Sign In

Care of the Elderly

*This course is available to CMA members only.

Course registration Become a CMA member*


Abstract

As every physician knows from their clinical work, the number of older Canadians is increasing. The number of people over 85 is the fastest growing demographic in Canada and this is having an impact on all fields of medicine. Primary care and family medicine play an enormous role in caring for seniors but managing frail patients can be challenging given complexity of care, time constraints, and limitations of resources. The impact of dementia, multiple co-morbidities and polypharmacy mean that family physicians must be skilled and knowledgeable clinicians, excellent managers of time and resources, and have lots of patience!

These clinical cases will cover a range of topics commonly experienced when caring for elderly patients and will provide a practical approach to managing: falls, multiple medications, cognitive changes, and weight loss. These are all problems that family physicians deal with each week if not daily. The impact of excellent care with these “geriatric giants” includes improved quality of life, delayed placement, hospital avoidance and cost savings. Managing these issues well is also satisfying and rewarding for the family physician and of vital importance to the older person and their families. Without excellent family medicine care of the geriatric patient, the impact of the ageing population on our healthcare system and society will be even greater.

Subject Matter Experts

Christopher Frank, MD, CCFP, FCFP Clinical Leader, Specialized Geriatric Services, Providence Care, Kingston, ON Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Queens University

Michelle Gibson, MD, MEd, CCFP Director, Student Assessment, Undergraduate Medical Education, Queen’s University Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Queen’s University

Frank Molnar, MSc, MDCM, FRCPC Medical Director - Regional Geriatric Program of Eastern Ontario Associate Professor - University of Ottawa

Course Duration

2.0 hours

Learning Objectives

After completing this online learning module, you will be able to:

  • List at least 5 of the most common causes/contributing factors related to weight loss in the elderly and list initial investigations;
  • Describe behaviours/presentations suggestive of cognitive impairment and describe the evaluation to distinguish between depression, delirium, and dementia;
  • Demonstrate the ability to review a medication list and identify medications contributing to functional and cognitive decline and other iatrogenic illnesses commonly seen in older patients (including falls, urinary incontinence, weight loss);
  • Describe an approach to falls that incorporates management of co-morbid conditions and multiple medications; and
  • Identify and list risk issues existing for an older person living at home (including falls, malnutrition, driving, medication adverse events, non-adherence, and elder abuse.)

This continuing professional development (CPD) program has been designed to consider the CanMEDS Physician Competency Framework, including the roles of: Medical Expert, Communicator, Collaborator, Health Advocate, Manager, Scholar and Professional.

Accreditation

  • MainPro M1 – 2.0 credits
    This educational Program meets the accreditation criteria of the College of Family Physicians of Canada and has been accredited by Professional Development & Conferencing Services, Memorial University for up to 2.0 Mainpro-M1 credits.
    Expiry date: December 15, 2015
  • Maintenance of Certification (Section 1) – 2.0 credits
    This educational Program is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1), as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and approved by Professional Development & Conferencing Services, Memorial University.
    Expiry date: December 15, 2015

Acknowledgements

Funds in support of this CPD activity were provided as an educational grant to Memorial University and independently allocated and disbursed in accordance with current CMA guidelines. Funds in support of this program were provided by the Canadian Medical Association.

Course registration Become a CMA member*


*This course is available to CMA members only.

Connexion

Soins aux aînés

[Ce cours est disponible en anglais seulement]

*Ce cours est réservé aux membres de l'AMC.

Inscription à un cours Devenez membre de l'AMC*


Résumé

Comme le sait chaque médecin en raison de son expérience clinique, le nombre de Canadiens âgés est à la hausse. Le groupe des plus de 85 ans affiche la plus forte croissance démographique au Canada et l’impact de ce changement se fait sentir dans toutes les sphères de la médecine. Les médecins qui œuvrent en soins primaires et en médecine familiale jouent un rôle crucial dans la prestation des soins aux aînés, mais il peut être difficile de prendre en charge des patients frêles étant donné la complexité des soins, les contraintes de temps et les ressources limitées. Les répercussions de la démence, des multiples comorbidités et de la polymédication exigent des médecins de famille qu’ils soient des cliniciens qualifiés et compétents et d'excellents gestionnaires de temps et de ressources, et qu’ils aient beaucoup de patience!

