Sign In

CMA highlights health impacts of cannabis to Senate committee studying legalization​

As the legislation to legalize cannabis works its way through Parliament, CMA representatives are appearing before the Senate committee studying the issue this month, to highlight the potential health impacts on Canadians. This study is one of the final steps in the legislative process for Bill C-45, which was introduced last year.

CMA President Dr. Laurent Marcoux and Vice-president of Medical Professionalism Dr. Jeff Blackmer will be appearing on April 18 before the Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science and Technology. They will be reiterating the CMA’s position in the following three areas:

• Public health
The federal government must adopt a public health approach in the legalization and regulation of cannabis — to protect children and youth, in particular. Such an approach would include public health promotion, harm reduction strategies, prevention of dependency and access to treatment.

• Packaging & labeling
Canadians must also be protected from any misleading claims on cannabis and be made aware that health products containing cannabis undergo different levels of scrutiny than prescription drugs, despite being regulated by Health Canada. Like tobacco and cigarettes, cannabis packaging and labeling provide an opportunity to raise awareness of the health, social and economic harms.

• Streamlined system
Lastly, with the legalization of cannabis now on the horizon, the need for two systems — one for recreational and one for medical purposes — is significantly reduced. Should the government maintain the two systems, despite the issue of access largely resolved, the legislation should include the requirement for evaluation within three years.

Although cannabis will soon be legalized in Canada, the CMA will continue to work to ensure that the impact on the health of Canadians and our health care system is understood and addressed. For more information on our work, please visit cma.ca/cannabis.

Highlights of our advocacy work on cannabis:

  • We recommended a broad public health approach in the legalization and regulation of cannabis in our August 2016 submission to the federal Task Force on Cannabis Legalization and Regulation.
  • We publicly supported the release of Canada’s Lower-Risk Cannabis Use Guidelines in July 2017, which provide 10 science-based recommendations to enable cannabis users to reduce their health risks.
  • We once again reinforced the need for a public health approach in our August 2017 submission to the House of Commons’ Standing Committee on Health.
  • In our January 2018 submission to Health Canada, we recommended that government and health professionals — not cannabis producers or distributors — design cannabis labeling and packaging to emphasize the health risks associated with consumption.
  • We’re currently partnering with our medical student and resident members to develop a national public health awareness campaign for youth, to be launched this summer.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC rappelle les effets du cannabis sur la santé au comité sénatorial qui en étudie la légalisation​

Alors que le projet de loi concernant le cannabis franchit les étapes du processus parlementaire, des représentants de l’AMC se présentent ce mois-ci devant le comité sénatorial chargé du dossier pour souligner les effets potentiels du cannabis sur la santé des Canadiens. L’étude par le comité est une des dernières étapes du processus législatif pour le projet de loi C-45, qui a été présenté l’année dernière.

Les Drs Laurent Marcoux, président de l’AMC, et Jeff Blackmer, vice-président au professionnalisme médical, prendront la parole le 18 avril devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires sociales, des sciences et de la technologie. Ils réitéreront la position de l’AMC sur les trois aspects suivants :

• Santé publique
Le gouvernement fédéral doit adopter une approche de santé publique à l’égard de la légalisation et de la réglementation du cannabis, notamment pour protéger les enfants et les jeunes. Cette approche comprendrait des éléments de promotion de la santé publique, de réduction des préjudices, de prévention de la dépendance et d’accès au traitement.

• Emballage et étiquetage
Les Canadiens doivent aussi être protégés des éventuelles affirmations trompeuses sur le cannabis et savoir que les produits de santé contenant du cannabis ne sont pas soumis au même degré d’examen que les médicaments sur ordonnance, même s’ils sont réglementés par Santé Canada. Comme pour le tabac et les cigarettes, l’emballage et l’étiquetage des produits du cannabis offrent l’occasion de sensibiliser la population aux méfaits de cette substance sur les plans social, financier et sanitaire.

• Système simplifié
Enfin, à l’approche de la légalisation, il semble beaucoup moins nécessaire d’avoir deux systèmes, soit l’un pour les produits destinés à l’usage récréatif et l’autre pour les produits destinés à l’usage médical. Si le gouvernement choisit de garder les deux systèmes, même si le problème de l’accès est principalement résolu, la législation devrait prévoir un examen triennal de la loi.

Malgré la légalisation prochaine du cannabis au Canada, l’AMC continuera de veiller à ce que les effets du cannabis sur la santé des Canadiens et sur notre système de santé soient bien compris et pris en compte. Pour en savoir plus sur notre travail, visitez la page amc.ca/lecannabis.

Faits saillants de notre travail de représentation sur le cannabis

  • Nous avons présenté en août 2016 un mémoire au Groupe de travail fédéral sur la légalisation et la réglementation du cannabis, dans lequel nous recommandions une approche de santé publique générale pour la légalisation et la réglementation du cannabis.
  • En juillet 2017, nous avons soutenu publiquement la diffusion des Directives canadiennes d’usage de cannabis à faible risque, qui présentent 10 recommandations fondées sur des données scientifiques visant à aider les usagers à réduire les risques pour leur santé.
  • Nous avons rappelé le besoin d’une approche de santé publique dans notre mémoire d’août 2017 au Comité permanent de la santé de la Chambre des communes.
  • Dans notre mémoire présenté en janvier 2018 à Santé Canada, nous avons recommandé que le gouvernement et les professionnels de la santé – et non les producteurs ou les distributeurs de cannabis – conçoivent les emballages et les étiquettes du cannabis pour souligner les risques de santé associés à la consommation.
  • Nous travaillons actuellement en collaboration avec nos membres étudiants et résidents à l’élaboration d’une campagne nationale de santé publique ciblant les jeunes, qui sera lancée cet été.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.