Sign In

CMA delegates urge action on declining vaccination rates

Physician concern about declining immunization rates in Canada was evident Aug. 26 during the CMA’s annual meeting in Halifax. By day’s end delegates had considered nine motions, many of which focused on efforts to educate parents who hesitate to pursue vaccination for their children.

Members voted by a near-unanimous margin (97%) to ask that governments across the country authorize schools to require a declaration of students’ immunization status. If results indicate that a student has not been immunized, there would then be “a conversation” between public health officials and parents.

Dr. Yun Jen of Quebec, who moved the motion, said the goal is not to make immunization compulsory but to provide an opportunity “to deliver information and to sensitize” parents on the importance of vaccination programs.

“Parents whose children are not vaccinated may be vaccination-hesitant,” added CMA Past President Chris Simpson, the motion’s seconder. “This would provide an opportunity to understand why they are hesitant.”

Delegates rejected a call for a national compensation program for people who experienced “debilitating” injury following vaccination. Medical student Denis Yahiaoui, mover of the motion, said that in rare cases immunization results in serious damage to patients. “It is the duty of society to help if someone is seriously affected [by vaccination],” he said.

However, several delegates warned that the motion could be used by those who oppose vaccination as a “tacit admission” that immunization programs are dangerous. The motion was defeated by a two-thirds margin (70%).

Delegates voted unanimously to have the CMA provide information and tools to physicians to help promote “the medical profession’s critical role in supporting immunization.” The CMA’s new president, Dr. Cindy Forbes, said information provided to parents by physicians can be used to counter “facts” gathered from websites and provided by friends.

There was also a unanimous vote on a motion calling for immunization registries that can feed information from electronic medical records directly to health care providers.

Another motion that passed urges the federal government to develop a national plan to deal with “vaccine hesitancy”.

General Council approved four additional immunization-related motions without debate. These ‘consent’ motions dealt with topics that included urging the federal government to “accelerate the development and implementation of a national immunization registry.”

Forward any comments about this article to:

Connexion

Les délégués de l’AMC préconisent la prise de mesures pour contrer la baisse des taux de vaccination

La préoccupation que soulève chez les médecins la baisse des taux de vaccination au Canada était manifeste le 26 août au cours de l’Assemblée annuelle de l’AMC à Halifax. À la fin de la journée, les délégués s’étaient penchés sur neuf motions dont beaucoup portaient avant tout sur les efforts déployés pour éduquer les parents qui hésitent à faire vacciner leurs enfants.

Les membres ont voté presque à l’unanimité (97 %) pour demander aux gouvernements du Canada d’autoriser les écoles à exiger une déclaration sur la vaccination des élèves. Si les résultats indiquent qu’un élève n’a pas été vacciné, il devrait y avoir « un échange » entre les dirigeants de la santé publique et les parents.

Le Dr Yun Jen de Québec, qui a proposé la motion, a déclaré que l’on cherche non pas à rendre la vaccination obligatoire, mais plutôt à offrir une occasion « d’informer et de sensibiliser » les parents à l’importance des programmes de vaccination.

« Il se peut que les parents dont les enfants ne sont pas vaccinés hésitent à les faire vacciner », a ajouté le président sortant de l’AMC, Chris Simpson, comotionnaire. « Ce serait une occasion de comprendre la raison de leur hésitation. »

Les délégués ont rejeté un appel à la création d’un programme national d’indemnisation des personnes victimes d’un préjudice « invalidant » causé par un vaccin. Denis Yahiaoui, étudiant en médecine qui a proposé la motion, déclare que, dans de rares cas, un vaccin cause de graves préjudices aux patients. « La société est tenue d’aider les victimes d’effets graves [de la vaccination] », a t il dit.

Plusieurs délégués ont toutefois prévenu que les adversaires de la vaccination pourraient utiliser la motion comme « admission tacite » du danger des programmes d’immunisation. La motion a été rejetée par les deux tiers des votes (70 %).

Les délégués ont voté à l’unanimité pour que l’AMC fournisse aux médecins de l’information et des outils pour aider à promouvoir « le rôle crucial que la profession médicale joue dans le soutien de l’immunisation ». La nouvelle présidente de l’AMC, la Dre Cindy Forbes, a déclaré que l’information fournie aux parents par les médecins peut servir à contrer les « faits » tirés de sites Web et fournis par des amis.

Les délégués ont aussi adopté à l’unanimité une motion préconisant la création de registres d’immunisation qui peuvent transmettre de l’information tirée des dossiers médicaux électroniques directement aux fournisseurs de soins de santé.

Une autre motion adoptée exhorte le gouvernement fédéral à établir un plan national de lutte contre « l’hésitation face à la vaccination ».

Le Conseil général a approuvé sans débat quatre autres motions sur l’immunisation. Ces motions « à l’ordre du jour des approbations » visaient notamment à exhorter le gouvernement fédéral à « accélérer la création et la mise en œuvre d’un registre national d’immunisation ».

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.