Sign In

“Demand a Plan” gaining traction

The campaign calling for a national plan for seniors care is gaining more support daily from both the Canadian public and Canadian Medical Association (CMA) members.

The DemandaPlan campaign was launched by the CMA and other members of the Alliance for a National Seniors Strategy in March 2015 to support an advocacy initiative calling on all federal political parties to endorse the need for a national strategy to provide proper health and social services for seniors.

To date, more than 5,000 people have signed up to support the campaign at DemandaPlan.ca. This puts the campaign well ahead of its scheduled goal to reach 10,000 supporters by October, when the federal election is scheduled.

In addition, almost 20,000 people have viewed the campaign video produced by the CMA and posted on YouTube, and 22,000 views have been logged on Facebook. There have also been more than 500 mentions of the campaign-related hashtag #seniorsplan on Twitter.

“The great interest shown in the website and this campaign demonstrates just how deeply Canadians and their physicians care about the need for seniors to receive proper care in this country,” said CMA President Chris Simpson.

“Comments I have seen posted on social media show just how the issues surrounding seniors care touch many people … prompting them to provide their personal support.”

Those who indicate support for the campaign on the website are receiving regular updates on seniors care issues as well as links to new videos and infographics explaining why seniors care is such a fundamentally important issue. The DemandaPlan website also provides information on upcoming local events related to seniors care.

“Canada’s seniors are not getting the health care they deserve — not even close,” said Simpson when the website was unveiled. “Our system was created over half a century ago to meet the needs of a much younger population, and we have not adapted to meet the growing number of aging Canadians.”

Those interested in supporting the campaign are encouraged to join in at DemandaPlan.ca .

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La campagne Exigeons un plan gagne du terrain

La campagne en faveur de l’élaboration d’un plan national pour les soins aux aînés rallie de plus en plus d’appuis chaque jour, tant de la part du public que des membres de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC).

La campagne Exigeons un plan a été lancée en mars 2015 par l’AMC et d’autres organisations de l’Alliance pour une stratégie nationale sur les aînés en vue de soutenir une initiative de représentation invitant tous les partis politiques fédéraux à reconnaître la nécessité d’élaborer une stratégie nationale visant à offrir aux aînés des services sociaux et de santé adéquats.

À ce jour, plus de 5 000 personnes ont adhéré à la campagne ExigeonsUnPlan.ca, ce qui lui donne une bonne avance sur l’objectif établi qui consiste à obtenir 10 000 signatures d’ici le mois d’octobre, moment où les élections fédérales sont prévues.

En outre, près de 20 000 personnes ont visionné la vidéo de la campagne produite par l’AMC et publiée sur YouTube, et 22 000 visionnements ont été enregistrés sur Facebook. Le mot-clic de la campagne #SoinsAuxAînés a par ailleurs été utilisé plus de 500 fois sur Twitter.

« Le grand intérêt qu’ont suscité le site Web et la campagne en général montre à quel point les Canadiens et leurs médecins trouvent important que les aînés reçoivent des soins appropriés au Canada », a déclaré Chris Simpson, président de l’AMC.

« Les commentaires publiés sur les médias sociaux confirment que les questions liées aux soins aux aînés touchent de nombreuses personnes et que ces personnes souhaitent appuyer personnellement cette cause. »

Les gens qui appuient la campagne sur le site Web reçoivent des mises à jour régulières sur les enjeux des soins aux aînés, de même que des liens vers de nouvelles vidéos et infographies expliquant pourquoi cet enjeu revêt une si grande importance. Le site Web ExigeonsUnPlan.ca fournit également des renseignements sur les prochains événements locaux reliés aux soins aux aînés.

« Au Canada, les aînés ne reçoivent pas les soins de santé qu’ils méritent, loin de là », a affirmé le Dr Simpson au moment du dévoilement du site Web. « Notre système de santé a été créé voilà plus d’un demi-siècle pour répondre aux besoins d’une population beaucoup plus jeune et n’a pas été adapté en fonction de la population vieillissante de plus en plus nombreuse. »

Les gens qui souhaitent appuyer la campagne sont invités à s’inscrire à ExigeonsUnPlan.ca.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.