Sign In

Choosing Wisely – for credit

Physicians can now take an accredited course to learn the fundamentals about the Choosing Wisely campaign, which encourages more appropriate use of medical services and more informed communication between doctors and patients.

Choosing Wisely Canada (CWC) has also launched a mobile application that allows access to 102 recommendations and associated patient pamphlets developed to date. All of the information on the bilingual app is searchable, current and organized by keyword. The mobile app is available on Android.

“Confronting unnecessary care: Choosing Wisely Canada” is the one-hour course offered through MDcme.ca and funded by an unrestricted educational grant from the Canadian Medical Association (CMA). The course was prepared by Dr. Sam Shortt, director of quality initiatives at the CMA and vice-chair of CWC.

The course module reviews the issue of unnecessary care in Canada and describes the resources available through CWC to encourage physicians and patients to have evidence-based discussions about the necessity of medical tests and treatments, with the aim of eliminating unnecessary care.

“This course will help physicians recognize the extent of unnecessary care for individual patients and the health care system, and the potential harms resulting from such care,” said Shortt.

“The approach used … interprets unnecessary care as a quality issue and acknowledges that physicians have the ultimate responsibility for dealing with this issue.”

Shortt said that upon completion of the course, physicians will be able to reflect on whether they provide unnecessary care in their own practices, and to apply guidance provided by Choosing Wisely Canada across a wide variety of specialties.

The course is accredited for up to 1.0 MAINPRO-M1 credit from the College of Family Physicians of Canada and up to 1.0 Section 1 credit under the Maintenance of Certification program from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

This year, several more Canadian specialty organizations will be releasing recommendations as part of the CWC campaign.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Choisir avec soin – et obtenir des crédits

Les médecins peuvent maintenant suivre un cours agréé afin d’apprendre les rudiments de la campagne Choisir avec soin, qui encourage une utilisation plus appropriée des services médicaux et une meilleure communication entre les médecins et les patients.

Choisir avec soin a également lancé une application mobile qui permet d’avoir accès aux 102 recommandations formulées jusqu’à présent, ainsi qu’aux dépliants connexes pour les patients. Toute l’information est bilingue, consultable, à jour et organisée par mots clés. L’appli mobile fonctionne sur Android.

Confronting unnecessary care: Choosing Wisely Canada est un cours d’une heure offert sur le site MDcme.ca et est financé par une subvention à l’éducation sans restriction de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC). Le cours a été conçu par le Dr Sam Shortt, directeur des initiatives sur la qualité à l’AMC et vice-président de Choisir avec soin.

Le cours porte sur les enjeux liés aux soins inutiles au Canada et décrit les ressources offertes par Choisir avec soin afin d’encourager les médecins et les patients à ouvrir un dialogue factuel au sujet de la nécessité de certains examens et traitements dans le but d’éliminer les soins dont les patients n’ont pas besoin.

« Ce cours aidera les médecins à reconnaître l’ampleur des soins inutiles pour les patients dans le système de santé, et les risques que peuvent poser ces soins », a dit le Dr Shortt.

« L’approche utilisée […] considère les soins inutiles comme un enjeu lié à la qualité et reconnaît qu’il revient aux médecins de s’attaquer à ce problème. »

Selon le Dr Shortt, après avoir suivi le cours, les médecins pourront savoir s’ils prodiguent des soins inutiles dans leur pratique, et sauront appliquer les directives de Choisir avec soin à une grande variété de spécialités.

Le cours donne droit à un maximum de 1,0 crédit Mainpro M1 du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et à un maximum de 1,0 crédit de Maintien du certificat (Section 1) du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada.

Cette année, plusieurs autres sociétés de spécialité canadiennes vont formuler des recommandations dans le cadre de la campagne Choisir avec soin.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.