Sign In

CMA urges feds to reconsider appeal against reinstating refugee benefits

A letter from the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) urging the federal government to reconsider its appeal of the decision to reinstate health care for refugees has prompted a similar response from other medical organizations.

Earlier this month, CMA President Chris Simpson wrote to Citizenship and Immigration Minister Chris Alexander asking him to revisit the federal government’s appeal of the Federal Court ruling released on July 4, 2014 (Canadian Doctors for Refugee Care v AG Canada; 2014 FC 651). That ruling called changes to the Interim Federal Health Program (IFHP) unlawful and unconstitutional.

“It is imperative that health coverage for refugees be reinstated immediately given the significant health implications that have resulted from the 2012 changes to the IFHP,” Simpson wrote.

As a result of the changes implemented in June 2012, all refugees except those who are government-assisted and victims of human trafficking lost access to coverage for medical care unless it is urgent or essential. For some groups, such as refugee claimants from designated countries of origin, even essential medical care was denied — with treatment being provided only if there is a risk to public health or public safety.

“I urge you to consider the overwhelming evidence provided by expert, front-line health care practitioners showing that these changes have had significant deleterious effects on the health of refugees,” he added. “Any delay in reversing the cuts and addressing the health needs of these vulnerable individuals will have significant effects.”

At least nine other health associations have urged the federal government not to appeal the court decision, with many of those letters citing support for the CMA position. The organizations include the College of Family Physicians of Canada, Canadian Psychiatric Association, Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians and the Canadian Federation of Medical Students.

Canadian Doctors for Refugee Care –one of the organizations that successfully challenged the initial government decision – has also condemned the move to appeal the decision.

"It's another sad day for refugees”, said Dr. Philip Berger, founding member of Canadian Doctors for Refugee Care and medical director of the Inner City Health Program at St. Michael’s Hospital, Toronto, in a release. “The Conservative government is recklessly choosing to let vulnerable people, including pregnant women and ill children, suffer rather than accept the very clear and comprehensive decision of the court."

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC presse le gouvernement fédéral de reconsidérer son pourvoi en appel contre le rétablissement des soins aux réfugiés

Une lettre de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) pressant le gouvernement fédéral de reconsidérer son pourvoi en appel de la décision de rétablir les soins de santé pour les réfugiés a poussé d’autres organisations médicales à réagir de façon similaire.

Plus tôt ce mois-ci, le président de l’AMC, Chris Simpson, a écrit au ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l’Immigration, Chris Alexander, pour lui demander de revoir le pourvoi en appel par le gouvernement de la décision rendue par la Cour fédérale le 4 juillet 2014 (Médecins canadiens pour les soins aux réfugiés c. Procureur général du Canada; 2014 FC 651). Cette décision stipule que les changements apportés au Programme fédéral de santé intérimaire (PFSI) sont illégaux et inconstitutionnels.

« Il est impératif de rétablir immédiatement la couverture de santé des réfugiés compte tenu des implications majeures des changements apportés au PFSI en 2012 », a écrit le Dr Simpson.

En raison des changements apportés au Programme fédéral de santé intérimaire (PFSI) en juin 2012, les réfugiés, à l’exception de ceux qui sont pris en charge par le gouvernement, et les victimes de la traite des personnes, n’avaient plus accès à la couverture médicale, sauf si les soins étaient urgents ou essentiels. Certains groupes de réfugiés, dont ceux venant de pays d’origine désignés, n’avaient même pas droit à des soins médicaux essentiels, un traitement étant offert uniquement en cas de risque pour la santé ou la sécurité publique.

« Je vous presse de tenir compte des preuves accablantes fournies par des spécialistes, praticiens de première ligne, qui indiquent que ces changements ont de graves conséquences négatives sur la santé des réfugiés, a-t-il ajouté. Tout retard accusé pour annuler ces compressions budgétaires et répondre aux besoins de ces personnes vulnérables aura des répercussions considérables. »

Au moins neuf autres organisations médicales ont exhorté le gouvernement fédéral à ne pas porter la décision en appel, et nombre d’entre elles ont dit soutenir la position de l’AMC dans des lettres envoyées au gouvernement. Ces organisations sont entre autres le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, l’Association des psychiatres du Canada, l’Association canadienne des médecins d’urgence et la Fédération des étudiants et des étudiantes en médecine du Canada.

Médecins canadiens pour les soins aux réfugiés – l’une des organisations qui a contesté avec succès la décision initiale du gouvernement – a également condamné ce pourvoi en appel.

« C'est encore un triste jour pour les réfugiés », a dit le Dr Philip Berger, membre fondateur de Médecins canadiens pour les soins aux réfugiés et directeur médical du programme Inner City Health à l’Hôpital St. Michael’s de Toronto, dans un communiqué. « Le gouvernement conservateur choisit avec témérité de laisser souffrir des personnes vulnérables, dont des femmes enceintes et des enfants malades, au lieu d’accepter la décision limpide et exhaustive de la cour. »

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.