Sign In

CMA strengthens ties with students

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) has strengthened its relationship with its student members through a collaborative partnership between financial management subsidiary MD Financial Management (MD) and the Canadian Federation of Medical Students (CFMS) — with MD now the federation’s exclusive partner for financial services.

“This is definitely a win-win for both organizations,” said CMA President Chris Simpson. The CFMS at its spring General Assembly in Vancouver approved the new partnership.

"We are pleased to be working together with the CFMS to provide even better support to Canadian medical students," said Mike Gassewitz, MD's executive vice-president of Member Solutions.

"As a CMA company, we are dedicated to meeting physicians' financial needs throughout their lives and careers, and this starts in medical school. This partnership will enable us to help more medical students take the worry out of their finances and start their careers on the best possible financial footing, leaving them able to focus on their studies."

Simpson said: “The partnership demonstrates the strong commitment by CMA to support medical students in all facets of their life and work. It shows that CMA, through MD, will help ensure students succeed as they begin their careers, whether it is providing advice on debt management, paying for medical school or preparing for residency and practice.”

"We're very excited to be entering into this partnership with MD," said Bryce Durafourt, CFMS president. "Students will benefit from an improved level of support from CFMS and MD through a wide range of information, events and services that have been specifically created with them in mind."

Medical student members have access to MD's specialized network of advisors, who can address the financial needs and goals of medical students including advice about how to finance medical education while minimizing debt. Student and resident members can also take advantage of a special line of credit.

The partnership is just one element of the CMA’s renewed drive to support its medical student members, also demonstrated by making new clinical tools available to them and providing students with more opportunity to participate in the association’s decision-making processes.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC se rapproche des étudiants

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) vient de renforcer ses liens avec ses membres étudiants à la suite d’une entente de partenariat intervenue entre sa filiale, Gestion financière MD (MD), et la Fédération des étudiants et des étudiantes en médecine du Canada (FEMC). Avec ce partenariat, MD est aussi devenue le fournisseur exclusif de services financiers de la Fédération.

« Il s’agit d’une solution gagnante pour tout le monde », a affirmé Chris Simpson, le président de l’AMC. La FEMC a approuvé ce nouveau partenariat lors de son assemblée générale tenue ce printemps à Vancouver.

« Nous sommes ravis de cette occasion de collaborer avec la FEMC en vue d’offrir un meilleur soutien aux étudiants en médecine du Canada », a indiqué Mike Gassewitz, vice-président directeur des Solutions aux membres de MD.

« En tant qu’entreprise de l’AMC, notre engagement premier consiste à répondre aux besoins financiers des médecins tout au long de leur vie et de leur carrière, dès la faculté de médecine. Grâce à ce partenariat, nous pourrons aider un plus grand nombre d’étudiants en médecine à réduire le stress lié aux questions financières et à amorcer leur carrière sur des bases financières aussi solides que possible, ce qui leur permettra de se concentrer sur leurs études. »

« Ce partenariat démontre le ferme engagement de l’AMC à soutenir les étudiants en médecine dans tous les aspects de leur vie et de leur travail. Il montre que l’AMC, par l’intermédiaire de MD, va les aider à réussir alors qu’ils commencent leur carrière, par exemple en leur donnant des conseils sur la gestion des dettes, en les aidant à financer leurs études ou en les préparant pour la résidence et l’exercice de la profession », a ajouté le Dr Simpson.

« Nous sommes ravis d’avoir conclu ce partenariat avec MD », a pour sa part indiqué Bryce Durafourt, le président de la FEMC. « Renseignements variés, événements et services conçus expressément pour eux… les étudiants bénéficieront à plusieurs niveaux du soutien accru offert par la FEMC et MD. »

De plus, les étudiants en médecine ont dorénavant accès au réseau de conseillers spécialisés de MD, qui peuvent répondre à leurs besoins financiers et les aider à atteindre leurs objectifs, notamment en leur offrant des conseils pour financer leurs études et éviter de trop s’endetter. Les membres étudiants et résidents peuvent aussi bénéficier d’une marge de crédit spéciale.

Ce partenariat n’est qu’une des facettes de l’engagement renouvelé de l’AMC envers ses membres étudiants, un engagement qu’elle a déjà démontré en leur offrant de nouveaux outils cliniques ainsi que la possibilité de participer à ses processus décisionnels.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.