Sign In

CMA launches new online discussion forum

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) has launched a new mechanism to encourage members to provide their direct input on the most important policy issues being dealt with by the association.

The CMA Member Dialogue is an easy-to-use online discussion forum hosted on the cma.ca website and initiated last month in conjunction with the association’s first regional Members’ Forum held in Vancouver.

The member-only forum allows physicians to give feedback on issues affecting the profession as well as respond to key questions on emerging issues. It is part of a broader CMA strategy to better engage members at the grassroots level and encourage their participation in the policy development process.

“The CMA Member Dialogue is a new way for our members to communicate with the CMA on issues that are important to them,” said CMA President Cindy Forbes. “This is a safe environment for members to communicate with their colleagues and also share their ideas with the CMA.”

Feedback gathered as part of the CMA Member Dialogue will be used to develop relevant policies and advocacy strategies, identify issues to be dealt with by the CMA, and identify tools and resources to support physicians in these areas.

Currently, the CMA is seeking member input on three important issues: assisted dying, medical professionalism and immunization.

More than 50 comments have been posted to date on the CMA Member Dialogue expressing a wide range of views on each of these issues.

The intent is to post new dialogue themes and questions on an ongoing basis as well as to enhance the functionality of the dialogue to make it easier for members to participate productively. The forum is managed and moderated directly by the CMA.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC lance un nouveau forum de discussion en ligne

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) a créé un nouvel outil pour encourager ses membres à se prononcer directement sur les importants enjeux de politique publique auxquels l’Association est confrontée.

Le Dialogue avec les membres de l’AMC est un forum de discussion en ligne facile à utiliser hébergé dans le site cma.ca. Il a été lancé le mois dernier parallèlement au premier forum régional des membres de l’Association, tenu à Vancouver.

Ce forum réservé aux membres permet aux médecins de faire des commentaires sur les enjeux qui touchent la profession et de répondre à des questions clés sur les enjeux émergents. Il fait partie d’une stratégie plus vaste de l’AMC visant à mieux faire participer les membres localement et à les encourager à prendre part au processus d’élaboration des politiques.

« Le Dialogue avec les membres est une nouvelle façon pour nos membres de discuter avec l’AMC des enjeux qui sont importants à leurs yeux », a dit la présidente de l’AMC, Cindy Forbes. « C’est un cadre sûr qui permet aux membres d’échanger avec leurs collègues et de faire part de leurs idées à l’AMC. »

Les commentaires recueillis serviront à élaborer des politiques et des stratégies de représentation pertinentes, de cerner les enjeux dont doit s’occuper l’AMC et de définir des outils et des ressources afin de soutenir les médecins à cet égard.

En ce moment, l’AMC sollicite les commentaires des membres sur trois enjeux importants : l’aide à mourir, le professionnalisme médical et l’immunisation.

Plus de 50 commentaires ont été affichés jusqu’à présent, exprimant une vaste gamme de points de vue sur chacun de ces enjeux.

Le résultat visé est d’afficher de nouveaux sujets de dialogue et de nouvelles questions de façon continue, et d’améliorer l’aspect fonctionnel du dialogue pour qu’il soit plus facile pour les membres d’y participer de manière productive. Le forum est directement administré et modéré par l’AMC.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.