Sign In

CMA making the case for tax fairness

Most of Canada’s physicians – and CMA members – are self-employed and operate medical practices as small businesses, so statements by the federal government regarding potential alterations to the Canadian-Controlled Private Corporation (CCPC) framework have captured the attention and action of the CMA.

“We have followed a clear approach of communicating our position, undertaking research on the potential negative impacts that could result from changes to the CCPC regime, and ensuring the government understands the impacts of its potential decisions,” said Dr. Cindy Forbes, CMA President.

The CMA supports the commitment to support small businesses, such as medical practices, by reducing the small business tax rate from 11% to 9% given the significant challenges facing this sector. However, the CMA has also reached out to government decision-makers to explain and underscore the potential health sector impacts of possible changes to the current CCPC system.

In communicating to the government on this issue, the CMA makes clear that:

  • Canada’s physicians are highly skilled professionals, who provide a critical public service. Through their practices, physicians also create high quality jobs in communities across the country and contribute significantly to our country’s knowledge economy.
  • Canadian physicians are directly or indirectly responsible for hundreds of thousands of jobs across the country, they invest millions of dollars in local communities, and work to ensure that Canadians are able to access the care they need.
  • In addition to managing the many costs associated with running a medical practice, Canadian physicians typically enter the workforce with significant debt levels and at a later stage in life. For some, entering practice after training requires significant investment in a clinic or a practice.
  • Physicians cannot pass on the increased costs introduced by governments, such as changes to the CCPC framework, onto patients, as other businesses would do with clients.

As part of its pre-budget submission to the federal Minister of Finance, the CMA recommended that the federal government maintain tax equity for medical professionals by affirming its commitment to the existing framework governing CCPCs.

CMA members from across the country have also spoken out clearly on this issue, raising it in meetings with their Member of Parliament, writing letters to the federal government and outlining their concerns over the potential changes in a member survey.

The CMA also encourages members to consult and advise their tax, financial and legal advisors of their concerns of the government’s nebulous intention of bringing forward changes to the small business tax rate and the potential alteration of the CCPC framework eligibility. Associations representing these professionals are also engaging with finance officials on this issue.

The CMA will continue to press the government on this issue and will ensure members are aware of further developments.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC défend l’équité fiscale

Vu que la plupart des médecins du Canada – et des membres de l’AMC – sont des travailleurs autonomes qui gèrent leur pratique médicale comme une petite entreprise, l’AMC est interpellée par des déclarations du gouvernement fédéral au sujet de modifications éventuelles du cadre de réglementation des sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien (SPCC).

« Nous avons adopté une approche claire en faisant valoir notre position, en entreprenant des recherches sur les répercussions négatives que pourraient avoir des modifications du régime des SPCC et en veillant à ce que le gouvernement comprenne les effets de ses éventuelles décisions », a déclaré la Dre Cindy Forbes, présidente de l’AMC.

L’AMC accueille favorablement l’engagement du gouvernement à appuyer les petites entreprises comme les pratiques médicales en réduisant leur taux d’imposition pour le ramener de 11 à 9 %, étant donné les importants défis auxquels ce secteur fait face. L’AMC a toutefois communiqué avec les décideurs du gouvernement pour expliquer et souligner les répercussions que pourraient avoir sur le secteur de la santé d’éventuelles modifications du système actuel des SPCC.

Dans ces communications, l’AMC a notamment fait valoir les arguments suivants :

  • Les médecins du Canada sont des professionnels hautement qualifiés qui fournissent un service public important. Leurs pratiques contribuent aussi à créer des emplois de grande qualité dans des communautés de toutes les régions du pays et, de ce fait, les médecins participent considérablement à enrichir l’économie du savoir au Canada.
  • Collectivement, les médecins du Canada sont directement ou indirectement responsables de centaines de milliers d’emplois au Canada et investissent des millions de dollars dans les communautés locales. Par leur travail, les médecins veillent à ce que la population ait accès aux soins nécessaires.
  • Les médecins du Canada doivent non seulement composer avec les nombreux coûts associés à la gestion d’une pratique médicale, mais ils et elles arrivent aussi habituellement dans la population active plus tard dans la vie et très endettés. Dans certains cas, le lancement d’une pratique après la formation nécessite des investissements considérables dans une clinique ou un cabinet.
  • Les médecins ne peuvent pas faire payer aux patients les hausses de coûts imposées par les gouvernements, par exemple celles qui résulteraient de modifications du cadre des SPCC, comme le font les autres entreprises qui transmettent ces coûts à leurs clients.

Dans son mémoire prébudgétaire au ministre fédéral des Finances, l’AMC a recommandé que le gouvernement fédéral maintienne l’équité fiscale pour les professionnels de la médecine en affirmant son engagement à préserver le cadre réglementaire actuel des SPCC.

Les membres de l’AMC de toutes les régions du pays ont également exprimé clairement leurs préoccupations quant aux éventuels changements en rencontrant leur député fédéral, en écrivant au gouvernement fédéral et en répondant à un sondage des membres.

L’AMC encourage aussi les membres à consulter leurs conseillers fiscaux, financiers et juridiques et à leur faire connaître les préoccupations que soulève l’intention nébuleuse du gouvernement de modifier le taux d’imposition des petites entreprises et, possiblement, d’altérer les critères d’admissibilité au statut de SPCC. Les associations qui représentent ces professionnels ont elles aussi soulevé la question auprès des fonctionnaires du ministère des Finances.

L’AMC continuera à faire pression sur le gouvernement dans ce dossier et verra à tenir les membres informés de l’évolution de la situation.

 

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.