Sign In

CMA launches consultation on draft Charter of Shared Values

​As part of its ongoing work on medical professionalism, the CMA has launched a consultation on a draft Charter of Shared Values. The purpose of the charter is to articulate values to which physicians can commit to uphold in support of a unified profession, in the service of patients, specifically:

  1. Commitments to each other: The draft proposes five key values – respect, integrity, humility, civility and reciprocity. Together, the values are intended to be principles an individual physician must commit to when interacting with others.
  2. Commitments to the profession: The draft proposes promoting a culture of: respect and collegiality; self-care and support; inquiry and reflection; leadership and mentorship; and diversity.

CMA members who are interested in providing feedback on the draft charter can do so by completing the feedback form by Thursday, November 30, 2017. Feedback received will be integrated into a final draft to be presented to the CMA Board of Directors for ratification.

The charter is the first of three key deliverables under the CMA's medical professionalism initiative. Revisions to the CMA Code of Ethics and the development of an accountability framework will complete the three-pillar approach set by the Board in March 2017.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Lancement par l'AMC d'une consultation sur une Charte des valeurs communes provisoire

​Dans le cadre du travail qu'elle poursuit dans le dossier du professionnalisme médical, l'AMC lance une consultation sur une Charte des valeurs communes provisoire. La charte énonce les valeurs auxquelles les médecins peuvent s'engager à adhérer, à l'appui d'une profession unifiée, au service des patients :

  1. Engagements mutuels : La version provisoire propose cinq grandes valeurs – respect, intégrité, humilité, civilité et réciprocité – qui se veulent des principes auxquels doit adhérer un médecin dans ses interactions avec les autres.
  2. Engagements à l'égard de la profession : La version provisoire propose la promotion d'une culture de respect et de collégialité, d'autogestion de la santé et de soutien, de questionnement et de réflexion, de leadership et de mentorat, et de diversité.

Les membres de l'AMC qui souhaitent donner leur avis sur la charte provisoire peuvent le faire en répondant à ce questionnaire d'ici le jeudi 30 novembre 2017. Les commentaires recueillis seront intégrés à une version définitive qui sera présentée au Conseil d'administration de l'AMC aux fins de ratification.

La Charte est le premier de trois grands projets menés dans le cadre de l'initiative sur le professionnalisme médical de l'AMC. La révision du Code de déontologie de l'AMC et la mise au point d'un Cadre de responsabilisation compléteront l'approche en trois volets définie par le Conseil d'administration en mars 2017.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.