Sign In

The CMA Foundation Celebrates Its One-Year Anniversary

The CMA Foundation is proud to celebrate its first anniversary on May 4, 2018. The CMA Foundation was created by the Canadian Medical Association, in partnership with its subsidiaries MD Financial Management and Joule to provide impactful charitable giving to registered Canadian charities that further excellence in health care and support the causes physicians are most passionate about.

Since its formation, only a short year ago, the CMA Foundation has provided a number of significant grants that address the Foundation’s three pillars: medical education, physician wellness and outreach.

More specifically:

  • $399,500 for the CMA 150th Anniversary Bursaries and Awards Program: Launched in August 2017, in partnership with the CMA, this program celebrates the values of the medical profession and helps to alleviate some of the financial challenges faced by many Canadian medical students. Over five years, the CMA Foundation will provide bursaries in the amount of $8,500 and awards in the amount of $15,000 to more than 170 students from Canada’s 17 medical schools.
  • $50,000 to the Canadian Red Cross: In October 2017, this donation helped provide immediate and long-term disaster relief support, including care to Canadians affected by the wildfires in British Columbia.
  • $60,000 to Tree Canada: In November 2017, the CMA Foundation announced this grant to support the planting of healing trees on hospital grounds in Montreal, Toronto, Ottawa and Vancouver. This grant also supports MD Financial Management’s efforts to reduce the use of paper.
  • $60,000 for the Resident Doctors of Canada’s new resiliency training program: In November 2017, a grant of $60,000 was pledged to the Resident Doctors of Canada’s new resiliency training program to support the wellness of medical residents.
  • $20,000 to the Royal University Hospital Foundation: In April 2018, a donation of $20,000 was given to the hospital caring for survivors of the Humboldt Broncos bus tragedy. These funds helped provide immediate disaster-relief support for the Royal University Hospital and its staff as they responded to the tragic bus accident, through the ongoing treatment of patients and the mental and physical health of the medical staff.
  • $150,000 for the Healthy Canadians Grants program: Launched in May 2018, in partnership with the CMA, this new grant program will fund innovative grassroots health initiatives that support vulnerable populations and contribute to vibrant and healthy communities across Canada.

The CMA Foundation also supports the Donor Advised Fund program, which offers one of the most effective and tax-advantageous ways for donors to give to charity and establish a lasting legacy.

Building on the growth and success of its first year, the CMA Foundation, through collaborative relationships with partners, continues to focus on causes that directly support Canadian physicians and physician learners.

Connexion

La Fondation AMC célèbre son premier anniversaire

La Fondation AMC célèbrera avec fierté son premier anniversaire le 4 mai 2018. Créée par l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) en partenariat avec ses filiales, Gestion financière MD et JouleMC, la Fondation AMC est une fondation privée qui verse des dons à des organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés qui contribuent à promouvoir l’excellence des soins de santé et qui soutiennent les causes qui comptent le plus pour les médecins.

Depuis sa création il y a tout juste un an, la Fondation AMC a versé plusieurs contributions importantes conformément à ses trois orientations stratégiques : la formation médicale, le bien-être des médecins et le rayonnement de la profession médicale.

Voici quelques exemples :

  • Contribution de 399 500 $ au Programme de prix et bourses du 150e anniversaire de l’AMC : Lancé en août 2017 en partenariat avec l’AMC, ce programme célèbre les valeurs de la profession médicale et cherche à aplanir certaines des difficultés financières auxquelles se heurtent de nombreux étudiants en médecine. Sur une période de cinq ans, la Fondation AMC financera annuellement dans chaque faculté de médecine l’attribution d’un prix de 15 000 $ et d’une bourse de 8 500 $. Plus de 170 étudiants en médecine au Canada bénéficieront de cet appui financier.
  • Don de 50 000 $ à la Croix-Rouge canadienne : En octobre 2017, ce don a permis à l’organisation d’offrir une aide d’urgence immédiate et à long terme pour financer, entre autres, les soins offerts aux Canadiens victimes des feux de forêt en Colombie-Britannique.
  • Contribution de 60 000 $ à Arbres Canada : En novembre 2017, la Fondation AMC a annoncé le versement de cette contribution qui appuiera la plantation d’arbres de guérison sur les terrains d’hôpitaux de Montréal, de Toronto, d’Ottawa et de Vancouver. Cette contribution s’inscrit aussi dans la foulée des efforts de Gestion financière MD pour réduire sa consommation de papier.
  • Contribution de 60 000 $ au nouveau programme de formation à la résilience de Médecins résidents du Canada : En novembre 2017, une contribution de 60 000 $ a été offerte pour le nouveau programme de formation à la résilience de Médecins résidents du Canada pour favoriser le bien-être des médecins résidents.
  • Don de 20 000 $ à la Royal University Hospital Foundation : En avril 2018, un don de 20 000 $ a été versé à l’hôpital qui a pris en charge les survivants du tragique accident qui a décimé l’équipe des Broncos de Humboldt. Ces fonds ont permis d’offrir un soutien immédiat au Royal University Hospital, afin d’aider les employés à veiller au traitement continu des patients et à prendre soin de leur propre santé mentale et physique.
  • Contribution de 150 000 $ au programme de subventions « Canadiens en santé » : Lancé en mai 2018 en partenariat avec l’AMC, ce nouveau programme de subventions finance des initiatives de santé locales novatrices qui appuient les populations vulnérables et contribue au dynamisme et à la vitalité des collectivités canadiennes.

La Fondation AMC appuie aussi le programme des fonds désignés par le donateur, un des moyens les plus efficaces et le plus fiscalement avantageux pour un donateur de faire des dons à des organismes de bienfaisance et de laisser un héritage durable.

Forte des succès obtenus pendant sa première année d’activités, la Fondation AMC, en collaboration avec ses partenaires, continue d’appuyer les causes qui touchent directement les médecins, les résidents et les étudiants en médecine du Canada.