Sign In

Dr. Kamran Khan: Arming Healthcare Practitioners with the Tools and Knowledge to Outsmart Infectious Disease Transmission

This is the third in a five-part series in which we introduce Canadian Medical Association members to the recipients of the first round of Joule™ Innovation grants. Please watch for additional stories in the series.


Dr. Kamran Khan

With increased travel and globalization comes the likelihood that an infectious disease appearing in one country could spread rapidly to another - SARS, Ebola and Zika being recent examples. As these global disease emergencies become more prevalent, it is clear that prediction is a formidable challenge and it has put physicians and our healthcare system on high alert.

Recognizing the urgent need for preparedness, Dr. Kamran Khan, infectious disease physician and innovator, has dedicated his work to developing solutions to address this global healthcare challenge. Dr. Khan (MD, MPH) is a practicing infectious disease physician-scientist at St. Michael’s Hospital, and Associate Professor with the Division of Infectious Diseases at the University of Toronto.

Dr. Khan completed fellowships in Infectious Diseases, Preventive Medicine and Public Health at Cornell and also has a Master’s degree in Public Health from Columbia University. He has been an advisor to the White House on emerging global pathogens and was recently invited by the World Health Organization to serve on its Emergency Committee on the Zika virus.

But Dr. Khan’s resume doesn’t end there. He is also the founder of BlueDot, a social benefit corporation dedicated to creating a healthier and safer world by helping to prevent or mitigate the impacts of dangerous global infectious disease threats. BlueDot harnesses big data to develop digital health solutions related to global infectious diseases. It joins a highly talented team of experts in geographic information systems, spatial analytics, data visualization and computer sciences with content experts in clinical infectious diseases, travel medicine, and public health.

To further the work of BlueDot, Dr. Khan and his team are developing PanMEDIC, a web-based global early warning system for infectious diseases and clinical aid for physicians. In order to anticipate which diseases have the greatest potential to come to Canada, PanMEDIC will curate the latest data on tropical and emerging diseases and translate it into a GIS database linked to worldwide patterns of air travel.

BlueDot BlueDot

“The overwhelming majority of physicians lack clinical training or experience in managing emerging infectious diseases. Yet, they are most likely to be first in contact with patients carrying these diseases and therefore at high risk of being infected themselves.” says Khan.

The goal of PanMEDIC is to deliver timely education to physicians notifying them when a disease is known or suspected to be circulating in their area, or anywhere in the world that they are strongly connected to through global air travel. By providing physicians with “just in time” education about an important disease, PanMEDIC will help increase physician readiness.

How does PanMEDIC work? PanMEDIC organizes information on important global infectious disease epidemics around the world as they occur. It concurrently monitors the movements of more than 4 billion passengers on commercial flights worldwide every year to anticipate where and when these diseases are mostly likely to spread. Finally, it directs timely educational messages to healthcare providers practicing in areas of the world at greatest risk of disease spread, with a goal of enabling early recognition and minimizing the potential for outbreaks.

“We feel that PanMEDIC will be a powerful tool and an important step toward preparedness and infectious disease readiness, not only in Canada but around the world. “- claims Khan.

Dr. Khan’s accomplishments and dedication are nothing short of inspiring and a perfect example of the type of innovators Joule™ is excited to support.

For more information on please visit: bluedot.global

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Dr Kamran Khan : Doter les professionnels de la santé des outils et des connaissances nécessaires pour déjouer la transmission des maladies infectieuses

Ceci est la troisième d'une série de cinq vidéos qui présentent des membres de l'Association médicale canadienne aux bénéficiaires des subventions à l'innovation de JouleMC. Découvrez d'autres témoignages en visionnant le reste de la série.


Dr. Kamran Khan

En cette ère de mondialisation où les voyages se font de plus en plus fréquents, les maladies infectieuses – pensons notamment au SRAS, à la fièvre hémorragique Ebola et à la maladie à virus Zika – sont de plus en plus susceptibles de se propager rapidement d’un pays à l’autre. Le nombre d’urgences sanitaires mondiales de ce genre est en hausse, et comme il est extrêmement difficile de prévoir l’évolution de ces maladies, nos médecins et notre système de santé sont sur un pied d’alerte.

