Sign In

CMA announces 2015 award winners

The physician who has done much to raise awareness of hypertension in Canada and the need to reduce sodium intake, an internationally renowned infectious disease expert, and the former head of the Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA) are among the individuals and organizations being recognized by the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) this year.

At the association’s annual general council meeting in Halifax in August one organization and 13 individuals will be celebrated as recipients of a CMA award. This year’s recipient of the CMA’s highest honour for physicians – the Frederic Newton Gisborne Starr Award – will be Dr. Norman Campbell. Campbell’s role in promoting best practices in the prevention and treatment of hypertension has been internationally recognized, as has his work in making the reduction of dietary sodium a priority. Campbell is currently co-chair of the Pan American Health Organization—World Health Organization expert group on dietary salt reduction.

The May Cohen Award for Women Mentors will be presented to Dr. Allison McGeer who has been director of the division of infection control at Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, for the past 25 years and was a leader in the fight against the 2003 severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) outbreak in Toronto. McGeer is recognized for promoting student learning and mentorship as well as facilitating relationships and helping others build their professional networks.

Dr. John Gray was appointed executive director and CEO of the Canadian Medical Protective Association in 2000, and served in that capacity until his retirement in November 2013. A family physician by training, Gray led the CMPA through its transformation from being a relatively small organization to a leading-edge national medical association. For this work, Gray has been named recipient of the CMA Medal of Service for 2015.

Camille Dow Baker will be awarded the Medal of Honour for her role in helping found the Centre for Affordable Water and Sanitation Technology (CAWST), a non-governmental organization based in Calgary. CAWST has helped provide better water and sanitation to nearly 10 million people in 68 countries since its creation in 2001. The Medal of Honour is the highest award the association can give to a non-physician.

An acknowledged leader in physician health in Canada, Dr. Michael Kaufmann will be recognized this year with the Physician Misericordia Award. Kaufmann is founding director of the Physician Health Program of the Ontario Medical Association. The award celebrates outstanding contribution by a CMA member to enhance the overall health and well-being of physician colleagues on both personal and professional levels.

For the first time this year, a medical trainee will receive the Sir Charles Tupper Award for Political Action. Dr. Emily Reynen was founder and president of a student advocacy group at McGill University, Montreal, where she helped establish the first provincial Lobby Day for the four medical faculties in Quebec.

The Award for Excellence in Health Promotion is being presented to the Norlien Foundation for its work in establishing the Alberta Family Wellness Initiative. This initiative, established in 2007, has helped develop and support a number of activities in early childhood development, mental health and addiction aimed at promoting evidence-based changes in policy and practice to help children and families.

Three outstanding individuals will be recognized with the Awards for Young Leaders. Soniya Sharma, the student winner, was elected chair of the Ontario Medical Students Association in 2014 and has led constitutional reform for the organization, also developing an innovative pilot program to teach medical students about governance while being mentored by physician leaders.

Dr. Amol Verma is the resident winner of the award for his work as co-principal investigator of the General Medicine Inpatient (Gemini) registry being piloted at six Toronto hospitals, as well as for developing weekly podcasts to summarize recent studies in internal medicine that are heard by thousands in more than 50 countries.

The Early Career recipient is Dr. Alika Lafontaine who is committed to raising public awareness of First Nations and aboriginal concerns. Lafontaine is currently vice-president of the Indigenous Physicians Association of Canada, a member of the Alberta Medical Association representative forum and a member of the Royal College of Physician and Surgeons of Canada indigenous health advisory committee.

The Dr. William Marsden Award in Medical Ethics will be awarded to Dr. Paul Byrne, currently interim director of the John Dossetor Health Ethics Centre and clinical professor at the University of Alberta. Trained as a neonatologist, Byrne has shown leadership in recognizing the challenges facing parents in making difficult but informed decisions about their children’s care.

Lieutenant-Colonel Paul Charlebois and Lieutenant-Colonel Robert Stiegelmar are recipients this year of the John McCrae Memorial Medal. This is the second year the medal has been awarded to current or former clinical health services personnel of the Canadian Forces. As the only internal medicine and critical care physician at the Kandahar Airfield multinational medical unit, Lt.-Col. Charlebois provided 24/7 care to wounded NATO soldiers, enemy combatants and civilians. Lt.-Col. Stiegelmar is an exceptional orthopedic surgeon known for his diligent care and compassion for Forces members who have been injured in combat.

Information on the awards and more details about the recipients is available here.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC annonce les lauréats de ses prix de 2015

Parmi les lauréats des prix de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) de cette année : le médecin qui fut le fer de lance de la sensibilisation des Canadiens à l’hypertension et à la nécessité de réduire la consommation de sodium, une spécialiste des maladies infectieuses de renommée internationale et l’ancien dirigeant de l’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM).

Dans le cadre de son Conseil général, qui se tiendra à Halifax en août, l’AMC rendra hommage à une organisation et à 13 personnes. Cette année, le prix Frédéric-Newton-Gisborne-Starr, la plus haute distinction que l’AMC puisse décerner à un médecin, sera remis au Dr Norman Campbell, dont le rôle dans la promotion des pratiques exemplaires de prévention et de prise en charge de l’hypertension a été reconnu mondialement, de même que sa contribution à faire de la réduction du sodium alimentaire une priorité. Le Dr Campbell est actuellement coprésident du groupe d’experts sur la réduction de la consommation de sodium de l’Organisation panaméricaine de la santé–Organisation mondiale de la santé.

