Sign In

Frequently asked questions

The business side of medicine
  1. I am paying approximately 30% overhead on my practice. Is this normal?
  2. How much revenue should I be generating in my practice?
  3. What do I need to consider when hiring staff?
  4. Should I require new employees to sign an employment contract before they join my practice team?
  5. What is the optimal physician-to-employee ratio in a typical practice?
  6. Do I need a physicians’ or associates’ agreement for my group practice?

  1. I am paying approximately 30% overhead on my practice. Is this normal?

    Most family practices, as well as the vast majority of specialty practices, have overhead rates between 25% and 40%. However, rates vary significantly depending on the type and location of the practice, and can go from less than 10% to 70%. Typically, staffing and occupancy costs are the two largest expenses and normally account for the overhead variances among practices.


  2. How much revenue should I be generating in my practice?

    Most provincial health ministries, departments and medical associations have useful data on fees paid to all groups of physicians and surgeons that can help you answer this question.


  3. What do I need to consider when hiring staff?

    Our PMC module 14 on staffing and human resources issues will help you develop the skills to manage your office staff. It will also provide you with a greater appreciation of the challenges you face as an employer.


  4. Should I require new employees to sign an employment contract before they join my practice team?

    Yes. It is extremely important to outline the responsibilities of each party in a formal employment contract. We also recommend that this contract is drafted or reviewed by your lawyer. Some of the common clauses we recommend include:

    • start date
    • hours of work
    • rate of pay
    • fringe benefits
    • probationary period
    • confidentiality policy
    • required notice by either party, the employee or you, to terminate the employment contract. (Note: If you wish you terminate employment, the period cannot be less than the period prescribed by employment or labour standards legislation in your province or territory.)

  5. What is the optimal physician-to-employee ratio in a typical practice?

    There are numerous factors that must be considered, such as:

    • type of practice (an anesthesiologist may have very little or no need for support staff, whereas a large radiology practice with a significant non-hospital practice may have up to five support staff for each radiologist)
    • services outsourced (typing, billing, IT support)
    • services or tasks delegated by the physician may require an RN or LPN

  6. Do I need a physicians’ or associates’ agreement for my group practice?

    Yes. Entering into a business relationship of any type should always be accompanied by a formal, written contract, which has been vetted with legal counsel. The contract should include cost-sharing arrangements and "what if" scenarios.

Connexion

Foire aux questions

L’aspect commercial de la médecine
  1. Je paie des frais généraux d’environ 30 % pour mon cabinet. Est ce normal?
  2. Combien de revenus doit générer mon cabinet?
  3. De quoi dois je tenir compte lorsque j’embauche du personnel?
  4. Dois je obliger les nouveaux employés à signer un contrat d’emploi avant qu’ils se joignent à l’équipe de mon cabinet?
  5. Quel est le ratio optimal médecin:employés dans un cabinet type?
  6. Ai je besoin d’une entente entre médecins ou associés pour ma pratique collective?

  1. Je paie des frais généraux d’environ 30 % pour mon cabinet. Est ce normal?

    Dans la plupart des cabinets de médecine familiale, ainsi que la grande majorité des cabinets spécialisés, les frais généraux sont de l’ordre de 25 % à 40 %. Les taux varient toutefois considérablement en fonction du type du cabinet et de l’endroit où il se trouve. Ils peuvent varier de moins de 10 % jusqu’à 70 %. Habituellement, les coûts de dotation et d'occupation sont les deux charges les plus importantes qui expliquent normalement les variations des frais généraux entre les cabinets.


  2. Combien de revenus doit générer mon cabinet?

    La plupart des ministères et des associations médicales des provinces ont des données utiles sur les frais payés à tous les groupes de médecins et chirurgiens qui peuvent vous aider à répondre à cette question.


  3. De quoi dois je tenir compte lorsque j’embauche du personnel?

    Notre module 14 du PEGM Dotation en personnel et ressources humaines vous aidera à acquérir les connaissances techniques nécessaires pour gérer le personnel de votre cabinet. Il vous permettra aussi de comprendre davantage les défis que vous devez relever comme employeur.


  4. Dois je obliger les nouveaux employés à signer un contrat d’emploi avant qu’ils se joignent à l’équipe de mon cabinet?

    Oui, il est extrêmement important de décrire les responsabilités de chaque partie dans un contrat d’emploi officiel. Nous recommandons aussi que votre avocat rédige ou revoie le contrat. Nous recommandons les dispositions courantes suivantes, notamment :

    • date d’entrée en vigueur
    • heures de travail
    • taux de rémunération
    • avantages sociaux
    • période de probation
    • politique sur la confidentialité
    • avis requis par l'une ou l'autre partie, soit l'employé ou vous, pour mettre fin au contrat d'emploi. (Nota : si vous voulez mettre fin à l’emploi, la période ne peut être inférieure à celle que prescrit la loi sur les normes d’emploi ou de travail de votre province ou territoire.)

  5. Quel est le ratio optimal médecin:employés dans un cabinet type?

    Il y a de nombreux facteurs dont il faut tenir compte, comme les suivants :

    • type de cabinet (il se peut qu’un anesthésiologiste ait très peu ou pas du tout de personnel de soutien, tandis qu’un gros cabinet de radiologie qui a une importante clientèle non hospitalière peut avoir jusqu'à cinq employés de soutien par radiologiste);
    • services impartis (dactylographie, facturation, soutien TI);
    • il se peut que les tâches ou les services délégués par le médecin exigent une IA ou une IAA.

  6. Ai je besoin d’une entente entre médecins ou associés pour ma pratique collective?

    Oui. Il faut toujours officialiser toute relation d’affaires de quelque nature que ce soit au moyen d’un contrat écrit officiel qui a été approuvé par un avocat. Le contrat doit inclure une entente sur le partage des coûts et des scénarios « hypothétiques ».