Sign In

Federal Finance Committee echoes CMA’s vision for health care and tax fairness for physicians

OTTAWA—The House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance has brought forward several key Canadian Medical Association (CMA) pre-budget recommendations, including the need to maintain current rules allowing physicians to incorporate their practices.

In its report, the Committee quoted the CMA specifically and recommended that: “The federal government not make any changes to the current federal taxation regime and other rules as they apply to small businesses, including professional businesses, incorporated as Canadian controlled private corporations.”

The Finance Committee report, which was presented before Finance Minister Bill Morneau on March 11 also included numerous other recommendations relevant to CMA’s advocacy priorities.

CMA president Dr. Cindy Forbes spent a busy week was on Parliament Hill in early March advocating for CMA’s vision of what should be in the March 22 federal budget.

Dr. Forbes met with a number of senators and MPs—all members of prominent health and social committees— to discuss the CMA’s pre-budget submission, focused primarily on addressing the needs of Canada’s aging population.

“The federal government is a key investor in Canada’s health care system and with that comes a great deal of responsibility,” says Forbes. “We cannot keep investing in more of the same; we need to be talking about spending smarter.”

The CMA put forward seven recommendations to help guide federal leadership in health care—all of which were highlighted in the finance committee’s report to the government following pre-budget consultations. If implemented, these recommendations will provide direct support to the provinces and will lay a foundation for a new Health Accord.

The core recommendations are focused on three key objectives:

  • Supporting the provinces and territories in meeting the care needs of an aging population;
  • Expanding capacity of the continuing care sector, including home care; and
  • Cutting prescription costs.

These proposed measures are designed to be implemented over the 2016-17 fiscal year. Dr. Forbes says immediate implementation is necessary given that current resources are stretched too thin.

“Canadians are waiting far too long for many treatments while hospitals are being forced to double as long-term care homes,” says Dr. Forbes. “Meanwhile, all too often family members are struggling to care for loved ones without the system supports they need.”

So far federal engagement in health care looks promising with indications that providing more support for infrastructure — things like nursing homes and long-term care facilities — will be a major focus of the budget. Federal Health Minister Dr. Jane Philpott has also acknowledged the need to rethink how our system provides care, recognizing that our aging population requires more support to deal with complex and chronic health care issues.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Le Comité des finances fédéral fait écho à la vision de l’AMC des soins de santé et de l’équité fiscale des médecins

OTTAWA—Le Comité permanent de la Chambre des communes sur les finances a présenté plusieurs des recommandations prébudgétaires clés de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC), notamment la nécessité de maintenir les règles actuelles qui permettent aux médecins de se constituer en société.

Dans son rapport, le Comité cite expressément l’AMC et recommande que « Le gouvernement fédéral n’apporte aucun changement au régime d’imposition fédéral actuel et aux autres règles applicables aux petites entreprises, dont les professionnels, constituées en sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien ».

Le rapport du Comité des finances, qui a été soumis au ministre des Finances Bill Morneau le 11 mars, comprend également de nombreuses autres recommandations liées aux priorités de représentation de l’AMC.

La présidente de l’AMC, la Dre Cindy Forbes, a eu une semaine fort occupée sur la Colline du Parlement au début du mois de mars, présentant les mesures que l’AMC aimerait voir dans le budget fédéral du 22 mars.

La Dre Forbes a rencontré divers sénateurs et députés — qui siègent tous à d’importants comités sur la santé et les programmes sociaux — afin de discuter du mémoire prébudgétaire de l’AMC, qui traite principalement des besoins de la population vieillissante du Canada.

« Le gouvernement fédéral est un investisseur majeur dans le système de santé du Canada, ce qui entraîne de nombreuses responsabilités », a dit la Dre Forbes. « Nous ne pouvons pas continuer à investir dans les mêmes priorités; nous devons commencer à dépenser plus judicieusement. »

L’AMC présente sept recommandations afin de guider le leadership fédéral dans le domaine de la santé — ces recommandations ont été mises en lumière dans le rapport du Comité des finances soumis au gouvernement après les consultations prébudgétaires. Si elles sont mises en œuvre, ces recommandations permettront d’offrir un soutien direct aux provinces et de jeter les fondations d’un nouvel Accord sur la santé.

Les principales recommandations de l'AMC portent sur trois objectifs clés :

  • Aider les provinces et les territoires à répondre aux besoins d’une population vieillissante;
  • Améliorer la capacité du secteur des soins continus, ce qui comprend les soins à domicile;
  • Réduire le coût des médicaments d’ordonnance.

Les mesures proposées devraient être mises en œuvre au cours de l’exercice financier 2016-2017. Selon la Dre Forbes, il faut agir sans attendre, car les ressources existantes sont surutilisées.

« Les Canadiens attendent trop longtemps pour de nombreux traitements, alors que les hôpitaux sont obligés d’agir comme centres de soins de longue durée », affirme la Dre Forbes. « Parallèlement, il arrive trop souvent que les membres de la famille luttent pour prendre soin d’un proche sans bénéficier du soutien que le système devrait leur offrir. »

Jusqu’à présent, l’engagement fédéral envers la santé semble prometteur, certains signes indiquant qu’un soutien accru à l’infrastructure — comme des foyers de soins et des établissements de soins de longue durée — sera un élément majeur du budget. La ministre fédérale de la Santé, la Dre Jane Philpott, est également consciente de la nécessité de repenser comment notre système fournit les soins, reconnaissant que notre population vieillissante a besoin d’un meilleur soutien pour composer avec des problèmes de santé complexes et chroniques.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.