Sign In

CMA front and centre following Supreme Court decision

The perspective of the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) was one of the most widely sought after responses following the decision by the Supreme Court of Canada that current legislation banning medical aid in dying is unconstitutional.

CMA President Chris Simpson who was visiting the Northwest Territories on behalf of the CMA when the decision was made conducted interviews with most major media outlets in Canada including the CBC, CTV, Globe and Mail, Canadian Press, Postmedia and Maclean’s magazine on the day of, and the weekend following, the decision.

Simpson was able to clearly articulate the CMA’s main points about wanting to help craft any legislation dealing with medical aid in dying as well as respecting the perspectives of all CMA members on the issue.

The CMA also sent an email to all members the day of the decision stating these same views.

“Our main task now, as an association, is to work with the legislatures, our patients and others to make sure that any potential law contains safeguards against abuse and protects the rights of patients and physicians, both those who elect to participate and those who elect not to participate,” said Simpson in the letter.

One of the most detailed interviews with Simpson was conducted by John Geddes of Maclean’s.

“… over the next 12 months …. we’ll need to balance the need to provide this service (medical aid in dying) to the small number of patients who need it and are eligible for it and protecting physicians from being coerced if they don’t want to participate in this,” Simpson said in that interview.

“We have to provide the educational tools and the regulatory framework that would allow this to be done in a way that makes everyone feel that the vulnerable are meticulously protected, but that those who need this procedure do get it in a timely way.”

As he did with many other publications, Simpson also used the Maclean’s interview to restate the CMA’s position calling for better palliative care for all who require these services.

The CMA Board of Directors will consider the associations’ next steps on end-of-life care during its regularly scheduled meeting at the end of this month.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC au premier plan à la suite de la décision de la Cour suprême

Le point de vue de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) a été l’un des plus sollicités dans la foulée de la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada statuant que les lois existantes interdisant l’aide médicale à mourir sont inconstitutionnelles.

Le président de l’AMC, Chris Simpson, qui était dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest au nom de l’AMC quand la décision a été rendue, a accordé des entretiens à la plupart des principaux médias nationaux, dont CBC, CTV, le Globe and Mail, la Presse canadienne, Postmedia et le magazine Maclean’s le jour de la décision et la fin de semaine qui a suivi.

Le Dr Simpson a présenté clairement les principaux arguments de l’AMC, qui veut aider à élaborer toute mesure législative sur l’aide médicale à mourir, ajoutant qu’il est important de respecter le point de vue de tous les membres de l’AMC sur cette question.

Le jour où la décision a été rendue, l’AMC a envoyé un courriel qui réitérait son point de vue à tous ses membres.

« Notre principale responsabilité pour le moment est de collaborer avec les assemblées législatives, nos patients et d’autres intervenants afin d’assurer que toute mesure législative potentielle prévoit des garanties contre les abus et protège les droits des patients tout comme ceux des médecins, que ces derniers choisissent de participer ou non. » a dit le Dr Simpson.

L’un des entretiens les plus approfondis avec le Dr Simpson a été fait par John Geddes, du Maclean’s.

« […] au cours des 12 prochains mois […] nous allons devoir établir un équilibre entre la nécessité d’offrir ce service (l’aide médicale à mourir) au petit nombre de patients qui en ont besoin et qui y sont admissibles, et la protection des médecins, pour qu’ils ne soient pas contraints de fournir ce service s’ils ne le souhaitent pas », a dit le Dr Simpson.

« Nous devons offrir les outils éducatifs et établir le cadre réglementaire qui permettront d’atteindre cet objectif en assurant que tout le monde a le sentiment que les patients vulnérables sont scrupuleusement protégés, et que ceux qui ont besoin de cette intervention y ont droit en temps opportun. »

Comme il l’a fait avec nombre d’autres publications, le Dr Simpson a profité de l’entretien accordé au Maclean’s pour réitérer la position de l’AMC, qui réclame de meilleurs soins palliatifs pour tous ceux qui ont besoin de ces services.

Le Conseil d’administration de l’AMC va déterminer quelles seront les prochaines étapes pour l’AMC sur la question des soins de fin de vie à son assemblée prévue à la fin du mois.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.