Sign In

Doctors Manitoba Customer Experience

Dr. F. Gigi Osler

“Having the Physician Leadership Institute (PLI) courses delivered in-house enables our physicians to benefit from accredited courses tailored to meet their specific needs, little to no travel or hotel costs, and an opportunity to share their experiences and network with colleagues.”
Dr. F. Gigi Osler BScMed, FRCSC
Chair, Doctors Manitoba Physician Health and Wellness Committee
Head, Section of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, St. Boniface Hospital
Assistant Professor, Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, University of Manitoba

About Doctors Manitoba

Doctors Manitoba is the voluntary, professional association of physicians helping physicians that represents the economic, health policy and health promotion interests of the province’s medical doctors. Founded in 1908, Doctors Manitoba was called the Manitoba Medical Association until the end of its centennial year. Although it is an autonomous organization, Doctors Manitoba is a division of the Canadian Medical Association (CMA), which serves the interests of physicians at the national level.

Driving system-wide, personal and professional change

As Chair of the Doctors Manitoba Health and Wellness Committee, Dr. Gigi Osler has arranged for a number of Physician Leadership Institute (PLI) courses, including Engaging Others, Disruptive Behaviour, Self-awareness and Effective Leadership, to be delivered in-house at Doctors Manitoba.

“We decided to have the PLI courses delivered in-house because it provides our doctors with the best value for their time and money,” explains Dr. Osler. “Our physicians benefit from accredited courses tailored to meet their specific needs, little to no travel or hotel costs, and an opportunity to share their experiences and network with colleagues.”

By minimizing travel and hotel costs, and maximizing attendees’ time, the accredited in-house PLI courses are a cost-effective way for Doctors Manitoba to enhance leadership capacity across the province.

“The courses provide doctors with the essential leadership principles needed for high-level system-wide change,” continues Dr. Osler, “and equip them with the skills and practical tools they need for personal and professional change.”

Providing physician-specific and contextual leadership training

PLI courses delivered in-house not only offer good value through excellent faculty and relevant content, but on-site delivery also promotes inter-professional collaboration and learning. Physicians can collaborate to address mutual issues, solve common problems and share new insights. Additionally, because in-house PLI courses focus on only one organization and one group of people who share the same challenges, instructors are able to customize course content and address specific learning needs.

“The PLI courses provide physician-specific and contextual leadership training for our doctors,” finishes Dr. Osler. “I believe that all doctors are leaders—regardless of their formal positions or roles—and can benefit from the courses.”

About Physician Leadership Institute (PLI) Courses

With the introduction of JouleTM, the CMA took the opportunity to give the Physician Management Institute (PMI) a new name — the Physician Leadership Institute (PLI) — to better reflect course focus on leadership rather than management. Joule’s Physician Leadership Institute delivers the same industry-leading, highly interactive physician leadership courses that have been successfully delivered by the CMA for more than three decades. The courses, which are taught by best-in-class, expert physician and non-physician faculty team, are available face-to-face (in a classroom setting, in-house (at your location) or online. The courses also count toward the Canadian Certified Physician Executive (CCPE) designation. With a 98 percent participant satisfaction rate*, the Physician Leadership Institute remains physicians’ number one choice for physician leadership courses in Canada.

For more information about how your organization can benefit from the in-house PLI courses, please visit the PLI website, call 800 663-7336 ext. 2932 or email pli@cma.ca.

*based on 2014-15 physician participant survey results

Connexion

L’expérience client de Doctors Manitoba

Dre. F. Gigi Osler

« Grâce aux cours de l’Institut de leadership des médecins (ILM) en milieu de travail, nos médecins profitent d’une formation reconnue adaptée à leurs besoins particuliers ainsi que d’une occasion de discuter de leurs expériences et de réseauter avec d’autres médecins, et ce, en n’ayant rien ou presque à débourser pour le transport et l’hébergement. »
Dre F. Gigi Osler, B.Sc. (Med.), FRCSC
Présidente du comité sur la santé et le mieux-être de Doctors Manitoba
Chef du service d’oto-rhino-laryngologie et de chirurgie cervico-faciale de l’Hôpital Saint-Boniface
Professeure adjointe du département d’oto-rhino-laryngologie et de chirurgie cervico-faciale de l’Université du Manitoba

