Sign In

CMA leaders make medical “power list”

Oct. 1, 2015 - Current and past Canadian Medical Association (CMA) presidents feature prominently in a list of 30 of the most powerful physicians in the country prepared by The Medical Post and published in the magazine’s September 15 edition.

“Current medical association presidents” was the second item on The Medical Post’s power list, noting the efforts of some of the doctors who have most recently held the office: Cindy Forbes, Chris Simpson, and Louis Hugo Francescutti.

The authors commend the gravity of work that each president, whether on a national or provincial/territorial level, takes on during their term.

“Being Canadian Medical Association president – or a provincial/territorial medical association president – is an incredible bully pulpit,” the article notes.

Another CMA past-president Jeff Turnbull was listed in the number six position, as the “crusader for the most vulnerable.” Besides being credited for his role as president of the CMA in 2010/2011 and the chief of staff at The Ottawa Hospital, Turnbull was primarily recognized for his efforts in caring for the most disadvantaged in society: the homeless.

“This is a man who didn’t just write some editorials about the homeless, he went out and raised significant money needed to start up the Inner City Health Project for the homeless in Ottawa,” said the authors.

Another familiar face making the list was Brian Day, who served as CMA president in 2007/2008. Besides being a successful Medical Director for a clinic in B.C., Day has also been a prominent political figure in the industry.

In addition to the list of most powerful and influential doctors in Canada, The Medical Post also published a list of 20 doctors to watch.

Samir Sinha was one of the doctors on this list.

Since 2010, he’s served as the director of geriatrics at Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto, and has been a tireless advocate for improving seniors care across the country.

Sinha is working closely with the CMA in advocating for development of a national seniors strategy to support the aging population and their complex care needs.

The CMA congratulates all doctors whose accomplishments were recognized.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Des dirigeants de l’AMC figurent sur la « liste des médecins les plus influents »

Le 1er octobre 2015 – Les présidents actuel et passés de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) figurent en bonne place sur une liste des 30 médecins les plus influents au pays, liste que le Medical Post a dressée et publiée dans son édition du 15 septembre 2015.

Les « présidents actuels d’associations médicales » constituaient la deuxième catégorie de la liste du Medical Post, qui souligne les efforts de certains des médecins qui ont le plus récemment occupé la présidence, à savoir Cindy Forbes, Chris Simpson et Louis Hugo Francescutti.

Les auteurs ont salué ces médecins qui font un travail capital, aux niveaux national, provincial ou territorial, lorsqu’ils assurent la présidence.

« Les présidents de l’Association médicale canadienne – ou des associations médicales provinciales ou territoriales – bénéficient d’une puissante tribune », peut-on lire dans l’article.

Un autre ancien président de l’AMC, le Dr Jeff Turnbull, figure en sixième position, comme « champion des plus vulnérables ». En plus d’avoir été reconnu pour son rôle de président de l’AMC en 2010-2011 et de médecin-chef à L’Hôpital d’Ottawa, le Dr Turnbull a été principalement louangé pour ses efforts en faveur des plus démunis dans la société, à savoir les sans-abri.

« Voici un homme qui ne s’est pas contenté d’écrire des éditoriaux au sujet des sans-abri. Il est allé chercher des fonds et a recueilli des sommes importantes, qui ont permis de lancer le Projet de santé urbaine d’Ottawa pour les sans-abri », ont dit les auteurs.

Un autre médecin bien connu qui figurait sur la liste était le Dr Brian Day, qui a occupé la présidence de l’AMC en 2007-2008. En plus d’être un directeur médical accompli dans une clinique en Colombie-Britannique, le Dr Day a aussi été une personnalité politique éminente dans l’industrie.

Outre cette liste des médecins les plus influents et puissants du Canada, le Medical Post a aussi publié une liste de 20 médecins à surveiller.

Le Dr Samir Sinha était l’un des médecins figurant sur cette liste.

Depuis 2010, il est directeur de la gériatrie à l’Hôpital Mount Sinai de Toronto. Il est aussi un promoteur infatigable de l’amélioration des soins des aînés partout au pays.

Le Dr Sinha travaille en étroite collaboration avec l’AMC à la promotion d’une stratégie nationale sur les aînés afin de soutenir la population vieillissante et ses besoins complexes de soins.

L’AMC félicite tous les médecins dont les réalisations ont ainsi été reconnues.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.