Le Prix May-Cohen pour femmes mentors sera remis à la Dre Allison McGeer, directrice de la Division de la prévention des infections de l’Hôpital Mount Sinai depuis 25 ans et pilier de l’intervention contre l’éclosion de syndrome respiratoire aigu sévère (SRAS) survenue en 2003 à Toronto. La Dre McGeer est réputée pour promouvoir la formation et le mentorat des étudiants ainsi que pour aider les gens à tisser des liens et à bâtir un réseau professionnel.

Le Dr John Gray a été nommé directeur général et chef de la direction de l’ACPM en 2000 et a occupé ce poste jusqu’à sa retraite en novembre 2013. Médecin de famille de formation, le Dr Gray a tenu les rênes de l’ACPM pendant une période de transformation qui l’a vue passer d’une organisation relativement petite à une organisation médicale nationale avant-gardiste. En reconnaissance de son travail, le Dr Gray recevra la Médaille de service de l’AMC pour 2015.

Camille Dow Baker recevra la Médaille d’honneur pour son rôle dans la création du Centre for Affordable Water and Sanitation Technology (CAWST), une organisation non gouvernementale de Calgary. Depuis sa création en 2001, le CAWST contribue à améliorer la salubrité de l’eau et les services sanitaires pour près de 10 millions de personnes dans 68 pays. La Médaille d’honneur est la plus haute distinction que l’AMC puisse conférer à une personne qui n’est pas médecin.

Leader reconnu en santé des médecins au Canada, le Dr Michael Kaufmann recevra le Prix Misericordia des médecins de cette année. Le Dr Kaufmann est le directeur fondateur du Programme de santé des médecins de l’Association médicale de l’Ontario. Le Prix Misericordia des médecins souligne la contribution exceptionnelle d’un membre de l’AMC à l’amélioration générale de la santé et du bien-être des médecins, à la fois sur les plans personnel et professionnel.

Cette année, ce sera la première fois qu’une stagiaire en médecine reçoit le Prix Sir-Charles-Tupper d’action politique de l’AMC. La Dre Emily Reynen a fondé et a présidé un groupe de représentation étudiante à l’Université McGill, à Montréal. Elle a participé à l’organisation de la première journée de lobbying pour les quatre facultés de médecine du Québec.

 

Le Prix d’Excellence en promotion de la santé sera remis à la Fondation Norlien pour la mise en œuvre de l’Alberta Family Wellness Initiative (programme albertain pour le bien-être familial). Créé en 2007, ce programme a permis de mettre sur pied et d’appuyer plusieurs activités dans les domaines du développement de la petite enfance, de la santé mentale et des toxicomanies visant à promouvoir dans les politiques et les pratiques des changements positifs fondés sur des données probantes, dans l’intérêt des enfants et de leur famille.

Le Prix de leadership pour jeunes chefs de file sera décerné à trois personnes exceptionnelles. Soniya Sharma, lauréate du volet étudiant, a été élue présidente de l’Ontario Medical Students Association (association des étudiants en médecine de l’Ontario) en 2014 et a dirigé une réforme constitutionnelle de l’organisation, en plus d’élaborer un programme pilote novateur visant à enseigner la gouvernance aux étudiants en médecine grâce à un mentorat offert par des leaders médicaux.

Le Dr Amol Verma remporte le prix à titre de résident pour son travail comme cochercheur principal pour le registre General Medicine Inpatient (Gemini), actuellement mis à l’essai dans six hôpitaux de Toronto, ainsi que pour la création d’un balado hebdomadaire résumant les études récentes en médecine interne qui compte des milliers d’auditeurs dans plus de 50 pays.

Le Dr Alika Lafontaine, lauréat à titre de médecin en début de carrière, est déterminé à sensibiliser le public aux préoccupations des Premières Nations et des Autochtones du Canada. Le Dr Lafontaine est actuellement vice-président de l’Association des médecins indigènes du Canada, en plus d’être membre du Forum des représentants de l’Association médicale de l’Alberta et du Comité consultatif sur la santé des Autochtones du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada.

Le Prix Dr-William-Marsden d'éthique médicale sera remis au Dr Paul Byrne, actuellement directeur intérimaire du Centre d’éthique en santé John Dossetor et professeur clinicien à l’Université de l’Alberta. En tant que néonatologiste, le Dr Byrne a fait preuve de leadership pour reconnaître les défis auxquels doivent faire face les parents dans la prise de décisions difficiles – mais éclairées – sur le traitement de leur enfant.

Cette année, le lieutenant-colonel Paul Charlebois et le lieutenant-colonel Robert Stiegelmar sont les deux récipiendaires de la Médaille commémorative John-McCrae. C’est la deuxième année que cette médaille est décernée à des membres ou à d’anciens membres du personnel des services de santé des Forces armées canadiennes. Seul médecin spécialisé en médecine interne et en soins intensifs à l’unité médicale multinationale de l’aérodrome de Kandahar, le lieutenant-colonel Paul Charlebois a soigné, de jour comme de nuit, les soldats de l’OTAN, les combattants ennemis et les civils blessés. Le lieutenant-colonel Robert Stiegelmar est un chirurgien orthopédique exceptionnel reconnu pour ses soins diligents et pour sa compassion à l’égard des membres des Forces armées canadiennes qui ont été blessés au combat.

Pour en savoir plus sur les prix et les lauréats, cliquer ici.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.