Sign In

Canadian Red Cross seeks medical professionals to join the fight against Ebola

The Canadian Red Cross is seeking qualified applicants – including Canadian physicians – to join the fight against Ebola as part of the coordinated response to the outbreak in West Africa.

The profiles that the agency is currently seeking to recruit include medical doctor, ward nurse, psychosocial support delegate and water and sanitation delegate.

The Canadian Red Cross requires assistance in several areas, including community outreach, contact tracing, surveillance, management of the deceased and case management. Physicians with at least three years’ direct patient experience (post-residency) are being sought for the case management function.

Selected applicants who meet the health and professional standards established by the Canadian Red Cross will be deployed to a Red Cross Ebola Treatment Centre in West Africa between mid-November 2014 and April 2015.

Prior to deployment, the Red Cross will provide the qualified individuals with mission-specific training including an extensive practical course on Ebola and related safety procedures. All deploying personnel who are new to the Red Cross will also receive organization-specific training.

Physicians and clinical officers will be responsible for the clinical care and management of Ebola patients. They must be present when a new patient arrives and ensure that appropriate protocols are respected, as well as providing clinical care for suspected and confirmed Ebola patients. The physician will work as part of a team of international and national nurses and medical doctors.

Each mission will initially be limited to four weeks due to the hardship of having to work under heavy personal protective equipment. Upon return to Canada, contracts will be extended for an additional three-week rest period after deployment. Instructions will be provided following deployment on how to self-monitor. The Red Cross notes that while this is not a quarantine period, the individual is expected during this time to be a minimum four hours’ drive from a certified Canadian medical facility. During the rest period individuals are expected to not return to their place of work.

Anyone who deploys as part of this initiative will be placed on contract with the Red Cross, receiving pay and benefits.

For more information about this work and how to apply click here.

The Public Health Agency of Canada has produced guidance on what Canadian health care professionals need to know about Ebola.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La Croix-Rouge canadienne recherche des professionnels de la santé prêts à se joindre à la lutte contre l’Ebola

La Croix-Rouge canadienne recherche des candidats qualifiés – dont des médecins canadiens – prêts à se joindre à la lutte contre l’Ebola dans le cadre de la réponse coordonnée à l’éclosion de cette maladie en Afrique de l’Ouest.

Les professionnels actuellement recherchés sont des médecins, des infirmiers, des délégués en soutien psychosocial et des délégués en approvisionnement en eau et assainissement.

La Croix-Rouge canadienne a besoin d’aide sur divers fronts, notamment la liaison communautaire, la recherche des contacts, la surveillance des cas de contamination, la gestion des dépouilles mortelles et la prise en charge des cas. Des médecins ayant au moins trois années d’expérience directe avec des patients (postrésidence) sont recherchés pour la prise en charge des cas.

Les candidats retenus qui répondent aux normes sanitaires et professionnelles de la Croix-Rouge canadienne seront envoyés dans un centre de traitement du virus Ebola de la Croix-Rouge en Afrique de l’Ouest entre la mi-novembre 2014 et avril 2015.

Avant le déploiement, la Croix-Rouge offrira une formation propre à la mission, notamment un cours pratique approfondi sur l’Ebola et les procédures de sécurité connexes. Tout le personnel nouveau à la Croix-Rouge recevra également une formation sur l’organisation.

Les médecins et le personnel soignant sont responsables de la prestation de soins cliniques et de la gestion des patients. Ils doivent être présents quand un nouveau patient arrive, veiller au respect des protocoles appropriés, et prodiguer des soins cliniques aux personnes qui sont atteintes ou que l’on croit atteintes de l’Ebola. Les médecins travaillent au sein d’une équipe de médecins et d’infirmiers internationaux et nationaux.

Chaque mission sera initialement limitée à quatre semaines à l’étranger en raison de la difficulté posée par le fait de travailler avec un lourd équipement de protection personnelle. Au retour au Canada, les contrats seront prolongés pendant une période de trois semaines de repos. Après le déploiement, des instructions sur la façon d’exercer une autosurveillance seront fournies. La Croix-Rouge tient à préciser que bien que ça ne soit pas une période de quarantaine, elle s’attend à ce que les personnes visées se trouvent à pas plus de quatre heures de route d’un centre médical canadien reconnu. Pendant la période de repos, les personnes visées ne doivent pas retourner au travail.

Toute personne déployée dans le cadre de cette initiative aura un contrat avec la Croix-Rouge et touchera un salaire et des avantages sociaux.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur ces postes et postuler, cliquez ici.

L’Agence de la santé publique du Canada a publié des lignes directrices sur ce que les professionnels de la santé du Canada doivent savoir au sujet du virus Ebola.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.