Devant le besoin urgent d’améliorer notre préparation, le Dr Kamran Khan, spécialiste des maladies infectieuses et innovateur dans le domaine, a consacré ses efforts à la mise au point de solutions pour surmonter ce défi mondial en matière de soins de santé.

Le Dr Khan (M.D., M.Sc.) est spécialiste scientifique des maladies infectieuses à l’Hôpital St. Michael’s, en plus d’occuper le poste de professeur agrégé à la division des maladies infectieuses de l’Université de Toronto.

Il a réalisé des stages postdoctoraux en maladies infectieuses, en médecine préventive et en santé publique à l’Université Cornell et obtenu une maîtrise en santé publique de l’Université Columbia. Il a par ailleurs agi à titre de conseiller à la Maison-Blanche sur les agents pathogènes émergents dans le monde, et l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé l’a récemment invité à siéger à son comité d’urgence concernant le virus Zika.

Le CV du Dr Khan ne s’arrête pas là. Il est également le fondateur de BlueDot, une entreprise à vocation sociale qui s’applique à créer un monde plus sécuritaire et en meilleure santé en contribuant à prévenir et à atténuer les répercussions des maladies infectieuses dangereuses susceptibles de se propager dans le monde entier. BlueDot tire parti des mégadonnées pour concevoir des solutions de santé numériques liées aux maladies pandémiques. Elle unit une équipe d’experts très talentueux spécialisés en systèmes d’information géographique, en analyse spatiale, en visualisation de données et en informatique à des spécialistes des contenus relatifs aux maladies cliniques infectieuses, à la médecine des voyages et à la santé publique.

Pour faire avancer les travaux de BlueDot, le Dr Khan et son équipe mettent actuellement au point PanMEDIC, une aide clinique Web conçue pour aviser rapidement les médecins de l’apparition de maladies infectieuses à l’échelle mondiale. PanMEDIC anticipera les maladies les plus susceptibles de se propager au Canada en recueillant les données les plus à jour sur les maladies tropicales et émergentes et en les associant à une base de données de SIG relative aux tendances mondiales de voyage aérien.

BlueDot BlueDot

« Une écrasante majorité de médecins n’ont pas la formation ou l’expérience cliniques nécessaires pour prendre en charge les maladies infectieuses émergentes, explique le Dr Khan. Pourtant, ils sont habituellement les premiers intervenants à traiter les patients porteurs de ces maladies, et ils courent donc un risque élevé de les contracter eux-mêmes ».

PanMEDIC vise à informer rapidement les médecins des maladies infectieuses dont on connaît ou soupçonne la présence dans leur région ou à des endroits dans le monde avec lesquels leur région a un lien aérien important. En fournissant en temps utile des renseignements sur les maladies préoccupantes, PanMEDIC améliorera l’état de préparation des médecins.

Comment PanMEDIC fonctionne-t-il? L’outil organise l’information sur les épidémies infectieuses importantes du début à la fin. Il surveille simultanément les déplacements de plus de quatre milliards de passagers des vols payants ayant lieu dans le monde chaque année, afin de prévoir où et quand les maladies sont les plus susceptibles de frapper. Enfin, il en informe rapidement les fournisseurs de soins de santé exerçant dans des régions du monde où le risque de propagation est le plus élevé, afin qu’ils puissent détecter la maladie rapidement et ainsi réduire au minimum les risques d’éclosion.

« Nous croyons que PanMEDIC sera un outil performant qui jouera un rôle important dans la préparation aux maladies infectieuses, non seulement au Canada, mais partout dans le monde », ajoute le Dr Khan.

Les réalisations et le dévouement du Dr Khan sont on ne peut plus inspirants et représentent parfaitement le type d’innovateurs que JouleMC est fière d’appuyer.

Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous à l’adresse Web bluedot.global.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.