Sign In

CMA offers accredited course on care of the elderly

As the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) strengthens its campaign to place seniors care high on the political agenda, the association is also providing tools for its members to improve care for this patient population.

The association now offers an accredited CME course on care of the elderly, available online to CMA members exclusively.

The course discusses clinical cases covering several topics commonly experienced when caring for elderly patients in primary care. It also provides a practical approach to managing: falls, multiple medications, cognitive changes and weight loss.

“These are all problems that family physicians deal with each week, if not daily,” said CMA President Chris Simpson.

The clinical guidance offered in this course will help primary care physicians improve the quality of life for their geriatric patients, he said, adding “without excellent family medicine care of the geriatric patient, the impact of the aging population on our health care system and society will be even greater.”

The two-hour module is taught by: Dr. Christopher Frank, clinical leader of specialized geriatric services at Providence Care, Kingston, ON, and associate professor of medicine at Queen’s University; Dr. Michelle Gibson, director of student assessment, undergraduate medical education and assistant professor of medicine at Queen’s; Dr. Frank Molnar, medical director of the Regional Geriatric Program of Eastern Ontario and associate professor at the University of Ottawa.

Completion of the course is eligible for two MainPro–M1 credits from the College of Family Physicians of Canada and two Maintenance of Certification credits (Section 1) from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC offre des cours agréés sur les soins aux aînés

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) mène une campagne visant à faire inscrire la question des soins aux aînés en tête du programme politique. Alors que la campagne gagne en force, l’Association offre des ressources à ses membres pour les aider à améliorer les soins dispensés à cette population de patients.

Parmi ces ressources, un cours agréé d’EMC en ligne sur les soins aux aînés est offert exclusivement aux membres de l’AMC.

Par le biais d’études de cas, le cours aborde plusieurs dimensions courantes du soin des patients âgés en première ligne. Il propose aussi des moyens pratiques de gérer les chutes, la polymédication, les changements cognitifs et la perte de poids.

« Ce sont là des problèmes que les médecins de famille rencontrent toutes les semaines, sinon tous les jours », a dit le président de l’AMC, Chris Simpson.

Le Dr Simpson croit que les conseils cliniques proposés dans ce cours aideront les médecins de première ligne à améliorer la qualité de vie de leurs patients en gériatrie. Il ajoute que « faute d’excellence des soins aux personnes âgées en médecine familiale, les répercussions du vieillissement de la population sur notre système de santé et notre société seront encore plus grandes ».

Le module de deux heures est donné par le Dr Christopher Frank, directeur clinique des services spécialisés en gériatrie de Providence Care, à Kingston (Ont.), et professeur agrégé de médecine à l’Université Queen’s, la Dre Michelle Gibson, directrice de l’évaluation des étudiants en médecine de premier cycle et professeure adjointe de médecine à l’Université Queen’s, et le Dr Frank Molnar, directeur médical du Programme régional de gériatrie pour l’est de l’Ontario et professeur agrégé à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Le cours donne droit à deux crédits MainPro–M1 du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et à deux crédits de Maintien du certificat (Section 1) du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.