Sign In

Digital environment high priority for PTMA leaders

The electronic environment within which Canadian physicians are increasingly practising is a high-priority topic for leaders of the provincial and territorial medical associations (PTMAs), a recent meeting revealed.

At the Presidents Forum held at the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) in November, PTMA presidents and CEOs repeatedly referenced the status of electronic medical record (EMR) programs in their jurisdictions, as well as voicing concerns about the advent of ‘big data’— the electronic quantification of patient health data for purposes beyond direct patient care.

Of particular interest to those attending the meeting was information from jurisdictions such as Prince Edward Island, where ‘one patient, one chart’ initiatives are being rolled out to ensure residents have a single electronic medical record for both hospital and community-based care. Also shared was the attempt by some PTMAs that do not already have well-established EMR programs in place to institute programs that would mandate one vendor for all physicians in their jurisdiction.

Asked whether ‘big data’ in health is emerging as a concern for their association or members, representatives from some provinces (such as Alberta) noted they already have a comprehensive framework in place to protect the privacy of patient data. Others (such as Ontario) are moving to take the initiative and ensure the medical association itself spearheads any big data plans.

The Presidents Forum is held twice annually in Ottawa, to allow PTMA leaders to gather in a “no surprises” environment. Held under the auspices of the CMA, the meetings are governed by a Medical Association Accord that was signed in 2007 and continues to be endorsed by all PTMAs.

At the meeting, PTMA presidents expressed ongoing support for the forum as a place to exchange information and network with colleagues from other jurisdictions.

Not surprisingly, details of the status of fee negotiations in various jurisdictions were of great interest at the meeting. Most PTMAs are at some stage in ongoing talks with their provincial or territorial government. A new deal negotiated by the Doctors of BC, currently being voted on by the province’s physicians, was noted and widely discussed.

Another common theme that emerged was the restructuring of local or regional health authorities in many jurisdictions, including Quebec, Alberta and Nova Scotia.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’environnement numérique : une priorité importante pour les dirigeants des AMPT

Les médecins canadiens pratiquent dans un environnement de plus en plus numérisé, et ce sujet est hautement prioritaire pour les dirigeants des associations médicales provinciales et territoriales (AMPT), a révélé une récente rencontre.

Au Forum des présidents, organisé par l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) en novembre, les dirigeants des AMPT ont parlé à maintes reprises du statut des programmes relatifs aux dossiers médicaux électroniques (DME) dans leurs provinces et territoires respectifs, et fait état de préoccupations quant à l’arrivée des « mégadonnées » — la quantification électronique des données sur la santé des patients à des fins autres que les soins directs.

L’un des points particulièrement intéressants pour les participants à la rencontre a été d’apprendre que certaines provinces, notamment l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, prennent des initiatives « un patient, un dossier » afin d’assurer que les résidents ont un seul et unique dossier électronique pour les soins prodigués à l’hôpital et dans des centres communautaires. Un autre des points soulevés a été celui de certaines AMPT qui n’ont pas encore de systèmes de DME et qui cherchent à élaborer des programmes afin d’avoir recours à un seul fournisseur pour tous les médecins de la province ou du territoire.

À la question à savoir si les mégadonnées sur la santé sont une source de préoccupations pour certaines associations ou certains membres, des représentants de certaines provinces (dont l’Alberta) ont répondu qu’ils ont déjà établi un cadre exhaustif pour protéger la confidentialité des données sur les patients. D’autres (dont l’Ontario) se préparent à prendre une telle initiative et à assurer que l’association médicale dirige elle-même tout plan sur les mégadonnées.

Le Forum des présidents est tenu deux fois l’an à Ottawa afin de permettre aux dirigeants des AMPT de se réunir dans un environnement « sans surprise ». Tenues sous les auspices de l’AMC, ces rencontres sont régies par un Accord des associations médicales conclu en 2007 et soutenu par toutes les AMPT à ce jour.

À la rencontre, les présidents des AMPT ont dit soutenir le Forum, qui leur permet d’échanger de l’information et de former des réseaux avec leurs collègues d’autres administrations.

Comme on pouvait s’y attendre, l’état des négociations sur la rémunération a suscité un vif intérêt. La plupart des AMPT sont en discussions avec leur gouvernement provincial ou territorial, à des stades divers. Une nouvelle entente négociée par Doctors of BC, qui est actuellement soumise au vote des médecins de la province, a fait l’objet d’un important débat.

Un autre thème commun a été la restructuration des autorités sanitaires locales ou régionales dans de nombreuses provinces, dont le Québec, l’Alberta et la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.