Sign In

​Building the CMA’s connection to members in 2019

​At the CMA, we know our members have a commitment to make the health care system better, and this commitment is what makes the CMA matter. Our members also have solutions: bold ideas for how to change the profession and patient care, to build a healthier Canada. In 2019, we’re going to directly to our members to hear these ideas and build connections.

We’re starting with a series of face-to-face meetings − our Regional Member Forums − which will take us to Halifax (Jan. 26), Montreal (Jan. 28), Edmonton (Feb. 2) and Ottawa (Feb. 4).

Over the past year, we’ve heard from our members about the pressing issues facing our profession – the challenge of maintaining their health and wellness, and the changes in the Canadian physician workforce. The member forums will be an opportunity to explore these issues and determine how the CMA can best use its advocacy and resources to make change. But the forums are also a chance to look to the future, to find out more about the challenges that may not be on our radar at the national level, but that are having an impact on your work regionally.

We’ll also be covering travel expenses to make it easier for individuals outside these cities to participate as well, part of our commitment to connect from members across the country. For members who can’t attend in-person, we’ll also be sharing the discussion questions online to make it easy for you to share your opinions and ideas with us. In fact, in the winter of 2019, we’ll be launching a new, online community engagement platform to provide a way for members to connect with the CMA – and with each other – year-round.

This new platform will host the five communities of interest we’re sponsoring through our grant program – on Indigenous health, equity in medicine, substance use, medical assistance in dying, and medical care for vulnerable populations. But it will also allow members to create, build or join a discussion community of their own, on the topics they’re most passionate about.

Our members’ voices and input matter, and we look forward to engaging with you in new and different ways to build an even stronger CMA.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

​Créer des liens entre l’AMC et ses membres en 2019

À l’AMC, nous savons que nos membres ont pris l’engagement d’améliorer le système de santé, et que cet engagement justifie l’importance de l’Association. Nous savons également que nos membres ont des solutions : des idées audacieuses de changements à apporter à la profession et aux soins aux patients pour faire du Canada un pays en meilleure santé. En 2019, nous allons créer des liens avec nos membres et recueillir directement leurs idées.

Nous commencerons par une série de rencontres en personne – les Forums régionaux des membres – qui auront lieu à Halifax (26 janvier), Montréal (28 janvier), Edmonton (2 février) et Ottawa (4 février).

Au cours de la dernière année, nos membres nous ont parlé des enjeux pressants de notre profession, soit la difficulté à préserver sa santé et son bien-être, et les changements au sein des effectifs médicaux canadiens. Les forums des membres permettront d’étudier ces enjeux et de déterminer comment l’AMC peut optimalement mettre à profit ses activités de représentation et ses ressources pour opérer des changements. Les forums donneront aussi l’occasion de se tourner vers l’avenir et d’en savoir plus sur les défis qui passent inaperçus nationalement, mais qui exercent une influence sur le travail dans une région.

Conformément à notre engagement à relier les membres de partout au pays, nous allons couvrir les frais de déplacement vers les forums pour faciliter la participation des gens qui habitent hors des quatre villes susmentionnées. Nous publierons également les questions de discussion en ligne pour que les membres qui ne peuvent pas assister aux rencontres puissent tout de même exprimer leurs opinions et leurs idées. À ce sujet, nous lancerons à l’hiver 2019 une plateforme en ligne de mobilisation de la communauté pour aider les membres à communiquer avec l’AMC – et les uns avec les autres – en tout temps.

Cette nouvelle plateforme accueillera les cinq communautés d’intérêts que nous parrainons avec notre programme de subventions, qui portent sur la santé des Autochtones, l’équité en médecine, l’usage de substances, l’aide médicale à mourir et les soins médicaux aux populations vulnérables. De plus, elle permettra aux membres de discuter des sujets qui les intéressent le plus en créant des communautés de discussion et en se joignant à des communautés existantes.

La voix et la participation de nos membres comptent; nous sommes impatients de travailler différemment avec vous à bâtir une AMC encore plus forte.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.