son intérêt sincère pour ses patients, son dévouement envers la profession médicale et ses nombreuses contributions à la communauté. »

Kerr Macdonald, D’Arcy, North York (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1941; Aviation royale canadienne, 2e Guerre mondiale; ophtalmologie; ancien chef du service d’ophtalmologie, Hôpital Toronto Western; professeur, Université de Toronto. Décédé le 24 juin 2016 à l’âge de 103 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants, 10 petits-enfants et 9 arrière-petits-enfants. « D’Arcy, qui est mort à l’âge vénérable de 103 ans, se souvenait de sa mère repassant ses billets de banque afin de les stériliser durant l’épidémie de grippe espagnole et nourrissant des hommes sans abri dans leur propre domicile durant la grande dépression. L’altruisme était une vocation et une constante dans sa vie. La gentillesse, l’empathie et l’humour étaient pour lui aussi naturels que l’air qu’il respirait et, en retour, il faisait ressortir le meilleur des autres. Ces qualités lui ont permis de tisser des liens exceptionnels avec ses patients. Faisant preuve d’un grand dévouement, il faisait des visites à domicile et visitait des patients hospitalisés seuls le jour de Noël, égayant leur quotidien de ses attentions et de sa chaleur. »

Lacroix, Bertin E., Lamèque (N.-B.); Université Laval, 1956. Décédé le 14 juin 2017 à l’âge de 89 ans.

Lesser, Arthur L., Hamilton (Ont.); Université Dalhousie, 1956; psychiatrie; professeur émérite, Université McMaster; ancien président, Association des psychiatres de l’Ontario. Décédé le 27 juin 2017 à l’âge de 85 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Liz, 2 enfants et 2 petits-enfants. « Il a été membre de la Faculté de psychiatrie de l’Université McMaster de 1969 à 1988 et président de l’Association des psychiatres de l’Ontario en 1983-1984. Il est revenu à la pratique privée en 1988 et a pris sa retraite en 1996. »

Lister, John G., Owen Sound (Ont.); Réserve de la Marine royale du Canada, guerre de Corée; Université de Toronto, 1955; psychiatrie. Décédé le 23 juin 2017 à l’âge de 87 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Kimiko, 5 enfants, 9 petits-enfants et 8 arrière-petits-enfants. « Il s’est consacré pendant la plus grande partie de sa carrière aux soins aux enfants et aux adolescents et a fondé le C.M. Hincks Rural Treatment Centre. »

Logan, Robert I., New Westminster (C.-B.); Université du Manitoba, 1945; anesthésiologie. Décédé le 1er juillet 2017 à l’âge de 102 ans.

Malkin, Aaron, Toronto (Ont.); Université du Manitoba, 1949; médecine interne. Décédé le 6 novembre 2016 à l’âge de 90 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 2 enfants et 3 petits-enfants. « Le Dr Malkin est décédé lors d’un voyage en Israël. Toute sa vie, il a étudié et soutenu les arts. »

McIntyre, Hugh M., Thunder Bay (Ont.); Aviation royale canadienne, 2e Guerre mondiale; Université du Manitoba, 1952; radiologie diagnostique. Décédé le 9 mai 2017 à l’âge de 92 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Margaret (Peggy), 3 enfants, 8 petits-enfants et 6 arrière-petits-enfants. « Il a exercé la médecine à Brandon, au Manitoba, jusqu’en 1957, puis est retourné à Winnipeg pour étudier la radiologie. La famille a déménagé à Thunder Bay en 1965, où Hugh a exercé à l’Hôpital McKellar. […] Artisan menuisier, il a créé une multitude de meubles artistiques au cachet unique et a terminé son dernier banc il y a un peu plus d’un mois. »

Pion, René, Québec (Qc); Université Laval, 1951; psychiatrie. Décédé le 15 mars 2017 à l’âge de 90 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Denise Pettigrew, 2 enfants, 6 petits-enfants et 7 arrière-petits-enfants.

Poitras, Benoit P., Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs (Qc); Université Laval, 1965; chirurgie orthopédique. Décédé le 27 juin 2017 à l’âge de 75 ans.

