Sign In

Defining the physician unique value proposition

Workshop session

Presenters

Dr. Alan Ruddiman, chair of the 2013 Doctors of BC working group on medical professionalism
Dom Crolla, Canadian Bar Association representative sharing insight on professionalism related to the legal profession
Mark Valois, facilitator, Intersol Group

This working session aims to develop implementation strategies around demonstrating how physicians provide value, through their professional role, to meet the evolving health needs of Canadians. The resulting implementation suggestions will be discussed at Strategic Session 1.

Learning objectives

Participants will:

  • define how the medical profession’s role is perceived today
  • interpret findings and develop insights from qualitative research on what physicians believe they provide to patients that no other provider can, and on what patients expect to receive from their physician that they wouldn’t expect of any other provider
  • promote the physician unique value proposition to colleagues, and advocate how it can be further developed and implemented for greater influence in leading health care transformation in the areas of knowledge, application and accountability

Evaluation form

This event is an Accredited Learning activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 16.5. This program has been reviewed and approved by the University of Ottawa, Office of Continuing Professional Development

This program has been accredited by the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the Ontario Chapter for up to 16 Mainpro-M1 credits.

Connexion

Définir la proposition de valeur unique des médecins

Atelier

Présentateurs

Dr Alan Ruddiman, président du Groupe de travail de 2013 sur le professionnalisme médical, Doctors of BC
Dom Crolla, représentant de l'Association du Barreau canadien; parlera de la question du professionnalisme dans la profession juridique
Mark Valois, animateur, Groupe Intersol

Cette séance de travail vise à élaborer des stratégies de mise en œuvre pour démontrer la valeur que les médecins apportent, par leur rôle professionnel, en réponse aux besoins de santé changeants des Canadiens. Les suggestions de mise en œuvre qui en résulteront seront examinées lors de la Séance stratégique 1.

Objectifs d’apprentissage

Après cette séance les participants pourront :

  • définir la perception du rôle de la profession de nos jours
  • interpréter les résultats et tirer des conclusions de la recherche qualitative sur ce que les médecins pensent qu’ils offrent aux patients que nul autre fournisseur ne peut offrir et sur ce que les patients s’attendent à recevoir de leur médecin qu’ils ne peuvent recevoir d’aucun autre fournisseur
  • promouvoir la proposition de valeur unique des médecins auprès des collègues et préconiser des moyens de l’enrichir et d’en tirer parti pour donner plus d’influence aux médecins dans l’orientation de la transformation des soins de santé, dans les domaines du savoir, de l’application des connaissances et de l’imputabilité.

Formulaire d’évaluation

Cet événement constitue une activité de formation collective agréée aux termes de la Section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada et donne droit à 16 crédits. Le programme a été revu et approuvé par le Bureau de l’éducation médicale continue de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Ce programme a été agréé par la section de l’Ontario du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et donne droit à un maximum de 16 crédits Mainpro–M1.