Sign In

Studying to be a physician isn’t easy

Doctors Nova Scotia and the Canadian Medical Association will help you through medical school with resources, tools and advice.

All this and more for a dime a day

The AMA and CMA are the medical community’s provincial and national associations. Membership costs less than a dime a day, and provides invaluable benefits, including:

Effective advocacy

  • The CMA’s in-person or videoconference advocacy training can help you learn more about the political process, and how you can become an effective advocate for the medical profession and make a difference.
  • The MD-MP Contact Program connects you with your Member of Parliament so you can provide feedback on key issues for medical students, residents and physicians.
  • CMA provides support for student advocacy initiatives, such as lobby days, and help to prepare to for events to ensure you meet your strategic objectives.

Information on the go

  • Free, anytime, anywhere access to ClinicalKey, a comprehensive and current collection of textbooks, journals and multimedia resources, including medical videos and images across 30+ specialities (cma.ca/clinicalkey).
  • Access best-in-class clinical tools, including DynaMed’s collection of evidence summaries and drug information on the RxTx Mobile App (cma.ca/resources).
  • Sign up for daily POEMs by Essential Evidence Plus to receive concise, daily email summaries of the latest clinical studies (cma.ca/poems).
  • Contact CMA librarians for MEDLINE searches and to help you plan search strategies and get the most from CMA’s clinical resources (librarian@cma.ca).
  • Get original clinical research, analyses and reviews, news, practice updates and editorials with CMAJ online at cmaj.ca and on the CMAJ app (cmaj.ca).
  • Enjoy access to the members-only section of doctorsNS.com and learn about practice opportunities in the province or read the latest issue of the association’s magazine.
  • Develop personal leadership skills through “Leadership begins with self-awareness,” an online course for students and residents (cma.ca/onlineleadership).

Money matters

  • Enjoy personalized, expert advice and best-in-class solutions to help you finance your education, manage your money and plan for your future needs through MD Financial Management. MD can help you access a full range of banking products1, including student lines of credit, chequing accounts, credit card products and mortgages.
  • Take advantage of unique savings programs from Doctors Nova Scotia and CMA, with discounts on car rentals, travel, hotels, cellphone plans, mobile software, fitness and leisure, and more (cma.ca/memberdiscounts).
  • Take advantage of group life and disability insurance through OMA Insurance. For details, visit www.omainsurance.com or call 800-268-7215, x2918.
  • Save money on home and auto insurance through TD Insurance Meloche Monnex.
  • Medical Student Bursary Program: Apply for bursaries through the Doctors Nova Scotia-Medical Student Bursary Program. Bursaries of up to $5,000 are awarded to selected medical students attending Dalhousie University.

These are just a few of the benefits of Doctors Nova Scotia and CMA membership. You must be a member of Doctors Nova Scotia to join the CMA. To learn more about Doctors Nova Scotia membership, visit doctorsns.com or call 902-468-1866. To learn more about CMA membership, visit cma.ca or contact the CMA Member Service Centre at 888-855-2555 (weekdays, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. ET) or memberservicecentre@cma.ca.

Stay connected

Doctors Nova Scotia

You must be a member of the Doctors Nova Scotia to join the CMA.

MD Financial Management provides financial products and services, the MD Family of Funds and investment counselling services through the MD Group of Companies. For a detailed list of these companies, visit md.cma.ca

1 Banking products and services are offered by National Bank of Canada through a relationship with MD Management Limited. Credit and lending products are subject to credit approval by National Bank of Canada. All life-licensed MD Management Advisors and MD Insurance Consultants have life licenses with MD Insurance Agency Limited.

Connexion

Étudier en médecine, c’est loin d’être facile

Doctors Nova Scotia et l’Association médicale canadienne vous soutiendront durant vos études en vous offrant des services de représentation, des outils et des conseils.

Tout cela et plus encore pour dix cents par jour

Doctors Nova Scotia et l’AMC sont les associations provinciale et nationale de la communauté médicale. L’adhésion coûte moins de dix cents par jour et offre de précieux avantages.

Une représentation efficace

  • La formation de l’AMC en personne ou par vidéoconférence sur la représentation peut vous aider à vous familiariser avec le processus politique et à apprendre comment représenter efficacement la profession médicale et changer les choses.
  • Le programme de contact médecins-députés vous met en contact avec votre député pour vous permettre de donner vos commentaires sur les questions importantes pour les étudiants en médecine, les résidents et les médecins.
  • L’AMC offre du soutien aux initiatives de représentation étudiante, comme les journées de lobbying, et vous aide à vous préparer aux événements pour que vous atteigniez vos objectifs stratégiques.

