Sign In

CMA to take on “alternate universe of facts” hindering vaccination

The Canadian Medical Association is preparing to take a high-profile stance in support of strategies to improve immunization rates.

At its May meeting, the CMA Board of Directors endorsed several resolutions that will go to the association’s annual General Council meeting in August, including calling for proof that all children attending child care or school have received age-appropriate immunizations except where medically contraindicated.

The board also endorsed development of a multi-year business plan to address challenges to immunization, including outlining the physician role. Specific objectives and deliverables will be brought to the October 2015 board meeting.

“Physicians have a critical role to play in vaccination,” said CMA President Chris Simpson. “It’s an important issue to me because it’s difficult … to understand why a demographic is ignoring medical advice,” he said, commenting on the anti-vaccination movement and its reliance on “an alternate universe of facts”.

The CMA has a long-standing record backing immunization initiatives, based on support for the recommendations of the National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI). Since 2005, the association has provided resources to physician offices to encourage vaccination and is on record as supporting the development of a national immunization strategy.

Simpson notes that immunization in Canada is a complex issue and that, with few exceptions, the provinces consistently fall below national targets for vaccine coverage for six preventable diseases: invasive meningococcal disease, invasive pneumococcal disease, varicella, pertussis, influenza and rubella. Simpson said this is even true of the two – Ontario and New Brunswick – where childhood vaccination is mandatory.

As well as calling for mandatory proof of vaccination for children, the resolutions to be discussed in August deal with strategies focusing on parents who are vaccine-hesitant, encouraging the development of vaccine registries and promoting the critical role physicians have in immunization.

“While immunization is an area that impacts the practice of a majority of CMA members, both family practitioners and specialists, the medical community has not been very vocal in the current conversations,” the CMA background paper on the subject notes. “This is a vacuum that CMA could fill by playing a major role in bringing together the expertise to support its members, work(ing) to improve immunization rates and ultimately improve population health.”

The CMA is also working with the Canadian Federation of Medical Students to develop a resolution for General Council on standardization of medical school vaccination protocols across the country.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC s’attaque aux obstacles à la vaccination

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) se prépare à adopter une position beaucoup plus ferme en appui aux stratégies visant à améliorer les taux de vaccination.

Lors de sa récente réunion, le Conseil d’administration de l’AMC a adopté plusieurs résolutions qui seront présentées à l’assemblée annuelle du Conseil général en août, parmi lesquelles une résolution proposant qu’une preuve de vaccination soit exigée pour tous les enfants fréquentant la garderie ou l’école, sauf en cas de contre-indication médicale.

Le Conseil d’administration a également appuyé l’élaboration d’un plan pluriannuel visant à relever les défis liés à la vaccination, notamment en ce qui a trait au rôle du médecin. Les objectifs et les résultats attendus devront lui être présentés en octobre 2015.

« Les médecins ont un rôle essentiel à jouer dans la vaccination », a affirmé Chris Simpson, président de l’AMC.

« Il s’agit d’un enjeu important à mes yeux et j’ai du mal à comprendre pourquoi une certaine partie de la population refuse de tenir compte de l’avis médical », a-t-il ajouté, faisant allusion au mouvement d’opposition à la vaccination et aux faits sur lesquels il s’appuie.

L’AMC soutient depuis longtemps les initiatives de vaccination à l’appui des recommandations du Comité consultatif national de l’immunisation. Depuis 2005, l’Association fournit des ressources aux cabinets de médecins en vue d’encourager la vaccination et appuie ouvertement l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale de vaccination.

Le Dr Simpson souligne que la vaccination au Canada constitue un enjeu complexe. En effet, dans toutes les provinces canadiennes, à quelques rares exceptions près, le taux de couverture vaccinale est systématiquement inférieur aux objectifs nationaux pour six maladies évitables par la vaccination : la méningococcie invasive, la pneumococcie invasive, la varicelle, la coqueluche, l’influenza et la rubéole. Même les deux provinces où la vaccination infantile est obligatoire, soit l’Ontario et le Nouveau-Brunswick, présentent des taux de vaccination inférieurs aux objectifs.

En plus de réclamer une preuve de vaccination obligatoire pour les enfants, les résolutions qui feront l’objet de discussions en août portent sur des stratégies axées sur les parents qui sont réticents à la vaccination, sur l’élaboration de registres de vaccination et sur la sensibilisation au rôle important des médecins dans la vaccination.

« Bien que la vaccination ait une incidence sur la pratique de la plupart des membres de l’AMC, généralistes ou spécialistes, la communauté médicale s’est montrée plutôt discrète dans les discussions actuelles sur la vaccination », peut-on lire dans le document d’information de l’AMC sur le sujet. « L’AMC pourrait combler cette lacune en contribuant activement à la mobilisation de l’expertise nécessaire pour appuyer ses membres, augmenter le taux de vaccination et, ainsi, améliorer la santé globale de la population. »

Outre ses efforts pour surmonter les défis liés à la vaccination au sein de la population générale, l’AMC travaille en collaboration avec la Fédération des étudiants et des étudiantes en médecine du Canada en vue d’élaborer à l’intention du Conseil général une résolution sur la normalisation des protocoles de vaccination dans les facultés de médecine de l’ensemble du pays.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.