Sign In

Studying to be a physician isn’t easy

The Ontario Medical Association and the Canadian Medical Association will help you through medical school with resources, tools and advice.

All this and more for a dime a day

The OMA and CMA are the medical community’s provincial and national associations. Membership costs less than a dime a day, and provides invaluable benefits, including:

Effective advocacy

  • The CMA’s in-person or videoconference advocacy training can help you learn more about the political process, and how you can become an effective advocate for the medical profession and make a difference.
  • The MD-MP Contact Program connects you with your Member of Parliament so you can provide feedback on key issues for medical students, residents and physicians.
  • CMA provides support for student advocacy initiatives, such as lobby days, and help to prepare to for events to ensure you meet your strategic objectives.
  • The OMA represents the interests of the medical profession through responsive governance and appropriate physician engagement. The CMA advocates on your behalf with the federal government in support of the medical profession.
  • The OMA’s Health Care Advocacy Network provides access to training opportunities, messaging, frequent Queen’s Park updates, engagement opportunities with politicians and other resources for delivering consistent, impactful messages on issues that affect doctors and medical students, patients and the people of Ontario.
  • A three-day weekend of activities in Toronto focused on leadership and advocacy skills, including an opportunity to meet MPPs and discuss the important issues facing medical students today.
  • The Ontario Medical Student Association (OMSA) represents the views and concerns of Ontario’s more than 3,000 Ontario medical students (omsa.ca).

Information on the go

  • Free, anytime, anywhere access to ClinicalKey, a comprehensive and current collection of textbooks, journals and multimedia resources, including medical videos and images across 30+ specialities (cma.ca/clinicalkey).
  • Access best-in-class clinical tools, including DynaMed’s collection of evidence summaries and drug information on the RxTx Mobile App (cma.ca/resources).
  • Sign up for daily POEMs by Essential Evidence Plus to receive concise, daily email summaries of the latest clinical studies (cma.ca/poems).
  • Contact CMA librarians for MEDLINE searches and to help you plan search strategies and get the most from CMA’s clinical resources (librarian@cma.ca).
  • Get original clinical research, analyses and reviews, news, practice updates and editorials with CMAJ online at cmaj.ca and on the CMAJ app (cmaj.ca).
  • Stay up to date with Scrub-in and enjoy in-depth coverage of the issues and developments that affect medical students and the practice of medicine in Ontario. The Ontario Medical Review is a leading source of information on legislative affairs, healthcare policy, professional issues, health technology, practice management and more.
  • Develop personal leadership skills through “Leadership begins with self-awareness,” an online course for students and residents (cma.ca/onlineleadership).

Money matters

  • Enjoy personalized, expert advice and best-in-class solutions to help you finance your education, manage your money and plan for your future needs through MD Financial Management. MD can help you access a full range of banking products1, including student lines of credit, chequing accounts, credit card products and mortgages.
  • Take advantage of unique savings programs from the OMA and CMA, with discounts on car rentals, travel, hotels, cell phone plans, mobile software, fitness and leisure, and more (oma.org/advantages | cma.ca/memberdiscounts).
  • OMA Insurance is here to help you protect your financial future with the Student Special Offer, a simple and brilliantly affordable way to protect yourself with $100,000 of complimentary group life insurance* and significantly discounted disability insurance. Plus, preferred rates on auto, property, travel insurance and more. Learn more at OMAinsurance.com.

These are just a few of the benefits of OMA and CMA membership. To learn more about OMA membership, visit oma.org, call 800-268-7215 or email info@oma.org. To learn more about CMA membership, visit cma.ca or contact the CMA Member Service Centre at 888-855-2555 (weekdays, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. ET) or memberservicecentre@cma.ca.

Stay connected

Ontario Medical Association

You must be a member of the OMA to join the CMA.

MD Financial Management provides financial products and services, the MD Family of Funds and investment counselling services through the MD Group of Companies. For a detailed list of these companies, visit md.cma.ca

1 Banking products and services are offered by National Bank of Canada through a relationship with MD Management Limited. Credit and lending products are subject to credit approval by National Bank of Canada. All life-licensed MD Management Advisors and MD Insurance Consultants have life licenses with MD Insurance Agency Limited.

* Complimentary Group Life Insurance is provided by the OMA and underwritten by New York Life Insurance Company, Toronto.

Connexion

Étudier en médecine, c’est loin d’être facile

L’Ontario Medical Association et l’Association médicale canadienne vous soutiendront durant vos études en vous offrant des services de représentation, des outils et des conseils.

Tout cela et plus encore pour dix cents par jour

L’OMA et l’AMC sont les associations provinciale et nationale de la communauté médicale. L’adhésion coûte moins de dix cents par jour et offre de précieux avantages.

