Sign In

CMA alarmed by government measures

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) is concerned about recent actions by provincial governments in Quebec and Ontario to unilaterally impose measures restricting physicians’ ability to deliver optimal care.

“The new legislation proposed in Quebec and recent actions taken by the Ontario government represent an alarming trend of governments refusing to work together with medical associations to better manage the health care system,” said CMA President Chris Simpson.

In Quebec, legislation introduced last year – Bill 20 – proposes a sweeping series of restrictions on the province’s doctors, including requiring both family physicians and specialists to maintain a minimum caseload of patients and increasing the duties of attending specialists in hospitals. Another bill – Bill 10 – would give sweeping new powers to the health minister. Both bills are now before the provincial legislature.

Family doctors in Quebec would be required to meet specific targets in terms of number of patients seen or face cuts of up to 30% in the capitation fee they receive for each patient.

In Ontario, the provincial government has just imposed a series of measures to limit physician billings, after the Ontario Medical Association (OMA) rejected the most recent government offer in negotiations that have been ongoing since March 31, 2014.

The agreement offer rejected by the OMA included $580 million in fee cuts over two years. The OMA said the offer set an arbitrary baseline for the physician services budget that is more than $80 million below current levels, and funded growth of no more than 1.25% per year despite current growth of 2.7%. The OMA said the government planned to claw back payments to physicians if the budget ceiling was exceeded.

Following the OMA announcement, the provincial government announced that effective immediately it is cutting all fees to physicians by 2.65%.

In addition, the government said it is: eliminating funding for continuing medical education courses; reducing the fee for walk-in clinic visits; eliminating the premium for accepting new patients who are healthy; limiting the number of family doctors in well-serviced areas who can join family health teams.

“The actions in Quebec and Ontario represent a return to the bad old days when provincial governments used bludgeoning tactics against physicians to try to control their health care budgets,” said Simpson.

“The proposed Quebec legislation and measures in Ontario cannot help but have a negative impact on patient care, as well as alienating doctors who want to work to help deliver care more effectively.”

Simpson said the CMA would like to see the governments in Ontario and Quebec return to holding constructive talks with medical organizations about how they can partner to bring forward innovative and constructive solutions to meet the challenges facing health care delivery in all jurisdictions.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC alarmée par des mesures gouvernementales

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) s’inquiète face à des mesures prises récemment par les gouvernements du Québec et de l’Ontario pour limiter unilatéralement la capacité des médecins d’offrir des soins optimaux.

« La nouvelle mesure législative proposée au Québec et les mesures prises récemment en Ontario illustrent une tendance alarmante : des gouvernements qui refusent de collaborer avec les associations médicales afin de mieux gérer le système de santé », a dit le président de l’AMC, Chris Simpson.

Au Québec, une mesure législative présentée l’année dernière – le projet de loi 20 – propose d’imposer une série de restrictions aux médecins de la province, notamment en obligeant les médecins de famille et les spécialistes à avoir un nombre de patients minimal et en augmentant la charge de travail des spécialistes dans les hôpitaux. Un autre projet de loi – le projet de loi 10 – donnerait de nouveaux pouvoirs massifs au ministre de la Santé. Ces deux mesures législatives sont actuellement à l’étude à l’Assemblée nationale.

Les médecins de famille du Québec seraient obligés de respecter des cibles précises quant au nombre de patients traités, sans quoi ils se verraient retirer jusqu’à 30 % des paiements par capitation reçus pour chaque patient.

En Ontario, le gouvernement provincial vient d’imposer une série de mesures visant à limiter la facturation par les médecins, après que l’Association médicale de l’Ontario (AMO) ait eu rejeté la dernière offre du gouvernement dans le cadre des négociations en cours depuis le 31 mars 2014.

L’offre rejetée par l’AMO prévoyait une réduction des honoraires des médecins de 580 millions de dollars sur deux ans. L’AMO a soutenu que l’offre fixait arbitrairement, pour le budget des services des médecins, une limite inférieure de plus de 80 millions de dollars au taux actuel, et financerait une croissance maximale de 1,25 % par année, même si l’on prévoit que le taux de croissance de la demande sera de 2,7 %. L’AMO a aussi dit que le gouvernement comptait récupérer les paiements aux médecins en cas de dépassement du plafond budgétaire.

À la suite de l’annonce faite par l’AMO, le gouvernement provincial a annoncé qu’il réduisait immédiatement de 2,65 % tous les paiements aux médecins.

En outre, le gouvernement a dit qu’il éliminait le financement de l’éducation médicale continue, réduisait les paiements pour les visites aux cliniques sans rendez-vous, supprimait les primes pour l’acceptation de nouveaux patients en bonne santé, et limitait le nombre de médecins de famille qui peuvent se joindre à des équipes de santé familiale dans les régions biens desservies.

« Les mesures prises par le Québec et l’Ontario marquent un retour à la triste époque où les gouvernements provinciaux avaient recours à des tactiques radicales à l’égard des médecins afin de contrôler leurs budgets », a dit le Dr Simpson.

« La mesure législative proposée au Québec et les mesures prises en Ontario ne pourront qu’avoir des répercussions négatives sur le soin des patients, et vont aliéner les médecins qui déploient des efforts pour trouver des moyens d’offrir les soins de façon plus efficace. »

Le Dr Simpson a dit que l’AMC souhaite que les gouvernements du Québec et de l’Ontario reprennent des discussions constructives avec les associations médicales afin de déterminer comment ils peuvent collaborer dans le but de trouver des solutions novatrices et constructives pour relever les défis auxquels le système de santé est confronté dans toutes les régions du pays.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.