Sign In

Corporate Privacy Policy Respecting the Collection, Use and Disclosure of Personal Information (“Privacy Policy”)

Why a Corporate Privacy Policy?

The Canadian Medical Association (“CMA”) and Joule Inc. (“Joule”) (a wholly owned subsidiary of CMA) value your privacy and we act to ensure that it is protected. This Corporate Privacy Policy sets out CMA and Joule’s current practices and conforms with legislative requirements that organizations have a written privacy policy. In developing this policy, we referenced the 10 principles of the Canadian Standards Association’s Model Code, which has been incorporated into federal privacy legislation.

What is the scope of this Policy?

This Privacy Policy applies to all personal information collected, used or disclosed by us, whether a CMA member or member of the public. It does not apply to CMA or Joule employee information and information in the public domain.

We have a separate but consistent online privacy policy for the CMA Web site (www.CMA.ca). This Privacy Policy does not apply to MD Financial Management Inc. (MDFMI), its subsidiaries and affiliates.

What do we mean by ‘Personal Information’?

Throughout this policy, we use the phrase “personal information”. “Personal information” is information that reveals a distinctive trait about yourself and helps others identify you. Some personal information such as your business address may be found in the public domain by accessing publications like telephone or professional directories. The focus of this policy is personal information collected, used and disclosed by us that is NOT in the public domain.

What types of personal information do we collect and use?

Primarily, we collect and use personal information about our members. We also have personal information about individuals who purchase our products and services, attend our events, conferences, seminars and/or participate in our task forces/committees/working groups, and submit manuscripts to our publications.

We assign a personal identifier to each member or customer so that you can use this number when contacting us, ordering our products and services and publications or registering for an event on our Web site. This identifier is also used by CMA’s subsidiaries e.g., Joule Inc. and MDFMI.

We collect personal information directly from individuals, or receive it from one of the provincial or territorial medical associations (“PTMAs”) or subsidiaries, the CMA group of subsidiary companies, including our financial services company, MDFMI, and/or our knowledge and innovation business, Joule Inc.

For instance:

  • If you are a CMA member, you may provide personal information like your home address, date of birth and gender to the CMA, or a PTMA or a CMA subsidiary which is then shared with CMA, on, for examples an application form, signing up for an App, participating in a community of interest, registering for a course or publication subscription.
  • If you are both a client of one or more of CMA’s financial subsidiaries and a CMA member, the fact of your client status, will be known to us but not detailed financial information is identified. A circumscribed and limited number of our employees, all of whom receive enhanced privacy training and sign specific undertakings, will have access to more detailed MDFMI information such as frequency of meetings about your MD client status (but not any specific financial transactional details) in order to perform statistical analysis and facilitate referrals between CMA and its subsidiaries.
  • If you have attended an event organized through our Meetings Department, you might have provided us with credit card data as well as information about certain travel preferences and food sensitivities.
  • If you have purchased a service such as classified advertising or attended one of our seminars (e.g., Physician Leadership Institute), or used our e-commerce registration system you provided us with personal contact information such as your name, address and credit card information.
  • If you have submitted a manuscript for publication by CMAJ, you provided us with contact information, financial disclosure and competing interests data and the manuscript itself.
  • If you participate in one of our surveys, panels, committees, communities of interest, task forces and/or working groups, you might provide us with personal contact information such as your name, email address, address and/or telephone number.

Why do we collect and use personal information?

We collect and use only the personal information necessary to achieve the following objectives or one consistent with one or more of these objectives:

  1. to determine an individual’s eligibility for membership in the CMA or to serve as a potential contributor to a publication;
  2. to determine an individual’s eligibility to benefit from the services of one of CMA’s subsidiaries or its preferred third-party suppliers;
  3. for registration and participation in cma.ca, member forums, publications, courses, and community of interest;
  4. to communicate information about CMA member benefits and provide CMA Member services, such as the delivery of publications, clinical resources, financial services, travel reservations, e-panels, etc.);
  5. to gain insight, to develop and market products and services tailored to the interests of CMA members and the purchasers of our products and services;
  6. to update information in our contact database;
  7. to provide individuals with the opportunity to benefit from supporting our foundation;
  8. to assist the CMA, Joule, MDFMI and PTMAs with the maintenance of all of our membership databases and client contact information;
  9. to conduct surveys and studies of physicians, patients and the public to gain perspectives on topics impacting health care in Canada (see separate Survey Policy: https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/corporate-policy-covering-surveys-english.pdf);
  10. to engage members, physicians, the public and patients in CMA’s policy development process and advocacy work; and/or
  11. to broadcast urgent health alerts of national significance.

