Sign In

​​​​​Joule Case Challenge:

70 year-old women with asymptomatic atrial fibrillation

Case details


A 70 year-old women is seen by her PCP for palpitations and found to have asymptomatic atrial fibrillation. Her only risk factor for cardiovascular disease is hypertension. Her HTN is well-controlled on two antihypertensive medications. An echocardiogram shows normal left ventricular function and no signs of valvular heart disease.

1. Should she be anticoagulated?
2. What would you prescribe?

Find out the recommended treatment strategy and how DynaMed Plus can help:

https://youtu.be/zlACVObUrj4

How would you manage this patient?

 ActionInvokerWebPart

  • 1. Should she be anticoagulated?
  • 2. What would you prescribe?

​​​

Disclaimer
All content found on cma.ca is provided for information and education purposes. The website provides information on a wide range of health and medical topics. The information is not intended to substitute for the advice of a physician, nor is it intended to provide legal, accounting, financial or tax advice. You should always consult your doctor for specific information on personal health matters, or other relevant professionals to ensure that your own circumstances are considered.


Decrease time to answer and stay current
CMA members now have easy access to DynaMed Plus

Valued at $395 per year, DynaMed Plus delivers detailed recommendations based on current evidence at the point-of-care, including expanded specialty content, drug information from Micromedex and 4,000+ medical images and integrated calculators.

Two ways to access DynaMed Plus

online (cma.ca login required)

app (instructions to download)

DynaMed Plus

Connexion

​​​​​​​​​​​​​Défi Étude de cas de JouleMC​ :

femme de 70 ans avec fibrillation auriculaire asymptomatique

Détails


Une femme de 70 ans rend visite à son médecin de premier recours pour des palpitations. Le médecin constate qu'elle souffre de fibrillation auriculaire asymptomatique. Son seul facteur de risque en matière de maladie cardiovasculaire est l'hypertension, mais celle-ci est bien contrôlée par deux médicaments antihypertenseurs. Un échocardiogramme montre un fonctionnement normal du ventricule gauche et aucun signe de cardiopathie valvulaire.

1. Doit-elle prendre un anticoagulant?
2. Lequel prescrivez-vous?

Découvrez la stratégie de traitement recommandée et voyez comment DynaMed Plus peut vous être utile :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2av_J2lWIEw

Quel traitement recommandez-vous pour cette patiente?​


 ActionInvokerWebPart

  • 1. Doit-elle prendre un anticoagulant?
  • 2. Lequel prescrivez-vous?

​​Avertissement
Les données médicales présentées dans les études de cas publiées par Joule inc. sont fournies par des tiers à des fins de formation et d’information seulement et conformément à nos Clauses et conditions légales. Les contenus publiés ne correspondent pas nécessairement aux opinions de Joule inc. ou de l’AMC. Les données contenues dans les études de cas ne sauraient remplacer les conseils d’un médecin. Consultez toujours votre médecin pour vos questions de santé personnelles afin de vous assurer que votre situation est prise en considération.


Obtenez des réponses plus rapidement et restez à jour.
​Les membres de l'AMC ont maintenant plus facilement accès à DynaMed Plus​

D'une valeur de 395 $ par an, DynaMed Plus présente des recommandations détaillées fondées sur les preuves cliniques les plus récentes et comprend un contenu spécialisé plus étoffé, des renseignements sur les médicaments de Micromedex, plus de 4 000 illustrations médicales et des calculatrices intégrées.

Téléchargez l'application ou utilisez-la en ligne.
Essayez DynaMed Plus dès maintenant!

DynaMed Plus