Sign In

CMA remains very concerned with unintended consequences of tax changes​

​Ottawa (ON) – December 13, 2017 – The CMA is disappointed that the federal government is moving ahead with income sprinkling changes in light of today’s report by the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance, which calls for the proposed changes to be withdrawn and a comprehensive review of the overall tax system to be undertaken.

The CMA remains very concerned with the unintended consequences of the tax changes – the most significant in 45 years. Most recently, reports continue to point to a chronic shortage of physician resources to address patient care needs in Canada. A predictable and stable environment is critical to promote thriving medical practices.

The CMA recommended a full exemption for spousal income and dividends for the new income sprinkling rules, recognizing that spouses/partners are integral to the risk and development of a business enterprise, including a medical practice. Additionally, the CMA expressed concerns on the subjectivity of the reasonability criteria and the administrative burden these would impose. The CMA is disappointed that those recommendations were not adopted.

The CMA and its members will continue to work with the Coalition for Small Business Tax Fairness to advance the perspectives of medical and business operators, and to explore options that can achieve our shared objectives of tax fairness. 

Dr. Laurent Marcoux
President

Connexion

L’AMC reste très préoccupée par les conséquences imprévues des modifications fiscales

​Ottawa (Ontario) – 13 décembre 2017 – L’AMC est déçue que le gouvernement fédéral aille de l’avant avec les modifications à la répartition du revenu, à la lumière rapport présenté aujourd’hui par le Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales qui demande que les modifications proposées soient retirées et qu’un examen exhaustif de l’ensemble du régime fiscal soit entrepris.

L’AMC reste très préoccupée par les conséquences imprévues de ces modifications fiscales – les plus importantes en 45 ans. De récents rapports indiquent qu’il existe toujours une pénurie chronique d’effectifs médicaux pour répondre aux besoins des patients au Canada. Un environnement stable et prévisible est essentiel pour promouvoir la prospérité des cabinets de médecins.

L’AMC recommandait l’exemption complète du revenu et des dividendes du conjoint des nouvelles règles sur la répartition du revenu, reconnaissant que les conjoints ou conjoints de fait font partie intégrante du risque et de l’évolution des entreprises familiales, y compris les cabinets de médecins. De plus, l’AMC a fait part de ses préoccupations sur la subjectivité du caractère raisonnable et du fardeau administratif que cela imposerait. L’AMC est déçue que ces recommandations n’aient pas été suivies.

L’AMC et ses membres vont continuer à travailler avec la Coalition pour l’équité fiscale envers les PME afin de défendre le point de vue des exploitants d’entreprises et des cabinets de médecins, et d’étudier des options pouvant permettre d’atteindre nos objectifs communs en matière d’équité fiscale. 


Le président de l’AMC,
Dr Laurent Marcoux