Spencer, Brian P., Victoria (C.-B.); Université de l’Alberta, 1975; médecine familiale. Décédé le 23 juin 2017 à l’âge de 68 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Fran et 2 enfants. « Il adorait exercer la médecine et espérait pouvoir continuer pendant de nombreuses années. La médecine lui a permis de passer du temps avec ses patients et d’apprendre à les connaître tout en se lançant dans de nombreuses aventures et entreprises : il est l’un des médecins fondateurs et des grands défenseurs de la clinique médicale de Shelbourne, l’un des initiateurs et des premiers utilisateurs du projet ViVa (Victoria Vanuatu Physicians Project) et l’un des créateurs du logiciel Osler. » Un patient a écrit à propos de lui : « Chaque fois que j’allais le consulter, l’infirmière devait venir frapper à la porte pour lui rappeler que d’autres patients attendaient. »

Stewart, Irwin F., New Westminster (C.-B.); Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC), 1956; oto-rhino-laryngologie; Ordre du Canada. Décédé le 5 juin 2017 à l’âge de 86 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Lois, 3 enfants et 8 petits-enfants. « Le Dr Stewart était perçu comme un pionnier dans la profession médicale. Il était professeur clinique, chef du département d’oto-rhino-laryngologie et professeur émérite à la UBC, en plus d’avoir reçu le prestigieux prix Mosher de la Triological Society. Il a également siégé comme président ou membre du conseil d’administration de la Société d’oto-rhino-laryngologie de la C.-B., du Conseil de la C.-B. sur les prothèses auditives, du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la C.-B., de la Société canadienne d’oto-rhino-laryngologie et de nombreux groupes de travail fédéraux. Par ailleurs, il avait à cœur la prestation de soins de santé à New Westminster, où il a occupé les fonctions de médecin-chef à l’Hôpital St. Mary’s et de président de la St. Mary’s Health Foundation. »

Sweeney, Denis B., Long Beach (Calif.); Université de Toronto, 1956; ophtalmologie. Décédé le 23 mai 2017 à l’âge de 85 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Betty, 3 enfants et 10 petits-enfants. « Après avoir terminé ses études en ophtalmologie à l’Université Harvard et à l’Université McGill, il a commencé en 1960 un programme de recherche sur 6 ans à Boston. En 1966, il a déménagé à Toronto, où il a mis sur pied un cabinet privé prospère à Scarborough et a effectué des chirurgies innovatrices de la rétine, du glaucome et de la cataracte aux hôpitaux Scarborough General et Scarborough Centenary. »

Tenenbaum, Jerry, Victoria (C.-B.); Université de Toronto, 1973; rhumatologie. Décédé le 6 juillet 2017 à l’âge de 69 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Lucretia van den Berg, 2 fils et 2 petits-enfants.

Tsai, Ching-Hui, Gatineau (Qc); Université Claude-Bernard (France), 1968; oncologie médicale. Décédé le 23 juin 2017 à l’âge de 85 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Michèle et 2 enfants. « Il a pris sa retraite en 2002, après une longue carrière gratifiante comme hémato-oncologue. »

Violago, Francisco C. (Fran), Winnipeg (Man.); Université de Santo Tomas (Philippines), 1955; chirurgie vasculaire. Décédé le 17 juin 2017 à l’âge de 84 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants. « Fran a exercé la médecine pendant 60 ans, et il arrivait souvent que sa défunte épouse Estela administre l’anesthésique lors de ses interventions chirurgicales. Fran était reconnu pour sa compétence en tant que médecin et chirurgien. Au fil des années, de nombreux patients et collègues de mon père ont raconté à quel point ils l’admiraient, tant pour son grand talent que pour sa gentillesse. Fran a pris sa retraite quelques mois seulement avant son décès, lorsqu’une maladie incurable l’a obligé à s’arrêter. »

Watson, Cecil M., Edmonton (Alb.); Royal College of Surgeons (Irlande), 1950; anesthésiologie. Décédé le 29 mai 2017 à l’âge de 91 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants et 4 petites-filles. « Comme beaucoup de ses pairs, il a immigré dans l’ouest du Canada. Il s’est plus tard spécialisé en anesthésiologie à l’Université McGill, avant de retourner à Edmonton. Il a tissé de grandes amitiés durant ses quelque 30 ans de carrière à l’Hôpital Royal Alexandra et à la clinique de chirurgie buccale et maxillo-faciale de Kingsway; il était connu par ses patients pour sa compassion et sa douceur lorsqu’il était à leur chevet. Il a gardé son intelligence, sa curiosité et son dévouement jusqu’à la toute fin et disait souvent qu’il aurait aimé être beaucoup plus jeune pour pouvoir continuer de travailler dans un environnement médical où les découvertes se succèdent à toute allure. »

Whittier, Donald P., Dundas (Ont.); Aviation royale canadienne, 2e Guerre mondiale; Université Queen’s, 1951; médecine familiale. Décédé le 22 juin 2017 à l’âge de 91 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Patricia, 4 enfants, 6 petits-enfants et 2 arrière-petits-enfants. « Don et Pat (infirmière autorisée de classe 51B à l’Hôpital général de Hamilton) ont tenu un cabinet médical très achalandé à leur domicile de Dundas pendant plus de 50 ans. Don travaillait sans relâche, faisant preuve de dévouement et de compassion dans ses soins aux patients. »