Sign In

Ebola a global crisis: WMA

Ebola is a global crisis and not simply a problem for West Africa, according to the World Medical Association (WMA) — which has adopted an emergency resolution on the situation.

The resolution passed at the WMA annual assembly in Durban, South Africa, was crafted by the Canadian Medical Association, British Medical Association and American Medical Association and adopted by delegates from more than 40 national medical associations.

The resolution urges national governments to do more to fight the viral disease, and declared that evidence from those fighting Ebola in affected communities shows epidemic control is proving difficult because of a shortage of resources, including health care workers, personal protective equipment and beds, as well as poor ability to enact control measures.

The WMA Assembly called on the international community, acting through the United Nations, to immediately provide the necessary supplies of equipment to protect health-care workers and ancillary staff and reduce the risk of cross-infection.

The resolution commends those countries that committed resources for the urgent establishment of new treatment and isolation centres in the most heavily burdened countries and regions.

“This is a global crisis requiring a global response,” said CMA President Chris Simpson, who is attending the assembly in Durban.

Dr. Margaret Mungherera, WMA president, said it is important that national medical associations contact their national governments immediately to act on the proposals put forward by the organization. “Too often the experts on the ground say they are being ignored. We believe their voices must be heard,” she said.

The resolution also calls on national and local governments to increase public communication and community awareness about the disease, how it is spread, basic infection information and control practices.

The WMA further urges research into the timeliness and effectiveness of international interventions, so that planning and interventions in future health emergencies can be better informed.

“Canada is at the forefront of the Ebola response, and we are contributing funds, expertise and equipment to the international efforts to fight this outbreak,” said a release from the Public Health Agency of Canada issued Oct. 6. “We have also deployed two teams of medical experts on the ground working in our mobile lab in Sierra Leone.”

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’Ebola est une crise mondiale, affirme l’AMM

L’Ebola est une crise mondiale et non simplement un problème qui se limite à l’Afrique de l’Ouest, affirme l’Association médicale mondiale (AMM) — qui a adopté une résolution d’urgence sur la situation.

La résolution, qui a été adoptée à l’Assemblée annuelle de l’AMM tenue à Durban, en Afrique du Sud, a été préparée par les associations médicales canadienne, britannique et américaine, et adoptée par les délégués de plus de 40 associations médicales nationales.

La résolution presse les gouvernements nationaux de déployer plus d’efforts pour lutter contre cette maladie virale, et précise que les témoignages des gens qui luttent contre l’Ebola dans les communautés touchées indiquent qu’il est difficile de contrôler l’épidémie en raison d’une pénurie de ressources, notamment de travailleurs de la santé, d’équipement de protection personnelle et de lits, et d’une faible capacité à implanter des mesures de contrôle.

L’Assemblée de l’AMM exhorte la communauté internationale à fournir immédiatement, par l'intermédiaire des Nations Unies, l’équipement requis pour protéger les travailleurs de la santé et le personnel auxiliaire, et réduire les risques de contamination croisée.

La résolution félicite les pays qui ont engagé des ressources pour soutenir l’établissement d’urgence de nouveaux centres de traitement et d’isolement dans les pays et les régions les plus durement touchés.

« C'est une crise mondiale qui requiert une intervention mondiale », a déclaré le président de l’AMC, Chris Simpson, qui assiste à l’Assemblée à Durban.

Selon la Dre Margaret Mungherera, présidente de l’AMM, les associations médicales nationales doivent demander au gouvernement de leur pays de donner immédiatement suite aux propositions de l’organisation. « Il arrive trop souvent que les spécialistes sur le terrain disent qu’on les ignore. Nous croyons qu’il faut les écouter », a-t-elle dit.

La résolution presse de plus les autorités nationales et locales d’augmenter la communication publique et la sensibilisation communautaire sur cette maladie, la façon dont elle se propage, la contamination et les pratiques de contrôle.

L’AMM demande également que des recherches soient menées sur l’opportunité et l’efficacité des interventions internationales, afin que les responsables de la planification et des interventions soient mieux informés à l’avenir en cas d’urgence sanitaire.

« Le Canada est aux premières lignes de l’intervention contre l’éclosion de maladie à virus Ebola et fournit des fonds, de l’expertise et de l’équipement aux efforts internationaux pour combattre cette épidémie », peut-on lire dans un communiqué diffusé le 6 octobre par l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada. « Nous avons aussi envoyé sur le terrain deux équipes d’experts médicaux qui travaillent dans notre laboratoire mobile en Sierra Leone. »

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.