Sign In

CMA and MD mobilizing on incorporation issue

As you may be aware, the federal government has indicated it will pursue changes to the small business tax rate and framework governing Canadian-Controlled Private Corporations.

As the majority of Canadian physicians are “self-employed” − only 10% are on salary – with responsibilities such as pay and benefits for employees, running the business of their practice and providing for their own pension and health benefits, any changes to incorporation are of keen interest to physicians.

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) and MD Financial Management (MD) have ramped up activity on the issue to ensure members and clients are informed and have the information they need on this issue as it develops.

The CMA has initiated outreach with government decision-makers to seek clarity on the potential changes. Most importantly, the CMA is raising awareness of how potential changes to the incorporation framework may affect physicians, their practices and access to health services for Canadians.

As part of its advocacy approach, in collaboration with provincial/territorial medical associations, the CMA is encouraging members to raise the issue with their local Member of Parliament through the MD-MP Contact Program.

To support its advocacy efforts and ensure the correct information is being conveyed, the CMA surveyed members on this issue, including the potential impact of these changes on physicians. Over 2,200 members responded with their input.

Looking ahead, the CMA will highlight this issue as part of its pre-budget consultation submission to the government in early February.

The CMA and MD are committed to keeping members and clients up-to-date on this important issue. If you have any questions about the CMA’s advocacy efforts on this issue, please contact yourvoice@cma.ca.

To discuss how the government’s proposed changes may affect your financial situation, we encourage you to meet with an advisor at MD Financial Management.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Constitution en société : MD et l’AMC passent à l’action

Vous savez peut-être déjà que le gouvernement fédéral a exprimé sa volonté d’apporter des modifications au taux d’imposition des petites entreprises et au cadre réglementaire des sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien.

Comme la majorité des médecins canadiens sont considérés comme des travailleurs indépendants – seulement 10 % d’entre eux touchent un salaire –, ils sont responsables du salaire et des avantages sociaux de leurs employés, de la gestion de leur cabinet et de leurs propres avantages sociaux et régime de retraite; tout changement apporté à la constitution en société aura donc une incidence certaine sur eux.

Dans ce contexte, l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) et MD ont redoublé d’efforts afin que leurs membres et leurs clients reçoivent l’information dont ils ont besoin en temps opportun.

L’AMC a pris contact avec les autorités gouvernementales pour demander des précisions sur les changements envisagés, mais elle s’emploie surtout à faire connaître l’ampleur des répercussions d’une refonte des règles encadrant la constitution en société sur les médecins, leurs cabinets et l’accès aux services de santé pour tous les Canadiens.

Pour ce faire, l’AMC s’est jointe aux associations médicales provinciales et territoriales pour encourager ses membres à communiquer avec leur député dans le cadre du programme de contact médecins-députés.

Afin de confirmer le bien-fondé de ses efforts de sensibilisation et de s’assurer de l’exactitude de son message, l’AMC a sondé ses membres sur la question, notamment sur les répercussions potentielles des changements proposés sur les médecins. Plus de 2 200 membres ont répondu.

En outre, l’AMC abordera la question dans le cadre de sa soumission pour la consultation prébudgétaire fédérale au début de février.

L’AMC et MD sont déterminées à tenir leurs membres et leurs clients informés des derniers développements de ce dossier majeur. Si vous avez des questions sur la représentation par l’AMC, écrivez à votrevoix@cma.ca.

Pour discuter de l’incidence des changements proposés par le gouvernement fédéral sur votre situation financière, nous vous invitons à consulter un conseiller de Gestion financière MD.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.