Sign In

Canadian self-employed professionals at risk with proposed tax reform

​Ottawa, July 21, 2017 – The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) and its 85,000 physician members are closely examining tax changes proposed by the federal Department of Finance. Self-employed professionals are at risk when governments change the tax rules without comprehensive measures to alleviate the impact.

The vast majority of physicians in Canada operate as self-employed professionals, managing expenses and overhead. They also do not benefit from health benefits, pension plans, or other benefits afforded to salaried individuals. The proposed tax reform will have serious ramifications for physicians, like all independent professionals. 

Given the importance of the proposed reforms to physicians whose practice is structured as a private corporation, the CMA is working with taxation experts to review and assess in detail the consultation document issued by the Department of Finance. 

The CMA will present a comprehensive brief to the federal government outlining the serious and unfair implications of the changes. This brief will also underscore the importance of tax planning for independent professionals, such as physicians. 

Dr. Granger Avery,
CMA President

Connexion

Les professionnels autonomes canadiens risquent d'être touchés par la réforme fiscale proposée

​Ottawa, le 21 juillet 2017 – L'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) et ses 85 000 médecins membres scrutent de près les modifications fiscales proposées par le ministère fédéral des Finances. En effet, les professionnels autonomes risquent d'être touchés négativement chaque fois que le gouvernement modifie les règles fiscales sans prévoir de mesures complètes pour en atténuer les répercussions.

En grande majorité, les médecins du Canada sont des professionnels autonomes, gérant leurs dépenses et leurs frais généraux. Ils n'ont pas d'assurance maladie, de régime de retraite ou d'autres avantages sociaux comme ceux dont bénéficient les employés salariés. La réforme fiscale proposée aura de sérieuses ramifications pour les médecins, comme pour tous les autres professionnels autonomes. 

Étant donné l'importance des réformes proposées pour les médecins dont la pratique est constituée en société privée, l'AMC travaille avec des experts en fiscalité à étudier et évaluer méticuleusement le document de consultation produit par le ministère des Finances. 

L'AMC présentera un mémoire détaillé au gouvernement fédéral pour souligner les répercussions graves et injustes des changements. Ce mémoire insistera aussi sur l'importance de la planification fiscale pour les professionnels autonomes tels les médecins.

Le président de l'AMC,
Granger R. Avery, M.B., B.Sc., FRRMS