When and to whom do we disclose personal information?

We do not sell personal information. We will only disclose your personal information in accordance with this Privacy Policy. In all other circumstances we will clearly disclose to you in advance what personal information may be shared and would obtain your consent. For example, one purpose identified above is maintaining up-to-date membership and client contact information; in such a case, personal information would be shared. The CMA shares a core data field for the purposes of updating addresses and confirming membership status with its subsidiaries, Joule and MDFMI. In addition to this, we seek to have a better understanding and appreciation of your relationship and interaction with our organizations. Knowledge of your participation in our events, activities, courses, or use of products, is part of our understanding of your engagement with CMA, which contributes to maintaining a complete “integrated” profile. If a CMA member objects, a note will be entered in the database.

If you are both a CMA member and a client of Joule or MDFMI when you inform us of an address change, with your permission, this information will be changed for all three organizations.

We might also disclose personal information to third party service providers or to organizations or companies that are not CMA-affiliated companies or Divisions if these organizations have contracted or partnered with us to help in the provision of products, services or do research. For example, we might utilize a software survey platform of a third party or we might out-source the mailing function for one of our publications. In these instances, we take measures to ensure that personal information is managed appropriately and consistent with our policy.

We may, in certain instances, contract with a third party service provider located in other countries. Your information may be processed and stored in other countries and the governments, courts or law enforcement or regulatory agencies may be able to obtain disclosure of your information under a lawful order made in that country. If you would like more information about the jurisdictions in which our service providers may operate please contact us as noted in the Addressing Your Concerns section of this Policy.

Within the CMA family of companies, your personal information in the form of interactions with the CMA, Joule and/or MDFMI may be shared amongst CMA, Joule and MDFMI. This will enable us to have a better understanding of your interests and activities such that we might tailor our product and service offerings to your interests. If a CMA member objects, a note will be entered in the database.

What if I object to any collection, use or disclosure of personal information?

We aim at all times to respect and honour your privacy and communication preferences. For instance, if you indicate to us that you do not wish to receive certain publications, participate in surveys or receive information about new or specific benefits and services such as communications from CMA or its subsidiaries, your preference will be noted and you will no longer receive correspondence from us on these issues. Our emails have an “unsubscribe” link, please use this to no longer receive information from us on certain topics. You may also contact the CMA Member Service Centre at 888 855 2555.

You may also at any time, subject to restrictions required by law, object to our collection, use or disclosure of personal information under this Policy. You need only provide us with reasonable notice in writing of your intention and the details of your objection.

Please note, however, that any such objection to the collection, use or disclosure of personal information may mean that we are unable to provide you with some or all of our products or services including CMA Member benefits. For example, if you object to the sharing of your CMA membership status with CMA’s subsidiaries, then you may not be eligible to benefit from their products or services. MDFMI has to confirm your CMA membership status in order to offer CMA members financial services.

It is your responsibility to contact us in order to determine how an objection to the collection, use and disclosure of personal information might affect the services supplied.

How accurate is the personal information held by us?

We make every reasonable effort to ensure the accuracy and currency of your personal information so that we might fulfill the purposes for which it was first collected. Please therefore advise us accordingly of any relevant changes so that we might better meet your needs.

How do I access the personal information held by you?

You may send a written request to the attention of the Chief Privacy Officer, CMA at 1867 Alta Vista Drive, Ottawa, Ontario, K1G 5W8 or to privacy@CMA.ca to obtain a report on the personal information held about you by the CMA and/or Joule. Within a reasonable time frame, the Chief Privacy Officer will then advise you in writing whether it has such personal information and the nature of this information unless there is the rare occurrence that the release of such information is legally prohibited. If we cannot release the personal information, we will provide you with the reasons for denying access.

