Sign In

CMA releases recommendations on assisted dying

CMA president Dr. Cindy Forbes was in Vancouver on Jan. 20-21 on the occasion of the meeting of Canada’s health ministers, where she announced the release of the association’s comprehensive recommendations on assisted dying.

In its Principles-Based Recommendations for a Canadian Approach to Assisted Dying, the CMA provides a framework based on 10 essential principles vital to physicians, patients and society as a whole.

Dr. Forbes and Dr. Charles Webb, President of Doctors of BC, hosted an information session on CMA’s framework with federal-provincial-territorial senior health officials in parallel to the intergovernmental meeting.

The development of the CMA’s framework followed an extensive public and physician consultation led by the association on end-of-life care, including physician-assisted dying.

The CMA’s final framework addresses the many medical, ethical and oversight issues raised by the Supreme Court of Canada’s decision on assisted dying in February 2015.

These include patient eligibility for access to and assessment for assisted dying; procedural safeguards to ensure eligibility criteria are met; the roles and responsibilities of the attending and consulting physicians; and how to balance the physician’s freedom of conscience with assurance of effective and timely patient access to a medical service.

At a reception hosted by the CMA and attended by health ministers, local physician-members and key stakeholders, Dr. Forbes expressed the association’s call for a consistent, pan-Canadian approach “to provide clarity and consistency for physicians and their patients.”

The CMA’s framework clearly emphasizes the need for systems and resources to facilitate effective patient access. In addition, Dr. Forbes also noted that the framework reinforces the CMA’s call for increased resources and access to high-quality palliative care.

Dr. Forbes reminded attendees that the CMA has long been an active leader on seniors care, palliative care and end-of-life issues. In 2014, it heard from Canadians across the country through a series of public town halls, and held a member-only, online dialogue on end-of-life care.

“By having had these countless, critical conversations, we were able to encapsulate the physician’s perspective on assisted dying while also recognizing the needs of patients,” Dr. Forbes said.

“The CMA strongly supports the federal government’s commitment to strengthen federal-provincial ties on health issues,” said Dr. Forbes. “We have a real opportunity to make meaningful change to our health care system by working together so that it better serves Canadians.”

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC présente des recommandations sur l’aide à mourir

La présidente de l’AMC, la Dre Cindy Forbes, était à Vancouver les 20 et 21 janvier à l’occasion de la rencontre des ministres de la Santé du Canada, où elle a annoncé la présentation des recommandations exhaustives de l’Association sur l’aide à mourir.

Dans son Approche fondée sur des principes pour encadrer l’aide à mourir au Canada, l’AMC présente un cadre reposant sur 10 principes essentiels qui sont d’une importance capitale pour les médecins, les patients et la société dans son ensemble.

La Dre Forbes et le président de Doctors of BC, le Dr Charles Webb, ont animé une séance d’information sur le cadre de l’AMC avec de hauts responsables de la santé des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, parallèlement à la rencontre intergouvernementale.

L’AMC a élaboré ce cadre à la suite de vastes consultations auprès du grand public et des médecins qu’elle a menées sur les soins de fin de vie, ce qui comprend l’aide médicale à mourir.

Le cadre final de l’AMC traite des nombreuses questions médicales, éthiques et liées à la supervision soulevées par la décision sur l’aide à mourir rendue par la Cour suprême du Canada en février 2015.

Il s’agit entre autres de l’admissibilité des patients à l’aide à mourir et de l’évaluation connexe, des mesures de protection procédurales assurant que les critères d’admissibilité sont respectés, des rôles et responsabilités des médecins traitants et consultants, et de l’équilibre entre la liberté de conscience du médecin et l’accès efficace et opportun du patient à un service médical.

Lors d’une réception organisée par l’AMC, à laquelle assistaient les ministres de la Santé, des médecins locaux et des intervenants clés, la Dre Forbes a souligné l’appel de l’Association pour une approche pancanadienne, « claire et cohérente, à l’intention des médecins et de leurs patients ».

Le cadre de l’AMC souligne clairement la nécessité d’avoir des systèmes et des ressources afin de faciliter l’accès efficace des patients. De plus, la Dre Forbes a noté que le cadre réitère l’appel de l’AMC pour des ressources additionnelles et un accès amélioré à des soins palliatifs de qualité.

La Dre Forbes a rappelé aux participants que l’AMC est un chef de file de longue date sur les questions des soins aux aînés et des soins palliatifs, et sur les enjeux de fin de vie. En 2014, l’Association a consulté les Canadiens, partout au pays, dans le cadre d’une série d’assemblées publiques, et a tenu un dialogue en ligne, réservé aux membres, sur les soins de fin de vie.

« Ces innombrables conversations critiques nous ont permis de résumer le point de vue des médecins sur l’aide à mourir, tout en reconnaissant les besoins des patients », a dit la Dre Forbes.

« L’AMC soutient fermement l’engagement du gouvernement fédéral à renforcer les relations fédérales-provinciales sur les enjeux liés à la santé », a ajouté la Dre Forbes. « Nous avons une véritable occasion de collaborer afin d’apporter des changements significatifs à notre système de santé pour qu’il serve mieux les Canadiens. »

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.