Une représentation efficace

  • La formation de l’AMC en personne ou par vidéoconférence sur la représentation peut vous aider à vous familiariser avec le processus politique et à apprendre comment représenter efficacement la profession médicale et changer les choses.
  • Le programme de contact médecins-députés vous met en contact avec votre député pour vous permettre de donner vos commentaires sur les questions importantes pour les étudiants en médecine, les résidents et les médecins.
  • L’AMC offre du soutien aux initiatives de représentation étudiante, comme les journées de lobbying, et vous aide à vous préparer aux événements pour que vous atteigniez vos objectifs stratégiques.
  • L’OMA défend les intérêts de la profession médicale en misant sur une gouvernance proactive et une mobilisation appropriée des médecins. L’AMC vous représente auprès du gouvernement fédéral pour appuyer la profession médicale.
  • Le Health Care Advocacy Network de l’OMA vous permet d’accéder à des occasions de formation, à des communications, à des mises à jour fréquentes sur ce qui se passe à Queen’s Park, à des possibilités d’engagement auprès des politiciens ainsi qu’à d’autres ressources vous permettant de vous exprimer sur les enjeux touchant les médecins, les étudiants en médecine, les patients et les habitants de l’Ontario.
  • L’adhésion vous donne accès à une fin de semaine de trois jours d’activités à Toronto axée sur les compétences en leadership et en représentation; il s’agit d’une occasion de rencontrer des députés provinciaux et de discuter des enjeux actuels auxquels sont confrontés les étudiants en médecine.
  • L’Ontario Medical Student Association (OMSA) est le porte-voix de plus de 3 000 étudiants en médecine de l’Ontario (omsa.ca).

De l’information partout et en tout temps

  • Accédez gratuitement, partout et en tout temps à ClinicalKey, une collection complète et actuelle de manuels, de revues et de contenu multimédia, notamment des vidéos et des images médicales, dans plus de 30 domaines de spécialité (amc.ca/clinicalkey).
  • Accédez à des outils cliniques de pointe, dont la collection de résumés de données cliniques et de monographies de médicaments de DynaMed dans l’application mobile RxTx (amc.ca/ressources).
  • Inscrivez-vous aux courriels quotidiens POEMs d’Essential Evidence Plus pour recevoir chaque jour des résumés des plus récentes études cliniques (amc.ca/ressources).
  • Demandez aux bibliothécaires de l’AMC d’effectuer des recherches dans MEDLINE pour vous et de vous aider à planifier des stratégies de recherche et à tirer le maximum des ressources cliniques de l’AMC (bibliothecaire@amc.ca).
  • Obtenez des recherches cliniques originales, des analyses et des revues de la littérature, des nouvelles, des mises à jour sur la pratique et des éditoriaux dans le JAMC sur le site cmaj.ca et avec l’application du JAMC.
  • Tenez-vous à jour grâce à Scrub-in, une publication qui traite en profondeur des questions et des dossiers qui touchent les étudiants en médecine et la pratique de la médecine en Ontario. L’Ontario Medical Review est la principale source de renseignements en ce qui concerne les affaires législatives, les politiques en matière de santé, les enjeux professionnels, les technologies de la santé, la gestion médicale et plus encore.
  • Développez vos compétences en leadership grâce au cours en ligne « Le leadership commence par la connaissance de soi », conçu pour les étudiants et les médecins résidents (amc.ca/leadershipenligne).

Vos finances sont importantes

  • Profitez des conseils personnalisés d’experts et de solutions hors pair pour vous aider à financer vos études, à gérer votre argent et à planifier en fonction de vos besoins futurs grâce à Gestion financière MD. MD vous permet d’accéder à un large éventail de produits bancaires1, notamment des marges de crédit pour étudiants, des comptes chèques, des cartes de crédit et des prêts hypothécaires.
  • Profitez des programmes uniques de l’OMA et de l’AMC, qui vous donnent des rabais sur la location de voitures, les voyages, les séjours à l’hôtel, les forfaits cellulaires, les logiciels pour appareils mobiles, les programmes de conditionnement physique, les loisirs et plus encore (oma.org/advantages | amc.ca/rabaismembres).
  • Protégez votre avenir financier en profitant de l’offre d’OMA Insurance conçue spécialement pour les étudiants. Il s’agit d’un moyen simple et économique de vous protéger grâce à une assurance vie collective gratuite de 100 000 $* et à une assurance invalidité à un prix très avantageux. Profitez également de taux préférentiels sur des assurances automobile, biens, voyage et bien plus. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site OMAinsurance.com.

L’adhésion à l’OMA et à l’AMC comporte bien d’autres avantages. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’adhésion à l’OMA, rendez-vous à oma.org, composez le 1 800 268 7215 ou envoyez un courriel à info@oma.org. Pour en savoir plus sur l’adhésion à l’AMC, consultez le amc.ca, communiquez avec le Centre des services aux membres au 1 888 855-2555 (du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h à 20 h HE) ou envoyez un courriel à centredeservicesauxmembres@cma.ca.

Restez branchés

Ontario Medical Association

Pour adhérer à l’AMC, vous devez être membre de l’OMA.

Gestion financière MD offre des produits et services financiers, la famille de fonds MD et des services-conseils en placement par l’entremise du groupe de sociétés MD. Pour obtenir une liste détaillée de ces sociétés, veuillez consulter notre site à l’adresse md.amc.ca.

1 Les produits et services bancaires sont offerts par la Banque Nationale du Canada dans le cadre d’une relation avec Gestion MD limitée. Les produits de crédit et de prêts sont soumis à une approbation du crédit par la Banque Nationale du Canada. Tous les conseillers de Gestion MD et conseillers en assurance MD détenant un permis d’assureur vie l’ont acquis auprès de l’Agence d’assurance MD limitée.

* L’assurance vie collective gratuite est offerte par l’OMA et souscrite par la New York Life Insurance Company de Toronto.