You may challenge the accuracy and completeness of the personal information that is maintained by the CMA. The CMA will amend personal information when an individual successfully demonstrates inaccuracy or incompleteness.

How secure is my personal information?

We make every reasonable effort to protect your personal information by implementing security safeguards against loss or theft, as well as unauthorized access, disclosure, copying, use or modification. We use physical, organizational and technological measures as methods of protection. For instance, only a limited number of staff have access to sensitive information, such as credit card numbers. Moreover, we ensure that employees are aware of the importance of maintaining the confidentiality of personal information.

How long do we retain personal information?

We keep personal information as long as it is needed to fulfill the purposes identified above. When personal information is no longer required to fulfill the identified purposes, it will be safely and securely destroyed. Moreover, we will retain personal information that is the subject of an access request for as long as is necessary to allow an individual to exhaust any legal remedy that is provided for in applicable federal or provincial/territorial legislation.

What if I have a question or concern about this privacy policy or privacy practices?

You may address any questions or concerns relating to this privacy policy or our privacy practices to the Chief Privacy Officer, 1867 Alta Vista Drive, Ottawa, Ontario, K1G 5W8, privacy@CMA.ca or 800 663 7336 x 8256.

For more information about your personal privacy rights, you might contact the Privacy Commissioner of Canada at https://www.priv.gc.ca/en or the applicable privacy commissioner in your province or territory.

Connexion

Politique organisationnelle de l’AMC sur la protection, la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation de renseignements personnels (« Politique sur la vie privée »)

Pourquoi adopter une politique organisationnelle sur la protection des renseignements personnels?

L’Association médicale canadienne (« AMC ») et Joule inc. (« Joule ») (une filiale en propriété exclusive de l’AMC) tiennent à respecter votre vie privée et prennent des mesures pour protéger la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels. Cette politique organisationnelle sur la vie privée énonce les pratiques actuelles de l’AMC et de Joule et répond aux exigences législatives envers les organisations en ce qui a trait à l’élaboration d’une politique écrite sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Pour formuler cette politique, nous nous sommes inspirés des 10 principes du Code type de l’Association canadienne de normalisation, qui a été intégré à la législation fédérale.

Quelle est l’envergure de cette politique?

La présente « Politique sur la vie privée » s’applique à tous les renseignements personnels, aussi bien des membres de l’AMC que des membres du public, que nous recueillons, utilisons ou divulguons. Elle ne s’applique pas aux renseignements des employés de l’AMC ou de Joule, ni aux renseignements qui appartiennent au domaine public.

Nous avons une politique distincte sur la protection des renseignements personnels en ligne pour le site Web de l’AMC (www.amc.ca). Cette « Politique sur la vie privée » ne s’applique pas à Gestion financière MD inc. (GFMD), ses filiales et sociétés affiliées.

Qu’entendons-nous par « renseignements personnels »?

Dans toute la présente politique, nous utilisons l’expression « renseignements personnels ». Nous entendons par « renseignements personnels » des renseignements qui révèlent une caractéristique distinctive à votre sujet et permettent autrui de vous identifier. On peut trouver certains renseignements personnels, comme votre adresse professionnelle, dans des documents publics comme des annuaires téléphoniques ou des répertoires de professions. La présente politique vise les renseignements personnels NON publics que nous recueillons, utilisons et divulguons.

Quels types de renseignements personnels recueillons-nous et utilisons-nous?

Nous recueillons et utilisons surtout des renseignements personnels au sujet de nos membres. Nous détenons aussi des renseignements personnels de personnes qui achètent nos produits et services, participent à nos activités, conférences, séminaires, groupes de travail ou comités, ou soumettent des manuscrits pour nos publications.

Nous attribuons un identificateur personnel à chaque membre ou client afin de vous permettre d’utiliser ce numéro lorsque vous communiquez avec nous, commandez nos produits, services ou publications ou lorsque vous vous inscrivez à un événement sur notre site Web. Cet identificateur est aussi utilisé par les filiales de l’AMC, c’est-à-dire Joule et GFMD.

