Sign In

CMA takes recommendations for assisted dying legislation to Parliament Hill

Canadian Medical Association (CMA) President Dr. Cindy Forbes was in Ottawa Jan. 27 to present the association’s Principles-based Recommendations for a Canadian Approach to Assisted Dying to the House-Senate Special Joint Committee on Physician-Assisted Dying.

Dr. Forbes, accompanied by Dr. Jeff Blackmer, vice-president of Medical Professionalism, briefed the committee on the physician and patient perspectives concerning the need for a pan-Canadian approach to physician-assisted dying, including a federal legislative response.

As well as providing an overview of the association’s public and member consultations on end-of-life care, Dr. Forbes flagged two critical issues for consideration of the Special Joint Committee.

First, in drafting legislation, parliamentarians must ensure the legislative and regulatory framework achieves an appropriate balance between physicians’ ability to follow their conscience and patient rights to access to end-of-life care, Dr. Forbes said.

Physician opinions are divided on the issue of assisted dying and the Supreme Court of Canada’s Carter decision has opened the way for a very significant change for physicians. The CMA supports physicians who will choose to provide or participate in assistance in dying and those who will choose not to provide or participate in it.

“Part of the joint obligation of governments and stakeholders is to ensure effective patient access by putting in place sufficient resources and systems”, said Dr. Forbes. “The CMA’s framework accounts for differences of conscience by recommending the creation of resources to facilitate patient access.”

The second critical issue underscored by Dr. Forbes is the need for legislators to develop a consistent, pan-Canadian framework in the new law.

“It is critical that we provide clarity for physicians and their patients and develop a consistent approach across all jurisdictions,” she told the committee. “The CMA is keenly aware of the risk if we don’t—that a patchwork of differing and potentially conflicting approaches may easily emerge. And that would not serve anyone well.”

Dr. Forbes stressed that physicians want to cooperate with legislators to help them meet the deadline for new legislation established by the Supreme Court.

“We look to Parliament for leadership to support the development of a pan-Canadian, national approach. The CMA’s framework provides critical guidance for decision-makers in this respect.”

The Special Joint Committee was appointed to make recommendations to Parliament on the framework for the federal response on physician-assisted dying by Feb. 26.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC présente ses recommandations concernant la loi sur l’aide à mourir sur la colline du Parlement

La présidente de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC), la Dre Cindy Forbes, était à Ottawa le 27 janvier afin de présenter l’Approche fondée sur des principes pour encadrer l’aide à mourir au Canada au Comité mixte spécial de la Chambre et du Sénat sur l’aide médicale à mourir.

La Dre Forbes, en compagnie du Dr Jeff Blackmer, vice-président du Professionnalisme médical, a informé le comité du point de vue des médecins et des patients sur la nécessité d’avoir une approche pancanadienne sur l’aide médicale à mourir, ce qui comprend une mesure législative fédérale.

En plus de présenter un résumé des consultations menées par l’AMC auprès du grand public et de ses membres, la Dre Forbes a soulevé deux enjeux importants devant être pris en considération par le comité mixte spécial.

D’abord, les parlementaires doivent veiller à ce que le cadre législatif et réglementaire assure un juste équilibre entre la liberté de conscience des médecins et le droit des patients de recourir à des soins de fin de vie, a dit la Dre Forbes.

Les médecins ont des opinions divergentes sur le sujet, et la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada dans l’affaire Carter a ouvert la porte à des changements de taille dans le monde médical. L’AMC soutient les médecins qui acceptent de pratiquer l’aide à mourir ou d’y prendre part, de même que ceux qui s’y refusent.

« L’obligation conjointe des gouvernements et des intervenants consiste entre autres à assurer l’accès efficace des patients par la mise en place de ressources et de systèmes suffisants, a dit la Dre Forbes. Le cadre de l’AMC tient compte des différences de conscience en recommandant la création de ressources visant à faciliter l’accès des patients. »

Finalement, selon la Dre Forbes, il faut que la nouvelle loi comprenne un cadre uniforme à l’échelle du Canada.

« Nous devons absolument fournir des renseignements clairs aux médecins et à leurs patients, et adopter une approche uniforme à l’ensemble du pays, a dit la Dre Forbes au comité. L’AMC sait très bien que si nous ne le faisons pas, nous risquons d’assister à la naissance d’un éventail d’approches divergentes et potentiellement contradictoires, ce qui n’avantagerait personne. »

La Dre Forbes a souligné que les médecins veulent coopérer avec les législateurs afin de les aider à respecter l’échéance fixée par la Cour suprême.

« Nous nous tournons vers le Parlement pour qu’il fasse preuve de leadership et soutienne l’élaboration d’une approche pancanadienne. Le cadre de l’AMC constitue un document d’orientation critique pour les décideurs à cet égard. »

Le Comité mixte spécial a été formé afin de faire des recommandations au Parlement sur le cadre de la réponse du gouvernement fédéral sur l’aide médicale à mourir d’ici le 26 février.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.