Sign In

Choosing Wisely Canada targets more overused tests, treatments

Forty-nine new recommendations from 10 medical specialty societies have been released as part of the burgeoning Choosing Wisely Canada (CWC) campaign to encourage better communications between patients and physicians and avoid potentially unnecessary tests and treatments.

Two of the featured recommendations deal with avoiding computerized tomography (CT) scans for mild head injury and avoiding the use of psychostimulants for preschool children with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).

The release of these new recommendations brings the total to more than 150 CWC recommendations available to patients and physicians. Among that total are recommendations from 29 participating Canadian medical specialties.

“The recommendations released today target overused and unnecessary tests and treatments that physicians and patients should avoid in these circumstances,” said Dr. Wendy Levinson, chair of CWC. “Avoiding these tests and treatments when they are not needed will improve care and prevent possible side-effects.”

Canadian Medical Association President Chris Simpson noted: “The physician-patient relationship is based on communication, trust and the sharing of information to ensure the highest quality of care, and Choosing Wisely Canada is a critical tool for both sides of the examination table.”

The CWC recommendation concerning CT scans was developed by the Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians (CAEP) and recognizes that most adults and children with minor head injuries do not suffer from serious brain injuries requiring hospitalization or surgery. It was announced, with the others, at the recent CAEP annual conference in Edmonton.

Avoiding psychostimulants as the initial treatment for preschool children with ADHD recognizes the need to first assess children for environmental stressors such as neglect, abuse or exposure to domestic violence. The recommendation was developed through the collaborative effort of the Canadian Psychiatric Association, Canadian Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and the Canadian Academy of Geriatric Psychiatry.

Specialty associations releasing new recommendations included:

  • Canadian Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
  • Canadian Academy of Geriatric Psychiatry
  • Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians
  • Canadian Association of Nuclear Medicine
  • Canadian Association of Paediatric Surgeons
  • Canadian Psychiatric Association
  • Canadian Society for Transfusion Medicine (releasing five additional items)
  • Canadian Society for Vascular Surgery
  • Canadian Society of Hospital Medicine
  • Canadian Spine Society

The CMA is a lead partner in CWC, which focuses on linking best available medical evidence to both physicians and their patients and uses plain language and patient-friendly materials in its lists and resources.

Just prior to the release of the new recommendations, the New Brunswick Medical Society became the most recent provincial medical association to publicly announce its support for the CWC initiative, with a series of advertisements promoting the program.

The program – and the U.S. Choosing Wisely campaign upon which it is based – have been praised for succeeding in initiating conversations about eliminating low-value health care, most recently in a commentary published in the journal JAMA Internal Medicine.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

De nouveaux examens et traitements surutilisés dans la mire de Choisir avec soin

Quarante-neuf nouvelles recommandations émises par 10 sociétés de spécialité médicale ont été publiées dans le cadre de la campagne en plein essor Choisir avec soin afin de favoriser une meilleure communication entre les patients et les médecins et d’éviter ainsi des examens et des traitements qui pourraient être inutiles.

L’une des recommandations présentées porte sur l’inutilité des tomodensitométries pour un traumatisme crânien mineur, tandis qu’une autre traite de la nécessité d’éviter l’usage de psychostimulants chez les enfants d’âge préscolaire atteints de TDAH.

Avec cet ajout, Choisir avec soin offre maintenant plus de 150 recommandations aux patients et aux médecins. En tout, 29 spécialités médicales canadiennes ont participé à l’élaboration de recommandations.

« Les recommandations publiées aujourd’hui portent sur des examens, des traitements et des interventions qui ne sont pas nécessaires, dont on fait un usage abusif et que les médecins et les patients devraient éviter dans ces situations », a expliqué la Dre Wendy Levinson, présidente de Choisir avec soin. « En évitant ces examens et ces traitements quand ils ne sont pas nécessaires, on améliore les soins et on évite des effets secondaires potentiels. »

« La relation médecin-patient repose sur la communication, la confiance et le partage d’information pour assurer des soins de la meilleure qualité », a souligné Chris Simpson, président de l’Association médicale canadienne. « Le programme Choisir avec soin est un outil précieux tant pour le patient que pour le médecin. »

La recommandation au sujet des tomodensitométries, formulée par l’Association canadienne des médecins d’urgence (ACMU), reconnaît que la plupart des adultes et des enfants ayant subi un traumatisme crânien mineur ne sont pas atteints de lésions cérébrales graves nécessitant une hospitalisation ou une chirurgie. Cette recommandation a été rendue publique en même temps que les autres à l’occasion de la récente conférence annuelle de l’ACMU à Edmonton.

La recommandation concernant la nécessité d’éviter les psychostimulants comme traitement de première intention pour les enfants d’âge préscolaire atteints de TDAH reconnaît le besoin de commencer par soumettre ces enfants à une évaluation visant à détecter la présence d’autres facteurs de stress environnementaux comme la négligence, les mauvais traitements ou l’exposition à la violence familiale. Cette recommandation est le fruit d’un effort concerté de l’Association des psychiatres du Canada, de l’Académie canadienne de psychiatrie de l’enfant et de l’adolescent et de l’Académie canadienne de gérontopsychiatrie.

Les sociétés de spécialité qui ont publié les nouvelles recommandations sont les suivantes :

  • Académie canadienne de gérontopsychiatrie
  • Académie canadienne de psychiatrie de l’enfant et de l’adolescent
  • Association canadienne de chirurgie pédiatrique
  • Association canadienne de médecine nucléaire
  • Association canadienne des médecins d’urgence
  • Association des psychiatres du Canada
  • Société canadienne de chirurgie vasculaire
  • Société canadienne de médecine d’hôpital
  • Société canadienne de médecine transfusionnelle (publication de cinq recommandations supplémentaires)
  • Société canadienne du rachis

L’AMC est un partenaire de premier plan de la campagne Choisir avec soin, qui vise à mettre les meilleures preuves médicales à la disposition des médecins et des patients en utilisant un langage simple et du matériel d’information adapté aux patients dans les listes et les ressources offertes.

Juste avant la publication des nouvelles recommandations, la Société médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick a annoncé publiquement son soutien à l’initiative Choisir avec soin en diffusant une série de messages promotionnels, devenant ainsi la plus récente association médicale provinciale à adhérer au programme.

Le programme, de même que la campagne américaine Choosing Wisely sur laquelle il se base, s’est attiré bien des éloges, encore récemment dans un commentaire publié dans le journal JAMA Internal Medicine, puisqu’il est à l’origine d’un dialogue sur la nécessité d’éliminer les pratiques médicales de faible valeur.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.