Nous recueillons des renseignements personnels directement des personnes en cause ou nous les recevons de l’une des associations médicales provinciales ou territoriales (« AMPT ») ou de leurs filiales, ou encore du groupe des filiales de l’AMC, notamment notre société de services financiers, GFMD, et de notre entreprise d’innovation, Joule

Par exemple :

  • Si vous êtes membre de l’AMC, vous fournirez peut-être à l’AMC ou à une AMPT ou une filiale de l’AMC (qui partageront ensuite ces renseignements avec l’AMC), au moment de remplir un formulaire de demande, de télécharger une application, de participer à une communauté d’intérêts, de vous inscrire à un cours ou de vous abonner à une publication, des renseignements personnels comme votre adresse à domicile, votre date de naissance et votre sexe.
  • Si vous êtes à la fois client d’une ou de plusieurs des filiales financières de l’AMC et membre de l’AMC, nous connaîtrons votre statut de client, mais non les détails de vos renseignements financiers. Un nombre circonscrit et limité de nos employés, qui bénéficient d’une formation approfondie sur le respect de la vie privée et doivent signer des engagements précis, auront accès aux renseignements plus détaillés de GFMD, notamment à la fréquence des réunions au sujet de votre statut de client de MD (mais non aux détails particuliers de transactions financières), afin d’effectuer des analyses statistiques et de faciliter les recommandations entre l’AMC et ses filiales.
  • Si vous avez participé à un événement organisé par l’entremise de notre Service des conférences, vous avez pu nous fournir des données sur vos cartes de crédit, ainsi que des renseignements au sujet de certaines allergies alimentaires et de certaines préférences sur le plan des voyages.
  • Si vous avez acheté un service comme une petite annonce, participé à un de nos séminaires (p. ex., Institut de leadership des médecins) ou utilisé notre système d’inscription au commerce électronique, vous nous avez fourni vos coordonnées personnelles comme vos nom et adresse et des renseignements sur votre carte de crédit.
  • Si vous avez soumis un manuscrit pour publication dans le JAMC, vous nous avez fourni vos coordonnées, une divulgation financière, des données sur des intérêts concurrents et le manuscrit même.
  • Si vous participez à nos sondages, panels, comités, communautés d’intérêts ou groupes de travail, vous nous fournirez peut-être vos coordonnées personnelles comme votre nom, votre adresse de courriel, votre adresse ou votre numéro de téléphone.

Pourquoi recueillons-nous et utilisons-nous des renseignements personnels?

Nous recueillons et utilisons seulement les renseignements personnels nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs suivants ou dans un but conforme à un ou plusieurs de ces objectifs :

  1. déterminer si une personne a le droit d’être membre de l’AMC ou de contribuer éventuellement à une publication;
  2. déterminer si une personne est admissible aux services d’une filiale de l’AMC ou de ses fournisseurs tiers privilégiés;
  3. permettre l’inscription et la participation à amc.ca, aux forums des membres, publications, cours et communautés d’intérêts;
  4. communiquer de l’information sur les avantages dont bénéficient les membres de l’AMC et fournir des services aux membres de l’AMC (p. ex., distribution de publications, ressources cliniques, services financiers, réservations de voyage, forums électroniques, etc.);
  5. obtenir des commentaires dans le but de mettre au point et commercialiser des produits et des services personnalisés en fonction des intérêts des membres de l’AMC et des acheteurs de nos produits et services;
  6. mettre à jour les renseignements de notre base de données sur nos contacts;
  7. offrir à des personnes l’occasion de bénéficier de l’appui qu’elles accordent à notre fondation;
  8. aider l’AMC, Joule, GFMD et les AMPT à tenir à jour toutes nos bases de données sur nos membres et les contacts avec nos clients;
  9. effectuer des sondages et des études auprès des médecins, des patients et du public afin d’obtenir leur point de vue sur des enjeux qui touchent les soins de santé au Canada (voir la Politique sur les sondages, un document distinct: https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/advocacy/corporate-policy-covering-surveys-french.pdf);
  10. faire participer les membres médecins, le public et les patients au processus d’élaboration de politiques et au travail de représentation de l’AMC;
  11. diffuser des messages d’alerte urgents et d’importance nationale.