Les cas cliniques porteront sur divers sujets qui se présentent couramment lors de la prestation de soins aux patients âgés. Ils proposeront une approche pratique pour la prise en charge des chutes, de la polymédication, des changements cognitifs et de la perte de poids. Ce sont tous là des problèmes auxquels les médecins de famille doivent faire face toutes les semaines, sinon tous les jours. Les répercussions de l’excellence des soins dispensés à ces personnes qui ont besoin de « gériatrie intensive » sont notamment une meilleure qualité de vie, le report du placement en établissement, l'évitement de l’hospitalisation et des économies de coûts. Bien gérer les problèmes procure aussi une grande satisfaction aux médecins de famille et est d'une importance vitale pour les aînés et leurs familles. Si les patients gériatriques ne reçoivent pas d'excellents soins en médecine familiale, le vieillissement de la population aura une incidence encore plus grande sur notre système de santé et sur la société.

Spécialistes de la matière

Christopher Frank, MD, CCFP, FCFP
Chef de clinique, Services gériatriques spécialisés, Providence Care, Kingston (Ont.); professeur agrégé, Département de médecine, Université Queen’s

Michelle Gibson, MD, MEd, CCFP
Directrice, Évaluation des étudiants, Formation médicale de premier cycle, et professeure adjointe, Département de médecine, Université Queen’s

Frank Molnar, MSc, MDCM, FRCPC
Directeur médical, Programme gériatrique régional de l'Est de l'Ontario, et professeur agrégé, Université d'Ottawa

Durée du cours

2,0 heures

Objectifs d’apprentissage

Après avoir terminé ce cours, l’apprenant saura :

  • dresser la liste d'au moins cinq des causes et facteurs les plus courants liés à la perte de poids chez les aînés et dresser la liste des premiers examens à effectuer;
  • décrire les comportements et les symptômes suggestifs d'un trouble cognitif et décrire les examens à réaliser pour faire la distinction entre la dépression, le délire et la démence;
  • analyser une liste de médicaments et reconnaître les médicaments qui contribuent à la perte fonctionnelle et au déclin cognitif et autres maladies iatrogènes fréquemment observées chez les aînés (y compris les chutes, l'incontinence urinaire, la perte de poids);
  • décrire une approche de prévention des chutes qui intègre la prise en charge des comorbidités et de la polymédication;
  • reconnaître et énumérer les risques existants pour une personne âgée vivant à domicile (y compris les chutes, la malnutrition, la conduite automobile, les effets indésirables de médicaments, la non-observance du traitement et la maltraitance).

Ce programme de développement professionnel continu tient compte du cadre des compétences des médecins CanMEDS, y compris des rôles d’expert médical, de communicateur, de collaborateur, de promoteur de la santé, de gestionnaire, d’érudit et de professionnel.

Agrément

  • MainPro M1 – 2,0 crédits
    Ce programme de formation répond aux critères d’agrément du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et a été agréé par les Services de développement professionnel et de conférences de l'Université Memorial pour un maximum de 2,0 crédits Mainpro-M1.
    Date limite : le 15 décembre 2015
  • Maintien du certificat (Section 1) – 2,0 crédits
    Ce programme de formation constitue une activité agréée d’apprentissage collectif (Section 1) au sens du Programme de maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada (CRMCC), et a reçu l’approbation des Services de développement professionnel et de conférences de l'Université Memorial.
    Date limite : le 15 novembre 2015

Remerciements

Le financement de cette activité de DPC provient d’une subvention d’éducation versée à l'Université Memorial. Les fonds ont été attribués et décaissés indépendamment conformément aux lignes directrices actuelles de l'AMC. Le financement du programme provient de l'Association médicale canadienne.

Inscription à un cours Devenez membre de l'AMC*


*Ce cours est réservé aux membres de l'AMC.