Sign In

Building resilient medical communities

Health Practices podcast series

Recorded at the inaugural Canadian Conference on Physician Health, this six-podcast series offers insights from physicians at various career stages into how to build resilient medical communities and enjoy a fulfilling medical career.

Wellsprings of resilience

Guest: Dr. Richard Gunderman

Dr. Richard Gunderman, Indiana University professor of radiology, pediatrics, medical education, philosophy, liberal arts and philanthropy discusses Homer’s Odyssey, using the adventures of Odysseus to challenge our thinking about the medical journey and the search for the well-springs of resilience. Dr. Mamta Gautam and Dr. Gunderman talk about how physicians can create a profession to thrive in and whole heartedly encourage others to join.

Duration: 24:18 minSize: 24.7 MBPlay

The powerful message of resilience

Guest: Dr. Michael Kaufmann

How will the message of resilience being brought to the core of medical training and practice impact the culture of medicine? Dr. Michael Kaufmann, Director, Physician Health Program, at the Ontario Medical Association, speaks to Dr. Mamta Gautam about the incredible resilience demonstrated by physicians accessing OMA's physician health program, why resiliency means so much more than coping and managing stress, and why the message of resilience is so powerful.

Duration: 18:50 minutesSize: 19 MBPlay

Enhancing the resiliency of our future physicians

Guest: Dr. Susan Edwards

What needs to be done to enhance the resiliency of future physicians? How can we help our medical educators to enhance their own resiliency — as well as that of their students? Dr. Susan Edwards, Director of Resident Wellness at the Post Graduate Medical Education Office at the University of Toronto speaks to Dr. Mamta Gautam about her unique opportunity to work with residents and faculty, to understand their interactions and their resiliency.

Duration: 19:11 minutesSize: 19.5 MBPlay

The resilient medical student

Guest: Mr. Ali Okhowat

How do medical students cope? When there is so much pressure to avoid mistakes, how do they remain resilient? Ali Okhowat, a fourth-year University of Toronto medical student and the national wellness officer for the Canadian Federation of Medical Students, speaks to Dr. Mamta Gautam about how to find the right solutions and alleviate stress.

Duration: 11:48 minutesSize: 12 MBPlay

Residents and resiliency — staying the course

Guest: Dr. Jessica Guimond Hemmings

As medical trainees, as well as teachers and hospital employees, medical residents are under constant scrutiny. Dr. Jessica Guimond Hemmings is a fourth-year resident in radiation oncology at Dalhousie University with a longstanding interest in medical trainee health and wellness. She speaks to Dr. Mamta Gautam about how residency training can be really called "resiliency training," and how maintaining hope for the future helps her stay the course.

Duration: 10:06 minutesSize: 10.3 MBPlay

Defining resiliency — bouncing back

Guest: Dr. Sonja Boone

Dr. Sonja Boone, Director of Physician Health and Healthcare Disparities at the American Medical Association speaks to Dr. Mamta Gautam about how observing and understanding human nature – watching our patients and their loved ones be resilient in the face of adversity – can strengthen physician resiliency. Resiliency is having a sense of humility, knowing that we are human, and being able to bounce back after going through tough times.

Duration: 14:46 minutesSize: 15 MBPlay

Connexion

Bâtir des communautés médicales résilientes

Série de balados – Saines practiques(en anglais seulement)

Enregistrée à l’occasion de la première Conférence canadienne sur la santé des médecins, cette série de six balados présente les perspectives de médecins à diverses étapes de leur carrière sur la façon de bâtir des communautés médicales résilientes et de jouir d’une carrière médicale profondément satisfaisante.

«Wellsprings of resilience»

Invité: Dr Richard Gunderman

Le Dr Richard Gunderman, professeur de radiologie, de pédiatrie, d’éducation médicale, de philosophie, d’arts libéraux et de philanthropie à l’Université de l’Indiana se sert de l’Odyssée d’Homère et des aventures d’Ulysse pour remettre en question notre façon de voir le parcours en médecine et la quête de la « source de résilience ». La Dre Mamta Gautam et le Dr Gunderman discutent de la façon dont les médecins peuvent créer une profession dans laquelle ils peuvent s’épanouir et qu’ils auront à cœur de conseiller à d’autres.

Durée: 24:18 minutes Taille du fichier : 24.7 MBÉcouter

«The powerful message of resilience»

Invité: Dr Michael Kaufmann

Quel effet le message de résilience que l’on fait passer au cœur même de la formation médicale et de la pratique aura-t-il sur la culture de la médecine? Le Dr Michael Kaufmann, directeur du Programme de santé des médecins de l’Association médicale de l’Ontario (AMO), parle à la Dre Mamta Gautam de la résilience remarquable dont font preuve les médecins qui font appel au programme de santé des médecins de l’AMO, et indique pourquoi la résilience, c’est beaucoup plus que simplement s’adapter au stress et le gérer, et pourquoi le message de la résilience est si puissant.

Durée: 18:50 minutes Taille du fichier : 19 MBÉcouter

«Enhancing the resiliency of our future physicians»

Invitée: Dre Susan Edwards

Que faut-il faire pour améliorer la résilience des futurs médecins ? Comment pouvons-nous aider nos formateurs en médecine à améliorer leur propre résilience aussi bien que celle de leurs étudiants ? La Dre Susan Edwards, directrice du programme de mieux-être des médecins résidents au Bureau de la formation médicale postdoctorale de l’Université de Toronto, parle à la Dre Mamta Gautam de l’occasion unique qu’elle a de travailler auprès de médecins résidents et de membres du corps professoral et de comprendre leurs interactions et leur résilience.

Durée: 19:11 minutes Taille du fichier : 19.5 MBÉcouter

«The resilient medical student»

Invité: M. Ali Okhowat

Comment les étudiants en médecine tiennent-ils le coup ? Lorsqu’il y a tant de stress relié à la crainte de commettre une erreur, comment demeurent-ils résilients ? Ali Okhowat, étudiant en médecine de quatrième année à l’Université de Toronto et responsable national du mieux-être à la Fédération des étudiants en médecine du Canada, s’entretient avec la Dre Mamta Gautam au sujet de la façon de trouver les bonnes solutions et d’alléger le stress.

Durée: 11:48 minutesTaille du fichier : 12 MBÉcouter

«Residents and resiliency — staying the course»

Invitée: Dre Jessica Guimond Hemmings

Les médecins résidents sont à la fois étudiants, enseignants et employés d’hôpital et dans tous ces rôles ils et elles sont constamment sous les projecteurs. La Dre Jessica Guimond Hemmings, résidente de 4e année en radiologie oncologique à l’Université Dalhousie s’intéresse depuis longtemps à la santé et au bien-être des médecins en formation. Dans cet entretien avec la Dre Mamta Gautam, Jessica explique que la formation en résidence pourrait aussi bien être baptisée « formation en résilience » et elle parle de la façon dont garder foi en l’avenir l’aide à tenir bon.

Durée: 10:06 minutesTaille du fichier : 10.3 MBÉcouter

«Defining resiliency — bouncing back»

Invitée: Dre Sonja Boone

La Dre Sonja Boone, directrice d’un groupe de l’American Medical Association qui s’occupe de la santé des médecins, discute avec la Dre Mamta Gautam du fait qu’observer et comprendre la nature humaine – en observant nos patient et leurs proches faire preuve de résilience face à l’adversité – peut renforcer la résilience du médecin. La résilience est avant tout un sentiment d’humilité, une conscience de notre nature humaine et une capacité à nous relever après avoir traversé une période difficile.

Durée: 14:46 minutes Taille du fichier : 15 MBÉcouter