Quand et à qui divulguons-nous des renseignements personnels?

Nous ne vendons pas de renseignements personnels. Nous divulguerons vos renseignements personnels uniquement selon les paramètres dictés par la présente « Politique sur la vie privée ». Dans toute autre circonstance, nous vous dirons clairement à l’avance quels sont les renseignements personnels qui pourraient être divulgués et nous obtiendrons votre consentement. Par exemple, une des raisons indiquées ci-dessus consiste à tenir à jour les renseignements sur les membres et les contacts avec les clients; dans un tel cas, les renseignements personnels seraient partagés. L’AMC et ses filiales partagent un ensemble commun de données de base aux fins de la mise à jour des adresses des membres et pour confirmer leur statut de membre auprès de ses filiales, Joule et GFMD. De plus, nous cherchons à mieux comprendre et évaluer vos relations et vos interactions avec nos organisations. La connaissance de votre participation à nos événements, cours ou activités, ou de votre utilisation de nos produits, nous permet de comprendre votre engagement auprès de l’AMC, ce qui contribue en retour à nous permettre d’en brosser un tableau complet et « intégré ». Si un membre de l’AMC s’oppose à ce partage, une note sera inscrite dans la base de données.

Si vous êtes à la fois membre de l’AMC et client de Joule ou de GFMD et que vous nous communiquez un changement d’adresse, ces renseignements, avec votre permission, seront modifiés pour les trois organisations.

L’AMC pourrait aussi divulguer des renseignements personnels à des tiers, des organisations ou des entreprises qui ne sont pas des divisions ou des sociétés affiliées de l’AMC si les organisations en question ont passé avec l’AMC des contrats ou conclu des partenariats pour nous aider à fournir des produits et des services ou à faire de la recherche. L’AMC pourrait, par exemple, utiliser une plate-forme logicielle d’enquête ou de sondage propriété d’un tiers, ou impartir la liste d’envoi d’une de ses publications. Dans de tels cas, nous prenons des mesures pour assurer une gestion adéquate de ces renseignements personnels, conformément à notre politique.

Nous pourrions, dans certaines circonstances, conclure un contrat avec un tiers fournisseur de services situé dans d’autres pays. Vos renseignements pourraient être traités et entreposés dans d’autres pays, et des gouvernements, tribunaux, organismes d’application de la loi ou agences réglementaires pourraient être en mesure d’obtenir la divulgation de vos renseignements par mandat juridique exécuté dans ces pays. Pour obtenir plus d’information au sujet des administrations dans lesquelles nos fournisseurs de services pourraient être situés, veuillez consulter la section Que faire si vous avez une question ou des préoccupations au sujet de cette de la présente politique afin de savoir comment communiquer avec nous.

Au sein de la famille des sociétés de l’AMC, vos renseignements personnels peuvent être partagés entre l’AMC, Joule et GFMD au cours des interactions entre ces dernières. Ces échanges nous permettront de mieux connaître vos intérêts et vos activités et ainsi, d’adapter en fonction de vos intérêts les produits et services que nous offrons. Si un membre de l’AMC manifeste son opposition, une note sera inscrite dans la base de données.

Que se passe-t-il si vous vous opposez à toute collecte, utilisation ou divulgation de renseignements personnels?

Nous tenons à respecter et à honorer en tout temps vos préférences en matière de protection de la vie privée et de communication. Par exemple, si vous nous précisez que vous ne désirez pas recevoir certaines publications, participer à des sondages ou recevoir de l’information au sujet de nouveaux avantages, produits ou services tels que les communications émises par l’AMC ou ses filiales, vos préférences seront notées et vous ne recevrez plus de correspondance à ce sujet. Un lien de « désinscription » est intégré à nos courriels et nous vous invitons à l’utiliser afin de cesser de recevoir de l’information de notre part sur certains sujets. Vous pouvez communiquer à cet effet avec le Centre des services aux membres de l’AMC, au 1 888 855-2555.

