Sign In

CMA appears before assisted dying panel

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) has appeared before the independent federal panel appointed to consider the federal government response to the Supreme Court ruling legalizing assisted dying.

The three-member External Panel on Options for a Legislative Response to Carter v. Canada was established in mid-July by the former Conservative government but suspended direct consultations shortly thereafter until completion of the federal election campaign.

“We feel it is important to present the perspective of the CMA developed following extensive consultations with CMA members, public and health and medical stakeholders in the period prior to and following the Supreme Court decision last February,” said CMA President Cindy Forbes who appeared before the panel.

“The clock is ticking and there is a degree of urgency to address the many issues that must be resolved before the Supreme Court ruling becomes effective in four months,” Forbes said.

“In this regard, the CMA is well positioned to show leadership and provide guidance on behalf of the medical profession in Canada.”

In its submission, the CMA stated that the association “strongly recommends the establishment of national and coordinated legislative and regulatory processes and systems in response to the Carter decision.”

“The CMA is deeply concerned that in the absence of federal action to support the establishment of national guidelines for assisted dying, a patchwork of differing and potentially conflicting approaches could emerge across jurisdictions.”

The CMA submission was based on a document titled Principles-based Recommendations for a Canadian Approach to Assisted Dying developed in consultation with national medical regulatory authorities and finalized following debate at the CMA’s annual General Council meeting in August.

The submission to the federal panel highlighted the section in the recommendations dealing with the important issue of conscientious objection by physicians who will choose not to provide assisted dying to their patients.

The CMA position on this issue states: “In order to reconcile physicians’ conscientious objection with a patient’s request for access to assisted dying, physicians are expected to provide the patient with complete information on all options available to them, including assisted dying, and advise the patient on how they can access any separate central information, counseling, and referral service.”

The CMA also highlighted the need for more education of physicians on the issue of assisted dying and stated that with the support of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, the College of Family Physicians of Canada, and the Canadian Medical Protective Association, it is taking the lead in developing education modules for physicians.

The submission concluded by noting that at GC in August delegates endorsed a resolution calling for “unconditional release” of the panel’s final report and it urged the panel members to support this move.

Under the leadership of the Ontario government, provincial and territorial governments (with the exception of Quebec and British Columbia) have also created a panel to provide feedback on the issues surrounding the Supreme Court of Canada decision.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC témoigne devant le comité d’étude sur l’aide à mourir

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) a témoigné devant le comité d’étude fédéral indépendant chargé d’étudier la réponse du gouvernement fédéral à la décision de la Cour suprême légalisant l’aide à mourir.

Mis sur pied à la mi juillet par l’ancien gouvernement conservateur, le Comité externe de trois membres sur les options de réponse législative à l’affaire Carter c. Canada a interrompu ses consultations directes peu après, jusqu’à la fin de la campagne électorale fédérale.

« Nous estimons qu’il importe de présenter le point de vue de l’AMC qui découle de consultations détaillées de ses membres, du public et des intervenants des milieux de la santé et de la médecine tenues au cours de la période qui a précédé et suivi la décision rendue par la Cour suprême en février dernier », a déclaré au comité la présidente de l’AMC, Cindy Forbes.

« Le temps passe et il est urgent d’aborder les nombreux enjeux qu’il faut régler avant l’entrée en vigueur de la décision de la Cour suprême dans quatre mois », a déclaré la Dre Forbes.

« À cet égard, l’AMC est bien placée pour faire preuve de leadership et montrer la voie pour le compte de la profession médicale au Canada. »

Dans son mémoire, l’AMC a déclaré que l’Association « recommande vivement l’établissement de processus et de systèmes législatifs et réglementaires nationaux et coordonnés pour répondre à la décision Carter ».

« L’AMC craint vivement que si le fédéral n’intervient pas pour appuyer l’établissement de lignes directrices nationales sur l’aide à mourir, une mosaïque de stratégies différentes et éventuellement contradictoires ne fasse son apparition entre les administrations. »

L’AMC a basé son mémoire sur un document intitulé Approches fondées sur des principes pour encadrer l’aide à mourir au Canada produit en consultation avec les ordres nationaux des médecins et terminé à la suite du débat qui s’est tenu au cours de l’assemblée annuelle du Conseil général de l’AMC en août.

Le mémoire présenté au comité fédéral porte d’abord sur la partie des recommandations traitant de l’enjeu important que constitue l’objection de conscience des médecins qui décident de ne pas aider leurs patients à mourir.

À cet égard, l’AMC est d’avis que : « Afin de réconcilier l’objection de conscience des médecins et l’accès des patients à l’aide à mourir, on s’attend à ce que les médecins fournissent aux patients des renseignements complets sur toutes les options possibles, y compris l’aide à mourir, et leur indiquent comment avoir accès à toute information centrale distincte, à des conseils et à des services de recommandation. »

L’AMC a aussi insisté sur le besoin de former davantage les médecins au sujet de la grande question que constitue l’aide à mourir et a déclaré qu’avec l’appui du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et de l’Association canadienne de protection médicale, elle prend la barre pour créer des modèles d’éducation des médecins.

L’AMC a conclu son mémoire en signalant qu’au cours du CG en août, les délégués ont approuvé une résolution préconisant la « publication sans condition » du rapport final du comité et elle a exhorté les membres du comité à appuyer cette recommandation.

Sous la direction du gouvernement de l’Ontario, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux (à l’exception de ceux du Québec et de la Colombie-Britannique) ont aussi mis sur pied un groupe chargé de formuler des commentaires sur les enjeux liés à la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.