Sign In

CMA creates draft framework for legislating medical aid in dying

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) has created a set of principles and a draft framework spelling out specifics of how legalizing medical aid in dying could be implemented in Canada.

The draft framework is intended to assist policy-makers in preparing legislation in the wake of the Feb. 6 Supreme Court of Canada decision striking down the law against medical aid in dying.

The court suspended its ruling for 12 months.

The CMA’s framework is based on nine foundational principles, such as respect for patient autonomy and equity and the protection of vulnerable persons, and on research into experience in other jurisdictions involving Quebec’s Bill 52 and the Supreme Court decision.

The CMA Board of Directors approved the draft documents, which will now be circulated to CMA members and other stakeholders for feedback on key questions in advance of a discussion at the CMA General Council meeting in August.

“In keeping with our intervention before the Supreme Court of Canada and our past work with hosting public and member town halls, the CMA will continue to be a vital part of this critical public conversation,” said CMA President Chris Simpson. “We recognize that our members have diverse views on this topic. The touchpoints are reasonable accommodation for all perspectives and patient-centredness.

“The document is very much a work in progress and will continue to evolve as more feedback is provided.”

In keeping with earlier CMA statements, as well as with the Supreme Court decision, the draft framework notes no one should be compelled to participate in medical aid in dying. It also states that physicians should be able to follow their conscience on whether to offer medical aid in dying. This should not result in undue delay for patients seeking access these services.

The CMA document notes: “… in order to reconcile physicians’ conscientious objection with patient access to care, a system should be developed whereby referral occurs by the physician to a third party that will provide assistance and information to the patient.”

The proposed legislative framework contains recommended practical steps for implementing medical aid in dying:

  • The attending physician must be satisfied the patient is mentally capable of making an informed decision.
  • The physician must be satisfied the patient is making the decision voluntarily, and has made the request for medical aid in dying “thoughtfully and repeatedly.”
  • The attending physician must consult a second physician, independent of both the patient requesting medical aid in dying and the attending physician, before the patient is considered qualified to undergo medical aid in dying.
  • Substitute decision-makers will not be able to request medical aid in dying on behalf of a patient.
  • A process map for requesting medical aid in dying would mandate an oral request followed by a wait of at least 15 days, a second request and a second seven-day wait, followed by a written request completed via a special form.

The CMA will launch an online member dialogue on medical aid in dying and seek feedback on the principles and key elements of the draft framework, and ask how the association can support members in this area. Members will also be surveyed on these issues, and face-to-face meetings will be held to brief local medical societies and other key stakeholders such as the Canadian Medical Protective Association.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC crée un cadre provisoire pour la légalisation de l’aide médicale à mourir

L’Association médicale canadienne (l’AMC) a créé un ensemble de principes de base et un cadre provisoire pour exposer en détail comment la légalisation de l’aide médicale à mourir pourrait être appliquée au Canada.

Le cadre provisoire vise à aider les décideurs à rédiger les dispositions législatives qui seront nécessaires dans la foulée de la décision rendue le 6 février 2015 par la Cour suprême du Canada et invalidant les mesures législatives qui interdisent l’aide médicale à mourir.

La Cour a suspendu sa décision pour 12 mois.

Le cadre provisoire de l’AMC repose sur neuf principes fondamentaux, tels que le respect de l’autonomie du patient, l’équité et la protection des personnes vulnérables. Il tient compte de l’expérience d’autres administrations en la matière, notamment du projet de loi 52 du Québec, et de la décision de la Cour suprême.

Le Conseil d’administration de l’AMC a approuvé le document provisoire. Il sera maintenant distribué aux membres de l’AMC et à d’autres intervenants afin d’obtenir leurs commentaires sur les principaux points, en prévision du débat qui se déroulera à la réunion du Conseil général de l’AMC en août.

« L’AMC entend continuer de jouer un rôle déterminant dans ce dialogue public indispensable, et ce cadre provisoire fait suite à notre intervention devant la Cour suprême du Canada et à notre consultation auprès de nos membres et de la population, a déclaré Chris Simpson, président de l’AMC. Nous reconnaissons que nos membres ont des points de vue divers sur la question. Nous recherchons un accommodement raisonnable de tous les points de vue et une approche centrée sur le patient. »

« Le document est donc vraiment un processus continu qui continuera d’évoluer à mesure que les commentaires seront formulés », a-t-il ajouté.

Comme l’AMC l’a souligné dans ses déclarations antérieures et comme le précise la décision de la Cour suprême, le cadre provisoire souligne que personne ne doit se sentir contraint de participer à la prestation d’une aide médicale à mourir. Il précise en outre que les médecins devraient être libres d’agir selon leur conscience pour décider d’offrir ou non l’aide à mourir, mais que cela ne devrait pas retarder indûment l’accès aux services pour les patients qui le demandent.

Le document de l’AMC stipule que « …pour concilier l’objection de conscience des médecins et l’accès aux soins par les patients, il faudrait créer un système qui permettrait au médecin de référer le patient à un tiers qui lui fournirait aide et renseignements ».

Le cadre législatif provisoire propose des étapes pratiques pour la mise en œuvre de l’aide médicale à mourir :

  • Le médecin traitant doit être convaincu que le patient est mentalement capable de prendre une décision éclairée.
  • Le médecin doit avoir la certitude que le patient prend la décision volontairement et que la demande d’aide médicale à mourir est « réfléchie et répétée ».
  • Le médecin traitant doit consulter un second médecin, indépendamment du patient qui demande l’aide à mourir et du médecin traitant, avant que le patient soit jugé admissible à une aide médicale à mourir.
  • Les mandataires ne pourront pas demander une aide médicale à mourir au nom d’un patient.
  • Le processus de demande d’aide médicale à mourir exigerait une demande verbale initiale suivie d’une période d’attente d’au moins 15 jours, une seconde demande suivie d’une nouvelle période d’attente de 7 jours et enfin, une demande écrite présentée au moyen d’un formulaire prévu à cette fin.

L’AMC lancera un dialogue en ligne avec les membres sur la question de l’aide médicale à mourir; elle sollicitera des commentaires sur les principes et sur les éléments clés du cadre provisoire et sur la meilleure façon pour l’Association d’appuyer ses membres dans ce domaine. L’AMC entend aussi sonder ses membres sur la question et organiser des rencontres en personne pour renseigner les sociétés médicales locales et d’autres intervenants clés tels que l’Association canadienne de protection médicale.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.