Sign In

CMA president leading way with social media

Canadian Medical Association President Chris Simpson considers Twitter and other forms of social media so important that he closed two of his recent speeches with specific reference to their value.

Speaking at both the International Conference on Physician Health in London, UK, and the Canadian Federation of Medical Students (CFMS) annual meeting in Kingston, ON, Simpson discussed how valuable he finds social media and why he thinks other physicians should follow his example.

“I think for leaders it (Twitter) is a tremendous resource,” said Simpson in a recent YouTube video. “It allows us to have quite detailed and sophisticated discourse.”

In support of this perspective, the CMA has recently become one of the only medical organizations in the world to offer its members an online learning module to inform them on how to use social media professionally.

The course provides a rationale for why physicians should consider using Twitter and other social media tools and platforms, and tips on how to use these tools safely and effectively. The online module is available at no cost to CMA members.

“This is a very effective resource,” said Dr. Alireza Jalali, professor of anatomy at the University of Ottawa and social media lead for the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. In addition to referencing Jalali, who has produced a popular video for the Royal College on how and why physicians should use social media, the CMA course also quotes international experts such as Dr. Farris Timimi, a cardiologist and medical director of the Mayo Clinic Center for Social Media, and Dr. Bryan Vartabedian, assistant professor at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, and a leading physician commentator on social media.

While the most recent CMA research shows few Canadian physicians are following the example of Simpson and Jalali, medical students appreciate the importance of learning how to use social media in education and practice.

Echoing Simpson’s comments Ali Damji, a second-year medical student at the University of Toronto and an Ontario regional representative for the CFMS, notes “there is a lot of value in social media. It provides future physicians with an avenue to engage in health promotion, education and advocacy with the communities we serve outside of hospitals, clinics and other traditional institutions.”

Canada is proving a leader in evaluating the role of social media in education. An upcoming symposium immediately prior to the International Conference on Residency Education in Toronto later this month is being billed as a summit specifically on that topic.

Another sign of the growing importance of social media and digital communications is the fact that the Canadian Medical Protective Association is dedicating a special issue of its magazine CMPA Perspective this month to how digital communications is changing health care.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Le président de l’AMC : chef de file des médias sociaux

Le président de l’Association médicale canadienne, Chris Simpson, accorde une telle importance à Twitter et aux autres médias sociaux qu’il a conclu deux de ses récents discours en en parlant expressément.

Prenant la parole à la Conférence internationale sur la santé des médecins tenue à Londres, au Royaume-Uni, et à l’Assemblée annuelle de la Fédération des étudiants et des étudiantes en médecine du Canada (FEMC) tenue à Kingston, en Ontario, le Dr Simpson a dit combien les médias sociaux sont utiles à ses yeux, et a expliqué pourquoi il pense que les autres médecins devraient lui emboîter le pas.

« Je crois que, pour les dirigeants, Twitter est une ressource formidable, a-t-il dit dans une vidéo récemment diffusée sur YouTube. Il nous permet d’avoir un discours détaillé et approfondi. »

Soutenant ce point de vue, l’AMC est récemment devenue l’une des seules organisations médicales du monde à offrir à ses membres un module d’apprentissage en ligne sur la façon d’utiliser les médias sociaux dans un cadre professionnel.

Le cours explique pourquoi les médecins devraient utiliser Twitter et les autres outils et plates-formes de médias sociaux, et donne des conseils pour une utilisation sûre et efficace. Le module en ligne est offert gratuitement aux membres de l’AMC.

« C'est une ressource très pratique », a dit le Dr Alireza Jalali, professeur d’anatomie à l’Université d’Ottawa et responsable des médias sociaux au Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada.

En plus de se référer au Dr Jalali, qui a produit pour le Collège royal une vidéo très populaire expliquant comment et pourquoi les médecins devraient utiliser les médias sociaux, le cours de l’AMC cite également des spécialistes internationaux comme le Dr Farris Timimi, cardiologue et directeur médical du Centre des médias sociaux de la Clinique Mayo, et le Dr Bryan Vartabedian, professeur adjoint au Baylor College of Medicine, à Houston, et commentateur de premier plan sur les médias sociaux dans le milieu médical.

Bien que les recherches les plus récentes de l’AMC indiquent que peu de médecins canadiens suivent l’exemple des Drs Simpson et Jalali, les étudiants en médecine sont conscients de l’importance d’apprendre à utiliser les médias sociaux dans le cadre de la formation et de la pratique.

Faisant écho aux propos du Dr Simpson, Ali Damji, un étudiant en deuxième année de médecine à l’Université de Toronto et un représentant régional de la FEMC en Ontario, a souligné que « les médias sociaux sont très utiles. Ils permettent aux futurs médecins de s’engager sur les enjeux de la promotion de la santé, de l’éducation et de la représentation auprès des communautés que nous servons, en dehors des hôpitaux, des cliniques et des institutions traditionnelles ».

Le Canada est un chef de file de l’évaluation du rôle des médias sociaux dans le milieu éducatif. Un symposium, qui aura lieu juste avant la Conférence internationale sur la formation des résidents à Toronto plus tard ce mois-ci, est considéré comme un sommet traitant expressément de ce sujet.

Un autre signe de l’importance grandissante des médias sociaux et des communications numériques est le fait que l’Association canadienne de protection médicale consacre un numéro spécial de son magazine Perspective ACPM ce mois-ci à la façon dont les communications numériques transforment les soins de santé.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.