Vous pouvez aussi, sous réserve des restrictions imposées par la loi, vous opposer en tout temps à ce que l’AMC recueille, utilise ou divulgue vos renseignements personnels. Il suffit de faire parvenir à l’AMC, dans un délai raisonnable, un avis écrit de votre intention et des détails au sujet de votre objection.

Veuillez noter toutefois que si vous vous opposez à la collecte, à l’utilisation ou à la divulgation de renseignements personnels, il se pourrait que nous ne puissions continuer à vous fournir certains de nos produits ou services, ou la totalité de ceux-ci, y compris les avantages accordés aux membres de l’AMC. Par exemple, si vous ne voulez pas que l’on communique aux filiales de l’AMC des renseignements sur votre statut de membre de l’Association, vous ne pourrez alors bénéficier de ses produits ou services. GFMD doit pouvoir confirmer que vous êtes membre de l’AMC afin de vous offrir des services financiers.

Il vous incombe de communiquer avec nous pour déterminer l’effet que pourrait avoir sur les services fournis votre opposition à la collecte, à l’utilisation et à la divulgation de vos renseignements personnels.

Les renseignements personnels que nous détenons sont-ils exacts?

Nous déployons tous les efforts raisonnables pour assurer l’exactitude et l’actualité de vos renseignements personnels afin de pouvoir les utiliser aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis. C’est pourquoi nous vous prions de nous informer de tout changement pertinent afin de nous permettre de mieux répondre à vos besoins.

Comment consulter les renseignements personnels que nous détenons?

Vous pouvez faire parvenir une demande écrite à l’attention du chef de la Protection des renseignements personnels, AMC, 1867, promenade Alta Vista, Ottawa (Ontario) K1G 5W8 (courriel: privacy@cma.ca) pour obtenir un rapport sur les renseignements personnels détenus à votre sujet par l’AMC ou par Joule. Dans un délai raisonnable, le chef de la Protection des renseignements personnels vous indiquera par écrit si nous détenons les renseignements personnels en question et la nature de ces renseignements, sauf dans de rares cas où la loi interdit de divulguer cette information. Si nous ne pouvons pas divulguer l’information, nous vous dirons pourquoi.

Vous pouvez contester l’exactitude et l’intégralité des renseignements personnels que détient l’AMC. Cette dernière modifiera des renseignements personnels lorsque l’intéressé réussira à démontrer qu’ils sont inexacts ou incomplets.

Vos renseignements personnels sont-ils protégés?

Nous déployons tous les efforts raisonnables pour protéger vos renseignements personnels en mettant en œuvre des mesures de sécurité contre la perte ou le vol, ainsi que l’accès, la divulgation, la reproduction, l’utilisation ou la modification sans autorisation. Nous utilisons des moyens matériels, organisationnels et techniques comme mesures de protection. Par exemple, le nombre d’employés qui ont accès à des renseignements de nature délicate comme des numéros de carte de crédit est limité. De plus, nous veillons à ce que les employés soient conscients de l’importance de respecter la confidentialité des renseignements personnels.

Quelle est la durée de conservation par l’AMC de vos renseignements personnels?

Nous conservons les renseignements personnels aussi longtemps que nécessaire pour les fins décrites ci-dessus. Lorsque les renseignements personnels en cause ne sont plus nécessaires, ils sont détruits de façon sûre et sécuritaire. En outre, nous conserverons des renseignements personnels qui font l’objet d’une demande d’accès aussi longtemps qu’il le faut pour permettre à la personne en cause d’épuiser tout recours légal prévu dans les lois fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales.

Que faire si vous avez une question ou des préoccupations au sujet de cette « Politique sur la vie privée » ou sur les pratiques en la matière?

Vous pouvez faire parvenir toute question ou préoccupation portant sur cette « Politique sur la vie privée » ou sur nos pratiques en la matière au chef de la Protection des renseignements personnels, 1867, promenade Alta Vista, Ottawa (Ontario) K1G 5W8 (courriel: privacy@cma.ca; téléphone : 1 800 663-7336, poste 8256).

Pour en savoir davantage sur vos droits relatifs à la protection des renseignements personnels, veuillez communiquer avec le Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada (site Web : https://www.priv.gc.ca/fr) ou avec le commissaire compétent de votre province ou territoire.