Sign In

CMA says central referral system critical piece of assisted dying legislation

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) is pressing the federal government to establish a central referral agency or process that would coordinate patient access for those seeking assistance in dying. This will ensure that all patients can effectively access this service, while also respecting physicians’ right to conscientiously object.

Dr. Jeff Blackmer, the CMA’s vice-president of medical professionalism, says a recent case of assisted dying in Canada—a Calgary woman was forced to travel to Vancouver to end her life—emphasizes the need for a central referral system as a critical component of federal legislation.

“[The CMA] is really focused on how to ensure that patients who qualify will have access without compromising the rights of physicians and other health care providers and that’s where we come to the importance of a central coordinated referral mechanism,” says Dr. Blackmer.

Troublingly for the CMA, this recommendation was left out of the parliamentary report on assisted dying released last month.

The 70-page report of the Special Joint Committee on Physician-Assisted Dying, titled Medical Assistance in Dying: A Patient Centred Approach, includes 21 recommendations and suggests a two-phase approach that would enable eligible Canadians suffering from “grievous and irremediable” medical conditions to access aid in dying.

The CMA was very pleased to see physician input reflected in a number of other recommendations specifically with regards to re-establishing a secretariat on palliative and end-of-life care and implementing a pan-Canadian palliative care strategy with dedicated funding.

However, the CMA did feel the report fell short with respect to the proposed mandatory referral process. This goes against what the medical group has been advocating for, as it does not respect the conscience of all physicians.

“There are physicians who see making a referral as morally analogous to doing the act itself,” says Dr. Blackmer.

As an alternative to establishing an obligation to refer, the CMA recommends that legislation not only include a centralized hub—which would help patients facilitate necessary connections with non-objecting health care providers—but that it also include positive obligations that a physician has when dealing with a patient who requests aid in dying.

“No one is suggesting that we force physicians to participate directly in assisted dying against their moral views. The more complicated issue is what positive obligations physicians have after that,” says Dr. Blackmer.

Under these guidelines, if a physician elects not to provide assisted dying, they must still talk to their patients about all the options available to them—including the act itself. Additionally, they must transfer the care of a requesting patient to another provider upon request of the patient. The goal is to ensure that patients are supported and will receive continuous care until transfer.

In order for this process to be successful, the CMA says there must be a consistent approach across provinces, including federally-coordinated reporting and oversight.

This week, CMA President Dr. Cindy Forbes wrote a letter to the federal health minister’s office to stress the importance of a collaborative national approach, which would ultimately prevent a patchwork of information with potentially detrimental effects on patients.

“As the June deadline fast approaches, it’s important that we work together to get this right,” says Dr. Forbes. “The CMA is ready to inform and support the federal government’s advancement of this legislation.”

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Loi sur l’aide à mourir : un système de référence central est un élément essentiel selon l’AMC

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) presse le gouvernement fédéral d’établir un organisme ou un processus de référence central afin de coordonner l’accès des patients qui veulent avoir recours à l’aide à mourir. Cela assurera un accès efficace à tous les patients, tout en respectant le droit des médecins de s’objecter à l’acte pour des raisons de conscience.

Selon le Dr Jeff Blackmer, vice-président du Professionnalisme médical de l’AMC, un cas récent d’aide à mourir au Canada—une femme de Calgary a été obligée de se rendre à Vancouver pour mettre fin à ses jours—souligne la nécessité d’un système de référence central comme élément critique de la loi fédérale.

« [L’AMC] veut vraiment assurer que les patients admissibles à ce service y ont accès sans que les droits des médecins et des autres fournisseurs de soins soient compromis, d’où l’importance d’un mécanisme de référence central coordonné », soutient le Dr Blackmer.

Fait troublant pour l’AMC, cette recommandation ne figurait pas dans le rapport parlementaire sur l’aide à mourir présenté le mois dernier.

Le rapport de 78 pages du Comité mixte spécial sur l’aide médicale à mourir, intitulé L’aide médicale à mourir : Une approche centrée sur le patient, présente 21 recommandations et propose une approche en deux phases qui permettrait aux Canadiens admissibles qui ont des problèmes de santé « graves et irrémédiables » d’avoir accès à l’aide à mourir.

L’AMC est particulièrement ravie de voir que le point de vue des médecins est pris en compte dans un certain nombre d’autres recommandations, surtout en ce qui a trait au rétablissement d’un secrétariat des soins palliatifs et des soins de fin de vie et à la mise en œuvre d’une stratégie pancanadienne sur les soins palliatifs, avec des fonds dédiés.

L’AMC estime toutefois que le rapport comprend des lacunes quant au processus de référence obligatoire proposé. Cela va à l’encontre de ce que le groupe médical défend, le droit de conscience de tous les médecins n’étant pas respecté.

« Pour certains médecins, sur le plan moral, référer un patient est similaire au fait de commettre l’acte en soi », affirme le Dr Blackmer.

Au lieu de créer l’obligation de référer les patients, l’AMC recommande que la loi comprenne non seulement une plaque tournante centralisée—ce qui aiderait les patients à établir les liens nécessaires avec des fournisseurs de soins qui ne s’objectent pas à ce service—, mais des obligations positives pour les médecins qui traitent des patients demandant l’aide à mourir.

« Personne ne sous-entend que nous obligeons les médecins à participer directement à l’aide à mourir en allant à l’encontre de leur point de vue moral. L’enjeu plus complexe est celui des obligations positives des médecins par la suite », dit le Dr Blackmer.

Selon ces directives, si un médecin choisit de ne pas offrir l’aide à mourir, il doit quand même parler au patient de toutes les options qui lui sont offertes—ce qui comprend l’acte lui-même. En outre, le médecin doit confier les soins du patient à un autre fournisseur de soins, à la demande du patient. Le but visé est d’assurer que les patients sont pris en charge et recevront des soins continus jusqu’à leur transfert vers un autre fournisseur de soins.

Selon l’AMC, pour que ce processus soit efficace, il doit y avoir une approche uniforme dans les provinces, notamment un mécanisme de rapport et de surveillance coordonné au palier fédéral.

Cette semaine, la présidente de l’AMC, la Dre Cindy Forbes, a écrit au bureau de la ministre fédérale de la Santé afin de souligner l’importance d’une approche collaborative nationale, ce qui éviterait d’avoir de l’information disparate pouvant avoir des conséquences négatives sur les patients.

« Alors que l’échéance de juin approche rapidement, il est important que nous collaborions afin d’obtenir des résultats positifs », a dit la Dre Forbes. « L’AMC est prête à orienter et à soutenir les travaux du gouvernement sur cette mesure législative. »

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.