Sign In

CMA advocacy on improving patient safety related to prescription medication

The CMA is working with governments and other stakeholders to inform the implementation of new federal legislation known as Vanessa’s Law. Vanessa’s Law was passed in November 2014 and brought into effect significant changes to the Food and Drug Act.

Vanessa’s Law establishes new powers for Health Canada to better address patient safety related to pharmaceuticals and medical devices. It is the most significant change to this legislative framework in over 50 years. Under Vanessa’s Law, some of the new authorities include the ability for the Minister of Health to:

  • recall unsafe therapeutic products;
  • require companies to modify or replace labels or packaging;
  • require companies to provide information, undertake new tests and studies, and conduct product assessments if there is a concern that a product constitutes a serious risk to health; and,
  • impose higher penalties for lack of compliance.

In keeping with the CMA’s priority that Canadians have access to medically necessary drugs that are safe, effective, affordable and appropriately prescribed, the CMA has actively engaged in Health Canada consultations on the new regulations and guidelines needed to implement Vanessa’s Law.

Vanessa’s Law also establishes a new requirement for health care institutions to report serious adverse drug reactions (ADRs) and medical device incidents to federal authorities. Presently, reporting by health care professionals is voluntary.

Along with other professional and health care groups as well as provincial and territorial health officials, the CMA has raised its concerns about the burden of reporting for health care professionals and institutions under the forthcoming regulations. As such, the CMA is strongly supporting increased investment by Health Canada to improve its reporting tools, response capabilities and the timeliness and quality of information provided to physicians and patients.

To ensure these new regulations are designed to improve the overall surveillance system, the CMA is recommending that the requirement to report serious ADRs be limited to patients admitted to hospital for at least 24 hours. This stipulation would capture most serious ADRs and situate reporting within institutions with better diagnostic and reporting capacity, the CMA noted.

Exceptions to this would include situations where a death attributed to an ADR or medical device incident occurred out of hospital.

To improve the existing surveillance system, the CMA also recommends:

  • Making the reporting system user-friendly and easy to incorporate into a practitioner’s schedule;
  • Incorporating the reporting process into the Electronic Health Record system;
  • Augmenting ADR reports with other information gathered through such means as formal post-market studies of specific drugs or “sentinel” groups of health care professionals contracted to report ADRs in depth.

The CMA will continue to be involved as Health Canada’s consultation with governments and stakeholders progresses.

***

Related CMA briefs:

CMA’s Response to Health Canada’s Consultation Questions. Regulatory Framework for the Mandatory Reporting of Adverse Drug Reactions and Medical Device Incidents by Provincial and Territorial Healthcare Institutions (January 2016)

CMA's Response to Health Canada's Public Consultation Guide to New Authorities in reference to Bill C-17, Protecting Canadians from Unsafe Drugs Act (Vanessa's Law) (August 2015)

Bill C-17 An Act to amend the Food and Drugs Act - Protecting Canadians from Unsafe Drugs. Submitted to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Health (June 2014)

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Représentation de l’AMC – Amélioration de l’innocuité des médicaments sur ordonnance pour les patients

L’AMC travaille avec les gouvernements et d’autres intervenants pour faire valoir son point de vue concernant l’application de la nouvelle loi fédérale connue sous le nom de Loi de Vanessa. Sanctionnée en novembre 2014, cette loi modifie de façon importante la Loi sur les aliments et drogues.

La Loi de Vanessa confère à Santé Canada de nouveaux pouvoirs qui l’aideront à mieux assurer l’innocuité des médicaments et la sécurité des instruments médicaux pour les patients, ce qui constitue le plus grand changement apporté à ce cadre législatif depuis plus de 50 ans. Ainsi, le ministre de la Santé aura notamment le pouvoir :

  • d’ordonner le rappel de produits thérapeutiques dangereux;
  • d’exiger la modification ou le remplacement d’étiquettes et d’emballages;
  • d’exiger la divulgation de renseignements, la conduite d’essais et d’études supplémentaires et la réalisation d’évaluations des produits pouvant présenter un risque grave de préjudice à la santé;
  • d’imposer des sanctions plus sévères en cas de non-conformité.

Puisque l’accès des Canadiens à des médicaments sur ordonnance à la fois sécuritaires, efficaces, abordables et appropriés fait partie de ses priorités, l’AMC a activement participé aux consultations de Santé Canada sur la nouvelle réglementation et les lignes directrices nécessaires à l’application de la Loi.

De plus, la Loi de Vanessa prévoit l’imposition d’une nouvelle exigence : les établissements de soins de santé doivent signaler aux autorités fédérales toute réaction indésirable grave à une drogue et tout incident lié à un instrument médical. Pour le moment, la déclaration est facultative.

L’AMC et d’autres acteurs du milieu de la santé – professionnels, groupes, représentants provinciaux et territoriaux – ont exprimé leurs réserves relatives à la lourdeur administrative associée à cette exigence. L’AMC plaide donc avec force pour une augmentation des investissements de Santé Canada visant à améliorer les outils de déclaration, les capacités d’intervention, la rapidité de transmission de l’information et la qualité des renseignements fournis aux médecins et aux patients.

Pour que la nouvelle réglementation débouche sur un meilleur système de surveillance globale, l’AMC recommande que l’exigence ne s’applique qu’aux réactions indésirables graves observées chez des patients hospitalisés pendant au moins 24 heures, ce qui, selon elle, engloberait la plupart des cas et ferait en sorte que les déclarations proviennent d’établissements dotés de capacités supérieures en matière de diagnostic et de signalement.

Toutefois, l’exigence ne s’appliquerait pas aux patients décédés hors de l’hôpital des suites d’une réaction indésirable grave à une drogue ou d’un incident lié à un instrument médical.

Pour améliorer le système de surveillance, l’AMC recommande également :

  • la modification du système de déclaration pour le rendre plus convivial et plus facile à intégrer dans l’horaire des praticiens;
  • l’intégration du processus de déclaration aux systèmes de dossiers médicaux électroniques;
  • l’enrichissement des déclarations par des renseignements tirés, par exemple, d’études officielles postcommercialisation de certains médicaments ou de travaux de groupes « sentinelles » de professionnels de la santé engagés pour produire des déclarations détaillées.

L’AMC continuera à jouer son rôle de représentation tout au long de la consultation entre Santé Canada, les gouvernements et les intervenants.

***

Mémoires connexes de l’AMC

Réponse de l’AMC aux questions de consultation de Santé Canada : Cadre réglementaire de la déclaration obligatoire des incidents graves liés à une réaction indésirable à un médicament ou liés à un instrument médical par les établissements de santé des provinces et des territoires (janvier 2016)

Réponse de l’AMC à la consultation publique de Santé Canada sur le Guide pour l’application des nouveaux pouvoirs en référence au projet de loi C-17, Loi visant à protéger les Canadiens contre les drogues dangereuses (Loi de Vanessa) (août 2015)

Projet de loi C-17, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les aliments et drogues – Loi visant à protéger les Canadiens contre les drogues dangereuses. Présenté au Comité permanent de la santé de la Chambre des communes (juin 2014)

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.