Sign In

CMA members’ forum dives deep on health issues

Response to the first-ever Canadian Medical Association (CMA) regional members’ forum held Nov. 23 in Vancouver has set the stage for increased involvement with members on critical issues facing the organization and the medical profession in Canada.

The Vancouver meeting brought together just under 100 demographically representative members from the four provinces and two territories west of Ontario. Issues discussed included:

  • end-of-life care;
  • increasing immunization uptake;
  • member engagement;
  • medical professionalism;
  • medical education;
  • sustainability of the health care system;
  • physician remuneration; and
  • physician wellness.

“This meeting was all about the CMA reaching out, engaging and taking a deep dive on the issues that matter to our profession and our patients,” said CMA President Cindy Forbes. “The CMA relies on input from its members since that is what sets the direction for our advocacy work on behalf of physicians and patients.”

The vast majority of participants who attended the forum had not previously been involved in CMA policy-setting work. As proof of that, a poll of participants done at the meeting showed that 78% had never attended CMA’s annual General Council meeting.

Along with participants who were new to CMA policy work, there were also several past CMA core committee and council members in attendance who were anxious to see how the CMA was going to engage with members differently.

“It is important that an organization continues to work to recreate itself and keep itself relevant,” said Dr. Susan Hutchison, a past member of several CMA committees and past chair of the CMA’s Forum on General and Family Practice Issues (GP Forum). “This type of meeting is excellent for that since it really is an opportunity to hear from different voices, voices that might not have been around the table in the past.”

Discussions during the day highlighted several recurring themes, notably that members want the CMA to continue to lead on national issues such as soon-to-be legalized assisted dying and improving immunization rates. Participants also said clearly that they want more and better communication on CMA’s advocacy efforts as well as more opportunities to engage with their national association.

“The CMA’s goal now is to take the success of the members’ forum and engage the rest of our members and colleagues,” said Forbes. “With technology, we have the tools to ensure that no member should feel disconnected from his or her national medical association.”

Members who want to provide their input on the issues being tackled by the CMA can engage at www.cma.ca/dialogue or on Twitter using the hashtag #MyCMAVoice.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Un forum des membres de l’AMC plonge au cœur des enjeux

La participation au tout premier forum régional des membres de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC), qui a eu lieu le 23 novembre à Vancouver, a préparé le terrain à une intervention accrue des membres dans les dossiers cruciaux qui mobilisent l’attention de l’organisation et de la profession médicale au Canada.

L’assemblée de Vancouver a réuni un peu moins d’une centaine de membres, représentatifs de la composition démographique des effectifs des quatre provinces et deux territoires à l’ouest de l’Ontario, pour discuter des questions suivantes :

  • les soins de fin de vie;
  • l’augmentation des taux de vaccination;
  • la mobilisation des membres;
  • le professionnalisme médical;
  • l’éducation médicale;
  • la viabilité du système de santé;
  • la rémunération des médecins;
  • le mieux-être des médecins.

« Avec cette rencontre, l’AMC voulait rejoindre les membres, les mobiliser et plonger au cœur des enjeux qui sont importants pour notre profession et pour nos patients », a déclaré la présidente de l’AMC, Cindy Forbes. « L’AMC compte sur l’apport de ses membres, car c’est ainsi qu’elle oriente son travail de représentation au nom des médecins et des patients. »

La grande majorité des participants au forum n’étaient jamais intervenus auparavant dans l’élaboration des politiques de l’AMC : lorsqu’on leur a posé la question, 78 % d’entre eux ont dit n’avoir jamais assisté à une assemblée du Conseil général de l’Association.

Outre ces nouveaux intervenants, plusieurs des participants étaient des anciens membres de comités principaux et conseils consultatifs de l’AMC qui souhaitaient voir comment l’AMC allait procéder désormais pour mobiliser ses membres différemment.

« Il est important pour une organisation de toujours travailler à se recréer et à demeurer pertinente », a affirmé la Dre Susan Hutchison, ancienne membre de plusieurs comités de l’AMC et ancienne présidente du Forum de l’AMC sur les enjeux de la pratique générale et familiale (Forum des OP). « Une réunion de ce genre est excellente à cette fin, car elle donne une véritable occasion d’entendre d’autres points de vue exprimés par des membres qui n’étaient peut-être pas intervenus dans les discussions par le passé. »

Les discussions de la journée ont dégagé plusieurs thèmes récurrents. Notamment, les membres veulent que l’AMC continue à faire preuve de leadership dans des dossiers nationaux tels que celui de l’aide à mourir, qui sera bientôt légalisée, et de l’amélioration des taux de vaccination. Les participants ont aussi dit clairement qu’ils veulent être mieux informés du travail de représentation de l’AMC et avoir davantage d’occasions de s’impliquer dans le travail de leur association nationale.

« Pour l’AMC, l’objectif consiste maintenant à s’inspirer du succès du forum pour mobiliser tous ses membres ainsi que nos autres collègues », a dit la Dre Forbes. « Grâce à la technologie, nous avons les outils nécessaires pour veiller à ce qu’aucun de nos membres ne se sente déconnecté de son association médicale nationale. »

Les membres qui souhaitent faire connaître leur point de vue dans les dossiers auxquels travaille l’AMC sont invités à participer au dialogue ici www.amc.ca/dialogue ou sur Twitter en utilisant le mot clic #mavoixAMC.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.