Sign In

CMA voices support for residential schools commission

The work of the commission investigating the residential schools system in Canada – where thousands of aboriginal children were taken from their homes and died or suffered abuse – has been recognized by the Canadian Medical Association (CMA).

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada is scheduled to present its recommendations this week after five years of research.

In an extraordinary motion brought forward by Northwest Territories physician Dr. Ewan Affleck and supported by CMA President Chris Simpson, the CMA Board of Directors acknowledged completion of the work by the commission “and the importance of recognizing and not forgetting the terrible impact that the residential school system has had and, as a consequence of ongoing intergenerational trauma, continues to have, on the health of many First Nations, Inuit and Métis people of Canada.”

“Some will ask if this is the role of the CMA, and indeed it is” said British Columbia board member Dr. Nasir Jetha.

Affleck said the legacy of the residential school system continues to have a huge impact in the North, with many individuals facing “massive health care issues” as a clear consequence of being residential school survivors.

He said he was presenting the resolution “in the spirit of truth and reconciliation.”

Quebec physician Dr. Laurent Marcoux was one of many board members who spoke in favour of the resolution, which passed unanimously.

After working with the Cree people for four years, Marcoux said it was clear to him that the residential schools are not just a bad memory; many people he saw “are living the impact.”

Simpson feels it is very important for national organizations such as the CMA to take a symbolic stand and recognize the work of the commission. He said the impact of the aboriginal schools had already been recognized internationally through a presentation by CMA former president Dr. Anna Reid at a recent London, UK, conference on the social determinants of health.

The CMA needs to give public support to the commission findings to aid in the healing process for Canada’s native peoples, Simpson and other board members affirmed.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’AMC appuie les travaux de la Commission relatifs aux pensionnats indiens

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) a reconnu le travail de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation du Canada relativement aux pensionnats indiens au Canada – où des milliers d’enfants autochtones ont été retirés de force à leur famille et sont morts ou ont été victimes d’abus.

Après cinq ans de recherche, la Commission devrait présenter ses recommandations cette semaine.

Dans une résolution extraordinaire présentée par le Dr Ewan Affleck, médecin aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, et appuyée par le Dr Chris Simpson, président de l’AMC, le Conseil d’administration de l’AMC a reconnu l’achèvement des travaux de la Commission « et l’importance de reconnaître et de ne pas oublier les terribles séquelles que le système des pensionnats a eues et, en raison des traumatismes intergénérationnels persistants, continue d’avoir sur la santé de nombreux membres des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis du Canada ».

« Certains se demanderont si c’est le rôle de l’AMC, et la réponse est oui », a déclaré le Dr Nasir Jetha, membre du Conseil pour la Colombie-Britannique.

Le Dr Affleck a déclaré que le système des pensionnats indiens continue d’avoir un impact considérable dans le Nord, où de nombreuses personnes sont confrontées à « d’énormes problèmes de santé », une conséquence directe d’être des survivants des pensionnats.

Il a ajouté qu’il présentera la résolution « dans l’esprit de la vérité et de la réconciliation ».

Le Dr Laurent Marcoux, médecin québécois, était l’un des nombreux membres du Conseil qui ont pris la parole pour appuyer la résolution adoptée à l’unanimité.

Après avoir travaillé parmi les Cris pendant quatre ans, le Dr Marcoux a dit qu’il était clair que les pensionnats ne sont pas seulement un mauvais souvenir. Bien des personnes qu’il a rencontrées continuent de « vivre leur impact encore aujourd’hui ».

Le Dr Simpson estime qu’il est très important pour les organisations nationales comme l’AMC d’adopter une position symbolique et de reconnaître le travail de la Commission. Il ajoute que l’impact des pensionnats indiens avait déjà été reconnu à l’échelle internationale lors d’une présentation de la Dre Anna Reid, ancienne présidente de l’AMC, à l’occasion d’une récente conférence sur les déterminants sociaux de la santé tenue à Londres, au Royaume-Uni.

L’AMC se doit d’appuyer publiquement les conclusions de la Commission pour contribuer au processus de guérison des peuples autochtones du Canada, ont affirmé le Dr Simpson et d’autres membres du Conseil.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.