Sign In

CMA clears the air ... again ... on marijuana

As marijuana use continues to be a highly-politically charged issue, Canadian Medical Association President Chris Simpson has issued a detailed statement on the association's position.

The statement came in the immediate wake of the CMA's General Council meeting and in response to a newspaper commentary by Conservative businessman David Asper. In that article, Asper called the CMA "disengenuous" for joining two other national medical organizations in refusing to endorse a Health Canada campaign on the dangers of the recreational use of marijuana for youth.

While the CMA was applauded by many delegates for its educational session on medical marijuana at GC, this was overshowed in the public eye by ongoing criticism by federal health minister Rona Ambrose and others about the CMA stance.

In direct response to Asper's comments, Simpson issued a statement inviting him to consider "elements and facts that go beyond the federal government perspective" including:

  • Concerns about the booming “medical marijuana” medical business with marijuana detailers now visiting physician offices to try and convince physicians that they should prescribe the product, even though there is little clinical evidence to ensure the product can be prescribed safely. At the GC, incoming CMA president-elect Dr. Cindy Forbes raised this concern from personal experience and the meeting was told by the head of the Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada that such detailing would soon be banned by the federal government.
  • The fact marijuana has not been approved by the government for medical use, as happens with any other prescription medication and while recognizing that marijuana may have benefits for some patients, unless more clinical data on safety and efficacy is forthcoming, the CMA feels physicians are asked to prescribe this product "blindfolded". Interestingly, in her speech at the CMA, Ambrose applauded doctors for their "evidence based approach" to providing care but did not reference medical marijuana.
  • The negative impact of smoking marijuana on the health of individuals. A resolution adopted at GC stated CMA's opposition to smoking any plant materials.

Simpson reiterated why the CMA and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and the College of Family Physicians of Canada declined to participate in the Health Canada advertising campaign.

To participate, he said, the CMA would have had to sign a confidentiality agreement "that would have limited the profession’s ability to comment freely on the campaign and the issue itself. "

He also noted the growing perception of marijuana use by youth as a political rather than a public health issue because of the government's attack on Justin Trudeau for his statements on marijuana use.

"As a non-partisan organization, the CMA does not endorse political parties and it was deemed that, following the withdrawal of two other medical organizations, the CMA would not proceed with this government-funded campaign," Simpson said.

“We support education on the effects of marijuana on young Canadians. And we look forward to when the political controversy dies down so that it will be possible for the education process to resume.”

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Une fois de plus, l’AMC assainit l’air en ce qui concerne la marijuana

Alors que la consommation de marijuana demeure un enjeu politique majeur, le président de l’Association médicale canadienne, le Dr Chris Simpson, a fait une déclaration détaillée sur la position de l’AMC, immédiatement après l’assemblée du Conseil général de l’Association et en réponse à des commentaires publiés dans la presse par l’homme d’affaires conservateur David Asper.

Dans son article, M. Asper soutient que l’AMC fait preuve de « mauvaise foi» en se joignant à deux autres organisations médicales nationales et en refusant de soutenir une campagne menée par Santé Canada sur les dangers que pose pour les jeunes la consommation de marijuana à des fins récréatives.

Bien que l’AMC ait été louangée par de nombreux délégués pour sa séance d’éducation sur la marijuana médicale à la rencontre du CG, ces éloges ont été éclipsés aux yeux du grand public par les critiques continues de la position de l’AMC par la ministre fédérale de la Santé, Rona Ambrose, et d’autres intervenants.

Répondant directement aux propos de M. Asper, le Dr Simpson a fait une déclaration l’invitant à prendre en considération les « éléments et les faits au-delà de la perspective du gouvernement fédéral », notamment :

  • Les préoccupations face à l’essor fulgurant de l’industrie de la marijuana à des fins médicales. On voit même des détaillants de marijuana rendre visite aux cabinets des médecins pour tenter de convaincre ceux-ci de prescrire ce produit, malgré la rareté des preuves cliniques au sujet de son innocuité. À l’assemblée du CG, la nouvelle présidente désignée de l’AMC, la Dre Cindy Forbes, a soulevé cette préoccupation en parlant de son expérience personnelle, et le dirigeant de la Fédération des ordres des médecins du Canada a indiqué que le gouvernement fédéral allait bientôt interdire ces visites par les détaillants.
  • Le fait que la marijuana n’ait pas été approuvée à des fins médicales par le gouvernement fédéral, comme ce doit être le cas pour tous les médicaments d’ordonnance. De plus, même si la marijuana peut avoir des effets bénéfiques pour certains patients, en l’absence de nouvelles données cliniques sur la sécurité et l’efficacité, l’AMC estime que l’on demande aux médecins de prescrire ce produit « aveuglément ». Fait intéressant, lors de son discours devant les délégués à l’assemblée de l’AMC, la ministre Ambrose a félicité l’approche « fondée sur des preuves » préconisée par les médecins, sans toutefois faire référence à la marijuana médicale.
  • Les effets néfastes pour la santé de la consommation de marijuana sous forme de fumée inhalée. Une résolution adoptée à l’assemblée du CG a affirmé l’opposition de l’AMC à l’inhalation de fumée de combustion de toute matière végétale.

Le Dr Simpson a rappelé pourquoi l’AMC, le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada et le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada ont refusé de participer à la campagne de Santé Canada.

Pour participer, a-t-il précisé, l’AMC devrait signer un accord de confidentialité « qui limiterait la capacité de l’organisation de s’exprimer librement sur la campagne et la question en jeu ».

Il a également souligné que l’on perçoit de plus en plus la question de la consommation de marijuana par les jeunes comme un enjeu politique plutôt qu’une question de santé publique, en raison des attaques du gouvernement contre les déclarations de Justin Trudeau à ce sujet.

« En tant qu’organisation non partisane, l’AMC ne soutient pas les partis politiques et, compte tenu du retrait de deux autres organisations médicales, elle a préféré ne pas participer à cette campagne financée par le gouvernement », a ajouté le Dr Simpson.

« Nous sommes en faveur de l’éducation des jeunes Canadiens aux effets de la marijuana. Et nous attendons que la controverse politique se termine afin qu’il soit possible de reprendre ce processus d’éducation. »

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.