À propos de Doctors Manitoba

Doctors Manitoba est une association professionnelle provinciale à adhésion volontaire qui aide les médecins en représentant leurs intérêts sur les plans de l’économie, des politiques de santé et de la promotion de la santé. Fondée en 1908, l’association s’est appelée « Manitoba Medical Association » (« Association médicale du Manitoba ») jusqu’à la fin de sa centième année d’existence. Quoiqu’autonome, Doctors Manitoba est une division de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC), qui agit dans l’intérêt des médecins à l’échelle nationale.

Vecteur de changements systémiques, personnels et professionnels

En tant que présidente du comité sur la santé et le mieux-être de Doctors Manitoba, la Dre Gigi Osler a organisé la tenue de plusieurs cours de l’Institut de leadership des médecins (ILM) dans les bureaux de l’association, dont « Motiver les autres », « Comportement perturbateur » et « Conscience de soi et leadership efficace ».

« Nous avons décidé d’offrir les cours de l’ILM sur place pour que nos médecins en aient le plus possible pour leur temps et leur argent, explique la Dre Osler. Ainsi, nos médecins profitent d’une formation reconnue adaptée à leurs besoins particuliers ainsi que d’une occasion de discuter de leurs expériences et de réseauter avec d’autres médecins, et ce, en n’ayant rien ou presque à débourser pour le transport et l’hébergement. »

Parce qu’ils réduisent au minimum les frais de transport et d’hébergement et maximisent le temps investi par les participants, les cours agréés de l’ILM donnés en milieu de travail sont une façon économique pour Doctors Manitoba de renforcer le leadership médical d’un bout à l’autre de la province.

« Les cours présentent aux médecins les principes de leadership essentiels à la mise en place d’un changement systémique de haut niveau, en plus de leur donner les aptitudes et les outils pratiques nécessaires pour opérer un changement personnel ou professionnel », poursuit la Dre Osler.

Formation en leadership contextuel adaptée aux médecins

Il n’y a pas que la qualité des formateurs et la pertinence du contenu qui confèrent une grande valeur aux cours de l’ILM donnés en milieu de travail : ces cours favorisent la collaboration et l’apprentissage interprofessionnels. En effet, les médecins peuvent y collaborer en vue d’aborder des défis communs, de résoudre des problèmes et d’échanger de nouveaux points de vue. De plus, puisque les cours s’adressent à des personnes affrontant des défis communs au sein d’une même organisation, les formateurs peuvent adapter le contenu en fonction des besoins.

« Les cours de l’ILM proposent une formation en leadership contextuel spécialement conçue pour nos médecins, résume la Dre Osler. Je crois que tous les médecins sont des leaders et peuvent tirer profit de ces cours, peu importe leurs tâches ou leur poste officiels. »

Cours de l’Institut de leadership des médecins (ILM)

L’AMC a profité du lancement de JouleMC pour renommer l’Institut de gestion médicale (IGM, connu plus récemment sous le sigle anglais « PMI ») – maintenant l’Institut de leadership des médecins (ILM) – et ainsi mieux refléter le contenu des cours, axé sur le leadership et non sur la gestion. L’Institut de leadership des médecins de Joule offre les mêmes cours très interactifs de premier ordre que dispense avec succès l’AMC depuis plus de 30 ans. Ces cours, donnés par des experts médecins et non-médecins hors pair, peuvent être suivis en personne (en salle de classe, dans votre milieu de travail) ou en ligne. Ils sont également pris en compte pour l’obtention du titre de médecin gestionnaire certifié du Canada (CCPE). Avec un taux de satisfaction atteignant 98 pour cent*, les cours de l’Institut de leadership des médecins demeurent le premier choix des médecins au Canada.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les avantages du programme de formation en milieu de travail de l’ILM, consultez notre site web, communiquez avec nous au 1 800 663-7336, poste 2932, ou écrivez à l’adresse ilm@amc.ca.

*Selon les résultats du sondage 2014-2015 réalisé auprès des médecins participants.