De l’information partout et en tout temps

  • Accédez gratuitement, partout et en tout temps à ClinicalKey, une collection complète et actuelle de manuels, de revues et de contenu multimédia, notamment des vidéos et des images médicales, dans plus de 30 domaines de spécialité (amc.ca/clinicalkey).
  • Accédez à des outils cliniques de pointe, dont la collection de résumés de données cliniques et de monographies de médicaments de DynaMed dans l’application mobile RxTx (amc.ca/ressources).
  • Inscrivez-vous aux courriels quotidiens POEMs d’Essential Evidence Plus pour recevoir chaque jour des résumés des plus récentes études cliniques (amc.ca/ressources).
  • Demandez aux bibliothécaires de l’AMC d’effectuer des recherches dans MEDLINE pour vous et de vous aider à planifier des stratégies de recherche et à tirer le maximum des ressources cliniques de l’AMC (bibliothecaire@amc.ca).
  • Obtenez des recherches cliniques originales, des analyses et des revues de la littérature, des nouvelles, des mises à jour sur la pratique et des éditoriaux dans le JAMC sur le site cmaj.ca et avec l’application du JAMC.
  • Accédez à la section réservée aux membres du site doctorsNS.com pour découvrir les possibilités de carrière en Nouvelle-Écosse et lire le plus récent numéro du magazine de l’association.
  • Développez vos compétences en leadership grâce au cours en ligne « Le leadership commence par la connaissance de soi », conçu pour les étudiants et les médecins résidents (amc.ca/leadershipenligne).

Vos finances sont importantes

  • Profitez des conseils personnalisés d’experts et de solutions hors pair pour vous aider à financer vos études, à gérer votre argent et à planifier en fonction de vos besoins futurs grâce à Gestion financière MD. MD vous permet d’accéder à un large éventail de produits bancaires1, notamment des marges de crédit pour étudiants, des comptes chèques, des cartes de crédit et des prêts hypothécaires.
  • Profitez des programmes uniques de Doctors Nova Scotia et de l’AMC, qui vous donnent des rabais sur la location de voitures, les voyages, les séjours à l’hôtel, les forfaits cellulaires, les logiciels pour appareils mobiles, les programmes de conditionnement physique, les loisirs et plus encore (amc.ca/rabaismembres).
  • Bénéficiez d’une assurance vie et invalidité collective par l’intermédiaire d’OMA Insurance. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le www.omainsurance.com ou téléphonez au 1 800 268 7215, poste 2918.
  • Économisez sur les assurances automobile et habitation grâce à TD Assurance Meloche Monnex.
  • Programme de bourses d’études en médecine : Soumettez votre candidature au programme de bourses d’études en médecine de Doctors Nova Scotia. Les bourses, d’un montant maximal de 5 000 $, sont remises à des étudiants en médecine de l’Université Dalhousie.

L’adhésion à Doctors Nova Scotia et à l’AMC comporte bien d’autres avantages. Pour adhérer à l’AMC, vous devez être membre de Doctors Nova Scotia. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’adhésion à Doctors Nova Scotia, rendez-vous à doctorsns.com ou téléphonez au 902 468-1866. Pour en savoir plus sur l’adhésion à l’AMC, consultez le amc.ca, communiquez avec le Centre des services aux membres au 1 888 855-2555 (du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h à 20 h HE) ou envoyez un courriel à centredeservicesauxmembres@cma.ca.

Restez branchés

Doctors Nova Scotia

Pour adhérer à l’AMC, vous devez être membre de Doctors Nova Scotia.

Gestion financière MD offre des produits et services financiers, la famille de fonds MD et des services-conseils en placement par l’entremise du groupe de sociétés MD. Pour obtenir une liste détaillée de ces sociétés, veuillez consulter notre site à l’adresse md.amc.ca.

1 Les produits et services bancaires sont offerts par la Banque Nationale du Canada dans le cadre d’une relation avec Gestion MD limitée. Les produits de crédit et de prêts sont soumis à une approbation du crédit par la Banque Nationale du Canada. Tous les conseillers de Gestion MD et conseillers en assurance MD détenant un permis d’assureur vie l’ont acquis auprès de l’Agence d’assurance MD limitée.